We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic as ever!”
Review of Star Castle

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Star Castle
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in St Mary's
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 December 2013

We have stayed here on numerous occasions and as usual we cannot fault anything.
We stayed in our usual room which is always clean, comfortable and quiet.
All the staff without exception are delightful and always there to help with any queries etc.
The quality and presentation of the food served in the restaurant is consistently excellent.
Another memorable few days and we look forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SukySomerset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (472)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

251 - 257 of 472 reviews

Reviewed 27 November 2013

From getting picked up at the airfield in the complementary taxi I knew I was in for a treat. As you drive up through the gate in the wall and pull up in front of the castle and walk through the thick walls of the castle the hotel feels special. I had a room up on the top floor, super comfy bed and a view through small windows of the town.
The bathroom was a bit chilly but that is the only negative.
Fantastic cooked to order breakfast as well. Would like to come back again for longer in season.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tonyotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2013

Great place great views the staff are all helpful
A great place to bring our dog (unusual for a top class hotel)
The hotel is set on a very steep hill out from the town so might not be suitable for less mobile but if you are reasonably fit it is a smashing atmospheric place to eat or stay
I cannot believe the poor review it was given I would visit more if the budget would allow

Room Tip: Garden rooms are larger and have fabulous views and some have patios
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2013

We stayed for a few nights in September
Lovely staff and very very good food.
The bedrooms were a little disappointing, TV didn't work and smelt a little damp.
However the staff and food made up for this.
Would certainly revisit

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jayed2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2013

We were told that they had received an award for the Best in the West restaurant, so we took advantage of a special 4 night break organised by the hotel. They booked our flights on Skybus and all the transfers. It was a pleasure to be driven through St Marys and up the hill to this historic hotel - the main building dates back to 1593 with lovely thick castle walls in a star shape.. Our bags were taken to our room which was in the garden with a lovely verandah and views across to the uninhabited island of Samson.The room was very comfortable with a decent bath, a big bed with excellent linen, fresh flowers and a good selection in the TCMF drawer. Dinner was taken in the old officers mess which was really cosy from the big wind outside - the 5 course menu was unbeatable from a selection and quality point of view - and the service from all the staff was simply perfect. We took our after dinner drinks in the lovely small lounge on the first floor. Breakfast the next morning was a delight with everything you could ever want from the kitchen and a very wide selection on the cold buffet - and some really decent marmalade. Our second night was a celebration 10 course dinner - spectacular - and the sweet course is an absolute treat at dinner every night. Our break included a boat trip to nearby Tresco with entrance to the Abbey gardens and a guided mystery walk (brilliant and very informative guide) on St Marys with a light lunch on our return in the cosy bar downstairs in the dungeon..We used the swimming pool in the grounds which was nice and warm although it was just a swimming pool. Nothing was ever too much trouble for the staff. This hotel really deserves it's accolades for comfort, excellent food, and good old-fashioned service.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank thewellcomegroup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2013

My sister expressed astonishment that I submit reviews for Tripadvisor. My husband commented "oh, she sometimes writes the reviews as she is leaving the place". Well, not quite. It all depends on how much leisure time I have at the end of a trip.

In the case of the Star Castle in St Mary's, the Isles of Scilly, it has taken a few months. My first trip this year was in May followed by another in July. The summer then followed with a busy time with the family and look, here we are now at the end of October, and I am writing reviews of places in Kuala Lumpur and Hong Kong. So I really must catch up.

Giving a place five stars in a review is really a subjective issue. Surely they can't all have the same furnishings, ambience, comfort etc. so I am going to say that five stars in any place I stay in is in relation to what else is available in the same area.

In this case, having been to the Scillies around 10 times over the past 15 years, I find that the Star Castle's hospitality is second to none. This is important, as the weather can be erratic, and since the Scillies is an outdoor kind of place ( hiking, bird watching, sailing) you really need somewhere comfortable and welcoming to retire to at the end of a long day.

There are different categories of rooms and the pricing is simple, you get what you pay for. Some reviewers have mentioned that the lounge is small, but you have the whole of the outdoor ramparts area in sunny weather, and if you have to use the lounge, you really do meet all sorts of interesting fellow travellers.

Special mention must be made of the dinners at the Star Castle. The only problem with having a short break is that you are left wondering what tomorrow's menu is going to be, once you have left. Every course is delicious, with a good balance between meat and fish main courses. The breakfasts are equally generous, which really sets you up for a day of exploring the islands.

Finally, if this is the first time you are considering the Scillies as a holiday destination, I would say that the Scillies is not an easy place to get to and once you get there, a lot of independence is required in terms of simply 'getting on with things'. Having a retreat like a good hotel at the end of a long day might make the difference whether you decide to come back again, so it pays to choose wisely.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank MLRNW3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2013

Have thoroughly enjoyed our first stay at The Star Castle Hotel. Great location, excellent staff and comfortable accommodation. We stayed in a castle room - very cosy, lovely views. The restaurant is excellent - very good food - hearty, well presented breakfasts with lots of choice, and superb dinners. The inclusive rates for dbb are good value. The hotel really made our stay special.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nigel l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Mary's
3.6 mi away
Karma St. Martin's
Karma St. Martin's
#1 of 1 in St Martin's
384 reviews
0.4 mi away
St. Mary's Hall Hotel
St. Mary's Hall Hotel
#1 of 6 in St Mary's
412 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tregarthen's Hotel
Tregarthen's Hotel
#2 of 2 in Hugh Town
315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Atlantic Inn
Atlantic Inn
#4 of 6 in St Mary's
410 reviews
0.2 mi away
Schooners Hotel
Schooners Hotel
#1 of 2 in Hugh Town
188 reviews
0.6 mi away
Colossus
Colossus
#7 of 35 in St Mary's
118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Star Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Star Castle

Address: The Garrison, TR21 0JA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isles of Scilly > St Mary's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in St Mary's
Price Range: £154 - £361 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Star Castle 4*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A family run hotel located on the Garrison a short walk from the centre of St Mary’s and the harbour, commanding breathtaking views of the stunning Archipelago. Our focus is to provide exceptional customer service to all our guests, award winning gourmet food with a choice of two award winning restaurants featuring the world’s best fresh lobster and crab caught by the proprietor Mr Robert Francis aboard ‘Gallos’ the hotel’s own fishing boat.A 38 bedroom hotel boasting traditional sixteenth century castle accommodation and spacious contemporary suites within 4 acres of secluded gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Star Castle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Star Castle Hotel St Mary`s
Star Castle St Marys
Star Castle Hotel St Marys
Star Castle Isles Of Scilly, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing