We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First visit to Scilly”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Colossus

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Colossus
Ranked #8 of 38 St Mary's B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“First visit to Scilly”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2013

I was looking for somewhere walkable from the ferry landing, with a reasonable rate for a single person. Colossus met my expectations as well as being ecofriendly, with excellent breakfasts, wifi, quiet, friendly hosts and other guests. There is also a gym very close for those that way inclined, lots of choices of places to eat, great walks. And very tame thrushes.

Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scillysunshine, Owner at Colossus, responded to this review, 5 March 2014
Just before closing for the season, we welcomed you. October is a great month for bird watching and walking. Hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    87
    15
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
11
81
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2013

We stayed for three days on St Marys and felt really lucky to have found the Colossus B&B. We were warmly received by Carmen, our host. The room was clean and comfortable, the breakfast was good, too. Locationwise it seemed a bit out of town at first, but as it is only 20 min walk to the airport and 10 min walk to the centre of St Marys, there is really nothing we could possibly have been unhappy with. We will certainly consider to come back and have told all of our friends already about the good experience!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank M K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scillysunshine, Owner at Colossus, responded to this review, 5 March 2014
Everywhere is close on Scilly, as it's only 2.5 miles by 1.5 miles. Within walking distance of everywhere. Thank you for taking the time to write a lovely review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2013

Wanted a quiet out of town location for a return trip to Scilly and Colossus was a great choice. Good central location within easy walking distance to Hugh town and Old town. The first floor self-catering apartment is well appointed, clean and comfortable with a lovely shared garden. Carmen was a great host and was a mine of local information and stories about the Isles of Scilly.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Keith-789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scillysunshine, Owner at Colossus, responded to this review, 5 March 2014
Serving you is our pleasure and being local its not difficult to impart local information. Glad it was helpful
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2013

Colossus was a lovely, clean and welcoming guest house in Hugh Town. It was very close to the main town and therefore making it easy to access St Mary's and the other islands. The welcome was warm and apprecitated the room clean and well looked after and the breakfasts excellent. Carmen was a wonderful host and would recommend Colossus to anyone looking for a small, quiet and comfortable B&B.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amelia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scillysunshine, Owner at Colossus, responded to this review, 5 March 2014
Thank you for your glowing review. I love meeting new people and helping them to discover the islands.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warminster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2013

We had a very enjoyable stay at Colossus, Carmen and Tod very friendly people. Our room was clean and comfy and had all we needed, our bathroom was private but across the hall it had a lovely big bath plus separate shower. Colossus is at the top of a hill so be aware of this and has a steep incline all but short when you come out of the B&B. We loved it.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scillysunshine, Owner at Colossus, responded to this review, 5 March 2014
Soooo glad you enjoyed your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2013

Chose Colossus for a return visit selecting quieter out of town accomodation. Home to home feeling about this place - most comfortable ensuite ground floor. Carmen, a native of the Scillies not only provides delicious breakfasts, but has a wealth of info. and interesting stories to tell.
Very recommendable for walkers and explorers to wind down and relax after the day's boat hoppings and seeking out the lovely islands. The less fit might struggle the treck back each day, however! Many thanks, Carmen for a lovely stay and hope to see you again in the future.

Room Tip: The vegetarian breakfasts of lovely fresh fruits, yogs. with hot croissants or bagels are a real tre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank P A E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scillysunshine, Owner at Colossus, responded to this review, 14 October 2013
It's always good to hear another review. Thank you very much. Regards Carmen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mary Tavy, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2013

We enjoyed a lovely holiday in Scilly made even better by the relaxed atmosphere of "Colossus". Our room and bathroom were spotless and the breakfasts were excellent, the quiet position suited us and we enjoyed being able to come and go as we liked. Carmen always got the day off to a great start by having time to chat and share local knowledge.

Room Tip: We chose not to have the ensuite as we like a bath
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scillysunshine, Owner at Colossus, responded to this review, 14 October 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave a great review. Regards Carmen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Mary's
0.2 mi away
St. Mary's Hall Hotel
St. Mary's Hall Hotel
#1 of 6 in St Mary's
4.5 of 5 bubbles 366 reviews
0.5 mi away
Tregarthen's Hotel
Tregarthen's Hotel
#2 of 2 in Hugh Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 268 reviews
3.6 mi away
Karma St. Martin's
Karma St. Martin's
#1 of 1 in St Martin's
4.0 of 5 bubbles 210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Star Castle
Star Castle
#2 of 6 in St Mary's
4.5 of 5 bubbles 425 reviews
0.4 mi away
Atlantic Hotel
Atlantic Hotel
#3 of 6 in St Mary's
4.0 of 5 bubbles 340 reviews
0.4 mi away
Schooners Hotel
Schooners Hotel
#1 of 2 in Hugh Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Colossus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colossus

Property: Colossus
Address: Colossus Pilots Retreat | Isles of Scilly, TR21 0PB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isles of Scilly > St Mary's
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 38 B&Bs / Inns in St Mary's
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Colossus 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Colossus is a detached bungalow with garden overlooking the lower moors and situated in a quiet residential cul-de-sac. Only a 5-7 minute pleasant walk with splendid views brings you to Hugh Town, where you will find shops, restaurants, pubs and three beaches and lastly the harbour - where you can hop on the daily boats to the off-islands. Five minutes in the other directions you will find Old Town and coastal walks.We have B&B rooms as well as a self catering flat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotels.com, Book Direct Rooms and HotelQuickly so you can book your Colossus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colossus Isles Of Scilly, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing