We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Service with a Smile!”
Review of Atlantic Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Atlantic Inn
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in St Mary's
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 April 2014

My wife and I stayed here for a week in early April. Not the swankiest of hotels, but the room was comfortable and clean, and the food was good quality, plentiful and great value. The location in the centre of Hugh Town and on the waterfront was great. What was truly outstanding, though, was the welcoming attitude of all the staff (especially Michelle in the restaurant). I put this down to the manager, Neil Moorton- nothing was too much trouble for him, he was always smiling and helpful, and no task was too menial for him. He created a great atmosphere, and has built what is obviously a very happy team. We would love to return, but getting to the Scillies from Edinburgh was a bit of a nightmare - long train journey, overnight in a hotel and then a very expensive short flight from Newquay.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank allanmcf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (410)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

322 - 328 of 410 reviews

Reviewed 21 April 2014

This hotel is everything a hotel needs to be. The location is excellent, just a two minute walk from the harbour where the boats leave to the other islands. The staff were wonderful and the food was out of this world and plenty of it. I where the would stay there again without hesitation.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank davidgeary274
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2014

Over the winter, much work has been done to greatly improve the Atlantic. The eating area is now to the left at the back, overlooking the sea and is light and airy with comfortable seating areas. The old eating area has been transformed into a very attractive coffee / tea / snack area ( newly opened at the end of March) - again, light and airy with lovely views. As the popular Mumfords cafe is no longer open, the Atlantic is now able to fill that void and add wonderful views to the experience - which is most welcome. It was a delightful surprise when we revisited this week.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
6  Thank RWWDevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2013

I have just returned from my first trip to the Scilly Isles and found the Atlantic staff and food really good. My room was quite small and I didn't have a great view, but it was clean and warm. The manager was delightful and took us on a day's walk around the island, filling us with information and joy. Our holiday had to be curtailed because of the recent storms, but everyone was very supportive and friendly and helped us until the minute we had to board the ferry a day early. Congratulations to the kitchen -it cannot be easy preparing such good meals when you are never quite sure how many visitors will arrive!

Room Tip: Make sure you are not up in the roof or next to the adjacent Atlantic Inn.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Blueronnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2013

Difficult to find fault with this boutique hotel, clean and spacious rooms with a wonderful view of the harbour , restaurant has stunning views and offers a limited selection but with very high quality dishes at a very reasonable price , so good in fact we dined there twice in the three days we stayed which is something we rarely do as we proffer to eat out.
One potential hazard, avoid rooms which are close to or above the pub next door if you retire early , drinkers are well behaved but you can be disturbed by the talking which can continue late.
Otherwise , Its a big thumbs up , we will be back.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank STEVE M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2013

Minutes after arriving in our room, we were alarmed to find the fixtures and fittings shaking violently. It turned out we were next door to the hotel's utility room. Its two washing machines are in action for much of the day, and are separated from room 25 by just a thin partition wall.

When the washing machines reach their final spin, the vibrations are disturbingly loud. However, the laundry was not in use at night, and there was, mercifully, little noise from the Atlantic Inn pub beneath us on the ground floor, or from the street outside.

The beds were comfortable and the decor of the room was neutral and inoffensive, if a little dull. The bathroom was quite spacious, boasting an unrivalled view across to Lloyds Bank and the islands' only cashpoint! But the shower, although fairly new, was severely lacking in power.

The cooked breakfast, taken in a dining room overlooking the harbour, was very good. One let-down was the tea, which guests make themselves using water from a communal thermos-type flask. The water is not freshly boiled and not hot enough to make a decent cup of tea. Breakfast ends at 9am, which may be a little early for some.

Service at reception and in the restaurant at breakfast time was friendly and efficient. The hotel is in a very convenient central position in Hugh Town and seems to cater mainly to tour groups. For an evening meal there is a choice between the hotel's own in-house restaurant and the pub next door, also called the Atlantic Inn and also owned by St Austell Brewery.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank rentaquote
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2013

We have just returned (18/10/13) from a 4 night stay at the Atlantic Hotel.
It was our first stay, chosen, based on the trip adviser reviews.
We had such a lovely time. Its a beautiful hotel/pub, we had a truly great view (room 20), great food, clean cosy room with everything you could need.
but beyond all else the staff are incredible...Dearest Caroline in the restaurant was an absolute star!...a would be friend for sure, and i already miss her!!! Neil, a total hoot and a breath of the cleanest, freshest air. The chief a sweetie, the other chief a nifty dancer (even in the hall)
and everyone just plain old delightful. It makes such a difference and we will never stay anywhere else when on the scillies. THANK YOU SO MUCH XXXXX

Room Tip: A room with a sea view is a bonus , its right on the harbour and the comings and goings are fascinat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank shirley910
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Mary's
3.6 mi away
Karma St. Martin's
Karma St. Martin's
#1 of 1 in St Martin's
385 reviews
0.2 mi away
Star Castle
Star Castle
#2 of 6 in St Mary's
472 reviews
0.2 mi away
St. Mary's Hall Hotel
St. Mary's Hall Hotel
#1 of 6 in St Mary's
412 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Tregarthen's Hotel
Tregarthen's Hotel
#2 of 2 in Hugh Town
315 reviews
0.4 mi away
Colossus
Colossus
#7 of 35 in St Mary's
119 reviews
0 mi away
Havener's
Havener's
#11 of 25 in Fowey
19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Atlantic Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atlantic Inn

Address: Hugh Street, TR21 0PL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isles of Scilly > St Mary's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in St Mary's
Price Range: £135 - £241 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Atlantic Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Isles of Scilly sit 28 miles South West of Lands End. This 25 bedroomed Inn is located in the heart of St Mary's, where the buildings are golden granite, the beaches are white and often empty and the countryside and coast are stunning all year round. Backing onto the water's edge, our Tides Reach restaurant and many of the Inn bedrooms provide uninterrupted views of the bustling harbour and spectacular coastline. St Mary's is the perfect base for touring the Isles of Scilly, with regular day trips, water taxis and boat hire available within a few minutes stroll. If you are looking for a relaxed holiday on the Scilly Isles, the team at the Inn will ensure you will feel at home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms, Expedia, Booking.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Hotels.com, HotelsClick and Ebookers so you can book your Atlantic Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atlantic Hotel St Mary`s
Atlantic St Marys
Atlantic Inn Isles Of Scilly, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing