We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“alfonso viii hotel”
Review of Alfonso VIII

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Alfonso VIII
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Soria
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 January 2014

stayed here in june 2012 and again on 12.09.2013. first stay fantastic, 2nd stay large very clean double room air con tv. but looking out to a block of scruffy flats. under ground garage not cheap at 13.00 euros +90 euros for room. access ramp is very shiney/slippy for motorcycles no warning was given, after 14 months this is still the same. lift from garage to reception very handy.should have booked through trip adviser/booking.com ect i could have saved over 30 euros .pizza shop a short walk from hotel fed two of us for 5 euros'''[huge]. several small tapas bars closeby serving cheap drinks offset the cost of room.nightmare to drive to due to roadworks but this will be finished hope fully before we return. at current online price of 58 euros a night this hotel is good value but not so at 90 euros.

Room Tip: book on line and save a lot of money
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank horse1584
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (283)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

8 - 14 of 283 reviews

Reviewed 19 September 2013

Lovely hotel-very nice room and very obliging and attentive staff. My wife is coeliac, ie gluten intolerant, but the waiter gave excellent advice with regard to dinner (a bargain menu del dia at 15 Euro in the week) and even brought her some gluten free bread. Breakfast had a gluten free selection, as well as lactose free milk on offer, but most of all it had the delightful Laiz looking after us. She deserves six stars. My only criticism would be the expensive parking (13 Euro) but I parked my motorbike on the street next to the main entrance for a total of 2.70 Euro. Recommended.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank banditeer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2013

I spent 3 nights in this hotel in July. A very nice hotel. A nice mix of modern with rustic. Elegant room and bathroom. A bit of trouble with my Spanish and some personnel English, but with their friendliness and eager to help we managed well. A nice variety of food in included breakfast (although I wished for some vegetables, or exotic fruits). The location in downtown is very good, offering a multitude of choices in a walking distance for spending some time in the evening. The Tv and the channels could get an upgrade.
Overall well worth the money, and I would recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank uhim64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2013

I was travelling through Spain on my motorbike and booked this hotel as they have secure, underground parking.
The room was massive, as was the bathroom, so very happy with the choice of hotel and location.

The city of Soria is definately worth visiting, very Spanish and really nice.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank porvera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2013

The hotel was in an excellent situation for exploring the town. The staff were very pleasant and the room was spacious, clean and cheap! However, when you add the parking and the breakfast, that's another 50% on top. Can't fault hotel and would recommend and stay again.

Room Tip: We were at the back and it was very very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jenmox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2012

This is a four star hotel and the amenities cant be faulted. It is in a good location near the park and the town centre.The tourist office is in close proximity to the hotel and there is a small shop across the road.The room was nice, large and spacious and it was very clean. However service was poor. The reception on our arrival was not particularly welcoming and on our departure they didn't seem that bothered either.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eoinh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2011

My husband and I stayed at the Hotel Alfonso VIII in September 2011 and what a wonderful surprise. We thought it had such a nice ambiance and the reception was extremely friendly. The hotel is very clean and we also enjoyed the lovely music that was played. We had a lovely spacious room which faced the street and had a big window. The bathroom was very clean and had everything we needed. We could also use the Internet free of charge for which we were most grateful .We also enjoyed the lovely buffet breakfast in the Cafeteria. We were most fortunate to get parking right in front of the hotel which was great. The hotel is set in an ideal position and we enjoyed exploring central Soria. We highly recommend Hotel Alfonso VIII and hope to return some day.
Hennie and Mary Schoeman Boskloof Eco Estate Somerset West Cape Town South Africa

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank hennieschoemancivils
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Soria hotels
0.6 mi away
Parador de Soria
Parador de Soria
#2 of 13 in Soria
725 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Apolonia
Hotel Apolonia
#1 of 13 in Soria
413 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Campos de Castilla
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Sercotel Ciudad de Soria Hotel
3.4 mi away
Hotel Cadosa
Hotel Cadosa
#8 of 13 in Soria
182 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hosteria Solar de Tejada
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alfonso VIII? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alfonso VIII

Address: Calle Alfonso VIII 10, 42003 Soria, Spain
Region: Spain > Castile and Leon > Province of Soria > Soria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Soria
Price Range: £60 - £112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Alfonso VIII 4*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
El hotel Alfonso VIII, esta ubicado en el centro de Soria, dispone de 88 habitaciones, cafeteria, restaurante, parking, y servicio de internet gratuito. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelsClick and Cancelon so you can book your Alfonso VIII reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Husa Alfonso Viii Soria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing