We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best place to stay....”

Freesia Guest House
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in St Mary's
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Freesia Guest House
Ranked #14 of 36 St Mary's B&B and Inns
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“The best place to stay....”
Reviewed 28 August 2013 via mobile

As this was our first trip to the Isles of Scilly so we decided to base ourselves on St Mary's. After looking online at lots of B&b's we picked Freesia guest house. Before we had even arrived we knew how friendly and helpful Carol and Joe were by the very helpful advice given to us. The b&b is very central in Hugh Town. We had room 2, a lovely double room which was decorated beautifully and to a very high standard. The fridge was stocked with soft drinks on arrival. The ensuite was big and modern. We made use of the roof terrace which is a great bonus and a lovely place to have a glass of wine. Breakfast was fantastic, really recommend the fruit compote and the english breakfast. We really enjoyed our stay. Nothing at all was too much trouble. My advice.... Just book it! We will be back!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bridger39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    46
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
24
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
kidderminster
Level Contributor
114 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2013 via mobile

A truly fantastic find' we stayed at the much more expensive star castle last time' this is much nicer and probably less than half the price. The breakfast is great' the rooms lovely and the roof top terrace very useful. Recommended to everyone

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank freightmate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire
Level Contributor
316 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 199 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2013

I actually stayed here a few years ago, and forgot to review it - better late than never. I was on my own, waiting to meet friends for a hen week on Tresco to celebrate my retirement. Carol made me very welcome and advised me of places to go and generally made sure I wasn't lonely (as if I could be on such a lovely friendly island.) I had a fantastic, comfy room right at the top of the house, overlooking the street, and I was able to watch as the Halloween revellers went by. I will be back, and have recommended it to many. Great breakfast too!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank trescomania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marazion
Level Contributor
77 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2013

From the moment we arrived early in the morning, Carol and Joe welcomed us and made our stay so comfortable. Value for money! Great location handy for the shops....good to browse when you come back to St Mary's after a day on the islands and good for grabbing last minute bits before heading for the quay/airport....and even though its right by the shops etc its very quiet. All the rooms are different but fantastic quality. We had room 5, a twin with massive bathroom, and room 2, a 6ft superking double that can be a twin with another huge bathroom. The rooms are so well kitted out! Fridge with chilled mineral water, glasses, bottle opener, bath and beach towels, robes, toiletries galore, well stocked tea tray......lots of little extras. The standard of décor and furnishings is as good as a good hotel. Spotless! Breakfast was great with a choice of juice plus fruit platter or fruit compote/yog or grapefruit followed by hot choices of full English or variations of it...plus lots of other tempting treats. You can come and go as you please.....without having to worry about keys. The roof terrace is a great spot for early morning/evening wind down before heading out. When you check out you can leave your bags there and they'll arrange for your luggage to be taken to the quay so you don't have to lug it down there. Carol and Joe are fantastic hosts..helpful, full of tips and info, always smiling and friendly. You couldn't do better anywhere else so look no further! My second visit and definitely not my last!

Room Tip: Room 2 is a massive superking double that can be a twin. 1st floor. Well kitted out with huge bathr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jsb1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penzance, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2013

We have just returned from a weekend in St Mary's, staying at the Freesia Guesthouse. Such a convenient location and what a lovely clean & friendly place. We were greeted by Joe, and had a twin room (No 5) at the top. The bathroom was bigger than our own and had all the toiletries and bath robes, even fresh flowers.The breakfast was fantastic (albeit a small dining room,which made getting to know other guests essential), but along with this you get to know where to go & what to do if it is your first time in the Islands. Do take advantage of the suitcase delivery service, for just £1.30 a bag you don't have to worry about it. If you do visit, this is the place to go, so close to other pubs restaurants & cafes.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maureen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
124 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2013

I think you would struggle to find a better B&B on the islands. The rooms are very nice, tastefully decorated and very clean. The breakfast is superb and Carol and her son Joe are very welcoming, very friendly and very good hosts.

Room Tip: I had a look at all the rooms and they are all good, but perhaps the ones on the first floor are may...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Redeye38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
101 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 179 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2012

We recommend the Freesia Guest house for its friendly welcome, central position, and comfortable rooms. In many towns the central position would be a problem ie street noise late at night - this is not a problem in Hugh town and the central location made it handy for shops, pub, and boats. When we arrived we were first guests of the day and were given the chance to choose one of the three rooms available at that time. I can say they are all comfortable, and have large bathrooms - we'd have been happy in any of them. Carole provides a friendly welcome and a good breakfast. We would highly recommend the Freesia to anyone

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PeaceFoodandaSnorkel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Mary's
0.2 mi away
Tregarthen's Hotel
Tregarthen's Hotel
#2 of 2 in Hugh Town
281 reviews
0.2 mi away
St. Mary's Hall Hotel
St. Mary's Hall Hotel
#1 of 6 in St Mary's
382 reviews
3.6 mi away
Karma St. Martin's
Karma St. Martin's
#1 of 1 in St Martin's
269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Star Castle
Star Castle
#2 of 6 in St Mary's
443 reviews
0.1 mi away
Atlantic Hotel
Atlantic Hotel
#4 of 6 in St Mary's
357 reviews
0.0 mi away
Schooners Hotel
Schooners Hotel
#1 of 2 in Hugh Town
180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Freesia Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Freesia Guest House

Property: Freesia Guest House
Address: Freesia The Parade | Hugh Town, TR21 0LP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isles of Scilly > St Mary's
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 36 B&Bs / Inns in St Mary's
Hotel Class:4 star — Freesia Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Freesia is a family run 4 star, silver awarded guesthouse situated in a central location in Hugh Town on St Mary's. All rooms are en-suite and are a very high standard. We are close to all beaches, shops, restaurants and the quay (for boat trips). All bus and walking tours are close by. All water-sports (windsurfing, sailing and kayaking) activities are also very close. Shark fishing and Pelagic birdwatching trips go daily and can be booked close by. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Freesia Guest House Isles Of Scilly, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing