We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Enjoyed three out of the six buildings”

Museo de Pontevedra
Ranked #6 of 79 things to do in Pontevedra
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This is the main museum in the city of Pontevedra. Located in the heart of the Old Town it displays the golden celtic treasure of Caldas de Reis as well as the ship chamber of Mendez Nunez. A must see in Pontevedra. Travel guides available in Spanish, Portuguese, French, German and English.
Franklin, Tennessee
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Enjoyed three out of the six buildings”
Reviewed 6 June 2014

The modern Sixth Building and the newly renovated Sarmiento building have an impressive collection of Galician art and archeological pieces. Unfortunately the descriptions are only in Spanish. I also enjoyed the maritime exhibit and especially the replica of a captain's cabin in the Castro y Monteagudo building. Although the Garcia Florez house has a collection of silver items, most of the rooms at the moment are bare and waiting to be renovated. Those two buildings are connected by a small bridge and are monitored by a not-very-hospitable gentleman at a desk when you first walk in. I was very disappointed that the ruins of the Santo Domingo Church were closed. From the outside it seemed exceptional and I was sad I couldn't get a closer look. Although I saw the Fernando Lopez building from the outside, it didn't look open. One of the best things about these museums is that they are free and worth visiting.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank LadyDee24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    67
    44
    11
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
La Paz, Bolivia
Level Contributor
540 reviews
255 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 353 helpful votes
“No longer a "small" museum”
Reviewed 17 June 2013

This is no longer the "small" museum that used to be. The ancient buildings still house some of the historical items that describe Pontevedra's past, but the new modern structure named "Sixth Building", which is connected to the other museum buildings (namely "Sarmiento", "García Florez", "Castro Monteagudo" and "Fernandez Lopez"), houses a very impressive collection of ancient, modern and contemporary paintings. The first floor has 8 rooms with artifacts and works of art from the Middle Age to 1900, an itinerary through Gothic, Renaissance, Baroque and Neoclassicist art produced in Galicia. The second floor displays Galician and Spanish paintings from XIX and XX centuries, while the third floor reveals the innovative works of art since 1925, with huge collections from Galician artists such as Castelao.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Gumucio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A very nice museum”
Reviewed 15 May 2013

A very nice and well organised museum with many hidden treasures, such as the exact replica of the captain´s dinning room in the inside of a boat.. lot´s of interesting exhibits. It was a wonderful surprise!
I recommend it

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank helenkal2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
499 reviews
241 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 410 helpful votes
“Surprised by the quality”
Reviewed 14 May 2013

We went here during our recent trip to Pontevedra. It was a rather rainy day, so the idea of spending the afternoon indoors was rather appealing. The museum comprises several buildings, of which four appear to be open to the public. There are two right in the centre of the old town (which most people seem to go to), another building, the Sixth Building, on the edge of the old town and then the ruins of Santa Domingo, again, just off the old town, near the council offices. All are free.

There is a good collection in the two interlinked buildings, including a tremendous collection of silverwear, collected by a locally born diplomat. Rather impressive. There is also some pre-Roman and Roman goldwork that was also very lovely. Some of the earrings looked like you could buy them in any trendy shop. There is also a recreation of the inside of the captain's cabin on the Numancia frigate. Very clever and a great hidden door!.

The two buildings themselves are gorgeous, set in a wonderful courtyard, with stonework and flowers everywhere.

The Santa Domingo ruins were unexpectedly closed on the day we were there.

The Sixth building is a very recent building that has several floors of Galician and Spanish art. And no visitors except us. We wandered through three floors, unimpeded by anyone else. A security guard showed us where to go, but we saw no-one in our 45 minutes there. A real shame, as the art and paintings are very nice. There wasn't anything in English to explain what you were seeing, but I think the gallery hadn't been open long.

I do hope more people go to the Sixth Building in particular. All the buildings are worth a visit, especially given that they're free. They are good local museums, with friendly, helpful staff.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank madamedefarge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Small museum with great unusual collections”
Reviewed 15 March 2013

This small museum has a variety of collections you could never imagine from the outside. The building is already unusual and very charming. My all time favourites, since I was a kid are: the antique gold jewellery collections, the jet stone collections and the chamber of the Numancia frigate. The museum is situated in the "old town" of the city, where most buildings and the pavement are made of stone. If you like museums but not spending the whole day in them, this is the perfect place to spend a few hours.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank NBZouk2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Museo de Pontevedra also viewed

Pontevedra, Province of Pontevedra
Pontevedra, Province of Pontevedra
 
Pontevedra, Province of Pontevedra
Pontevedra, Province of Pontevedra
 

Been to Museo de Pontevedra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing