We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fab..............all round”
Review of Atlantic Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Atlantic Inn
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in St Mary's
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 August 2014

Fantastic food.....fantastic views and in a fantastic place...
The hotel is a delight.....................step back to ...'John and Mary Go To The Seaside'.................the hotel is a great place to stay or to eat......and in the most delightful location.........................get there fast if you can.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Andy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (410)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

302 - 308 of 410 reviews

Reviewed 1 August 2014

Amazing........beautiful hotel, outlook and food. Service an hospitality fabulous.
Our 1st time in the Isles of Scilly having yachted there. lunched virtually everyday at this venue. The food was superb.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kara E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014 via mobile

This is the place with real atmosphere , proper wifi for business lovely range of ciders and great food in a choice of pretty and smart areas. Well done. I will be seeing you very regularly as I work on St Martins and catch the boat from the harbour !

Stayed: July 2014
Thank Maggotting
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014 via mobile

This b&b is generally good, it's a great location next to the ferry port (handy for waiting for the boat as you can see the queue from the balcony so can walk over when it goes down if not worried about seat location). It's walking distance from the ferry and situated in the town, walking distance from shops etc.

I felt this was a very overpriced hotel however. It wasn't that modern and the rooms were hot. Air conditioning would be a benefit but I guess most b&b's don't have this. When I asked the staff for a bedroom fan however they were more than obliging. We stayed with a group and for the same price others had much bigger rooms than us so that seemed unfair so I would suggest asking for a bigger room if you aren't happy as they did move some of our group when asked.

You have to check out by 10am and there is no late checkout option which is a shame as the boat doesn't leave till the afternoon so it felt a bit limiting and the staff didn't seen too sympathetic on that. There is a nice bar, lounge and balcony to sit on though and the hotel were happy for us to sit there all day till the boat came. They also held our bags so that was good.

The menu in the restaurant is ok but very limited. No healthy options and the sandwiches use half a loaf in one sandwich it seems (slight exaggeration but it's safe to say they are not for the feint hearted, if you don't like door wedge sandwiches). My suggestion for the hotel would be to revisit the menu work some modern healthy options - wraps, fresh salads etc. And have a different menu for the evening as guests staying at the hotel will find this limiting. Or at least we did! The food was cooked well however and was tasty so not all bad. Just very limited for healthy and variety options.

All in all this is a good hotel but for value for money it's not good and it did seem overpriced but you are probably paying for location.

Stayed: July 2014
Thank Caz-Wood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014

The Atlantic Hotel is without doubt one of my favourite places to eat and drink on the Isles of Scilly. The staff are polite,attentive and friendly. The lunchtime food has always been goon on our numerous visits over the years, this holiday was no different. Superb quality and at a decent price considering you're on an island. Would highly recommend to anyone visiting the Isles of Scilly for the first time. My favourite place!

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank DorsetBecs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2014

We stayed at the Atlantic Hotel as part of a coach party from Berkshire. The staff were very welcoming, our room had a sea view looking over the harbour, and was very comfortable, with a good sized ensuite. The breakfast was very good, the dinners were excellent with a 3 course meal which was well prepared with a selection of meat, fish, or vegetarian for the main. It has a public house adjoining where there was a large lounge bar. Also it has a balcony area over the sea. The staff were friendly and extremely helpful. The hotel arranged our guided trips around the island and to Tresco and St. Agnes. I would highly recommend this hotel for visits to the Scilly Isles.

Room Tip: Choose a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Lorna T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2014

We went to this eatery on Saturday after day tripping and the food was really good.
Two of us had the fish and chips it was a large piece of fish and loads of chips, one had the see bass and risotto dish which was well presented was tasted fab and my wife had a chicken bacon and cheese burger which again looked great and tasted good

We all said that the food was great and very attentive service well done to the chef and staff great place to relax and dine.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
Thank Alan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Mary's
3.6 mi away
Karma St. Martin's
Karma St. Martin's
#1 of 1 in St Martin's
385 reviews
0.2 mi away
Star Castle
Star Castle
#2 of 6 in St Mary's
472 reviews
0.2 mi away
St. Mary's Hall Hotel
St. Mary's Hall Hotel
#1 of 6 in St Mary's
412 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Tregarthen's Hotel
Tregarthen's Hotel
#2 of 2 in Hugh Town
315 reviews
0.4 mi away
Colossus
Colossus
#7 of 35 in St Mary's
119 reviews
0 mi away
Havener's
Havener's
#11 of 25 in Fowey
19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Atlantic Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atlantic Inn

Address: Hugh Street, TR21 0PL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isles of Scilly > St Mary's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in St Mary's
Price Range: £135 - £241 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Atlantic Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Isles of Scilly sit 28 miles South West of Lands End. This 25 bedroomed Inn is located in the heart of St Mary's, where the buildings are golden granite, the beaches are white and often empty and the countryside and coast are stunning all year round. Backing onto the water's edge, our Tides Reach restaurant and many of the Inn bedrooms provide uninterrupted views of the bustling harbour and spectacular coastline. St Mary's is the perfect base for touring the Isles of Scilly, with regular day trips, water taxis and boat hire available within a few minutes stroll. If you are looking for a relaxed holiday on the Scilly Isles, the team at the Inn will ensure you will feel at home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms, Expedia, Booking.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Hotels.com, HotelsClick and Ebookers so you can book your Atlantic Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atlantic Hotel St Mary`s
Atlantic St Marys
Atlantic Inn Isles Of Scilly, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing