We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“THANKYOU” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Auriga Guest House

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in St Mary's
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Auriga Guest House
Ranked #31 of 38 St Mary's B&B and Inns
Warwick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“THANKYOU”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2012

Just like to thank Sheila and Chris once again for our lovely stay.

Recommended by all who visit St.Mary's.

Will be staying again!!

Thankyou for my birthday card.

Vanessa and Jim Gayton

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank vanessa052
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

6 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    5
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
5
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2012

We stayed with Sheila & Chris in August 2011 for the first time, definitely won't be our last.
A warm welcome and a lovely cup of tea and we were made to feel like old friends.
Our room, beautifully decorated, had an enormous comfy bed, plenty of drawer/wardrobe space, a fridge, containing fresh milk to go with the tea/coffee/hot chocolate supplied, and en suite with a large shower (not one of those that you have to breath in to use, with the hanging plastic curtain clinging to you!!) and a superb view overlooking Porthcressa Bay.
Our first morning we went for the full breakfast!! A feast, what a selection, all freshly prepared and cooked to order.
Chris & Sheila were a font of local knowledge, both being true Scillonians, and were able to advise us where would be the best island/walks to do according to the weather each day.
Thank you bot for making our holiday such a wonderful experience.
See you in August!

Room Tip: Book early for a room with a sea view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Colin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Loughborough
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2011

We stayed at this family run guest house for 2 weeks in July, Chris and Sheila were fantastic hosts. Our bedroom was enormous with sea views overlooking the bay, we had the luxury of a fridge which meant at the end of a busy day we could sit at the window with a cold glass of wine. Breakfasts were cooked to order, there was so much choice, it was a 4 course meal, we didn't need to buy lunch!! and Chris' artistic fried bread - we tried to guess what shape we would have each day!!
Auriga is so conveniently situated for the beach (20 yards away) the shops and restaurants (1 minute away) and the quay a mere 5 minutes walk away, yet at night there was no noise so we had good undisturbed nights sleep. There is a ground floor bedroom so will bring our elderly parents with us next year.
So glad we found Auriga and Chris and Sheila (both REAL Scillonians) and as long as they are there hosting so will we be. Thank you both.

Room Tip: Book early for a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2011

This was our first trip to the islands.
So relaxing, so comfortable, so just right.

As soon as you set foot on the ground remember to put your watch back 50 years.
This was without a doubt one of the best holdays we have ever had.

We are now feeling depressed knowing we have to wait nearly a year before we can take the time to visit again. By then the Auriga may well have changed hands or been sold to somebody as a private house.

Just have to say thanks for the warm welcome and the arty fried bread at breakfast.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Faccombe-Hall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lichfield
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 December 2009

Very warm welcome, made to feel like we were family not guests. nice to be able to use their lounge whenever we wanted. Lovely food and plenty of it. Would highly recommend to anyone

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lichfieldtony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
49 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2006

We spent 3 nights at the Auriga guest housein Hugh Town, St Marys in July 2006.
Having our bags delivered straight from the ferry (£1/bag) was a nice surprise.
The owners, Chris and Sheila were waiting to meet us with their friendly aged dog, Sadie.
We were travelling with 2 x 70+ relatives and Chris and Sheila couldn't have been more helpful and friendly to them.
We stayed in the downstairs 'apartment' which was generously sized with a fridge and television.
Breakfast was huge and was all cooked to order.
The location is great - 30 seconds to a small beach, 1 miniute into the town centre and 5 minutes to the harbour.
Would definitely recommend.

Helpful?
4 Thank BarnetBlackDog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Mary's hotels
0.1 mi away
Schooners Hotel
Schooners Hotel
#1 of 2 in Hugh Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 175 reviews
0.2 mi away
Atlantic Hotel
Atlantic Hotel
#5 of 6 in St Mary's
4.0 of 5 bubbles 330 reviews
0.2 mi away
Tregarthen's Hotel
Tregarthen's Hotel
#2 of 2 in Hugh Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Star Castle
Star Castle
#2 of 6 in St Mary's
4.5 of 5 bubbles 413 reviews
0.1 mi away
St. Mary's Hall Hotel
St. Mary's Hall Hotel
#1 of 6 in St Mary's
4.5 of 5 bubbles 359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Auriga Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auriga Guest House

Property: Auriga Guest House
Address: Auriga Porthcressa Road, TR21 0JL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isles of Scilly > St Mary's
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 38 B&Bs / Inns in St Mary's
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Auriga is a small, family run Guest House only 20 yards from Porthcressa Beach. Our 4 rooms are en suite, 2 of them have sea views (early booking essential for these!) and there is a ground floor room too. We offer a full English breakfast and special diets are catered for. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Auriga Guest House Isles Of Scilly, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing