We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Totally recommend ”
Review of Star Castle

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Star Castle
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in St Mary's
Certificate of Excellence
St Austell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Totally recommend ”
Reviewed 7 April 2014 via mobile

2nd time staying here. Have been in the garden rooms and this time in the castle. Both were very nicely appointed and comfortable. Best part was the food!! Every dish was a delight. Not had a bad meal there. And after a trip to the dungeon bar is well worth it. All the staff without exception were friendly and welcoming. Only negative which is personal preference pillows were to soft. can't wait to stay again.

Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

436 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    325
    78
    18
    10
    5
See reviews for
82
261
11
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Helston, Cornwall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2014

We really enjoyed the New Year package. The room was great, with a big comfortable bed and the food throughout our break was of excellent quality and presentation. We also met some very interesting people over the few days spent together here. It is something we would definately do again in the future.

Room Tip: We like the rooms in the castle best, but have happily stayed in the garden rooms in the past
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank TonyR50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Banstead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2014

I have stayed at the Star Castle Hotel three times now and I've always had a fantastic experience. I have quite severe food allergies and it is, by far, the best place I've ever stayed in that respect. The food is outstanding and the staff are very helpful. The islands are absolutely beautiful and there are good views from many of the rooms. The rooms are very comfortable and the hotel is a very warm, welcoming place. I would thoroughly recommend it!

Room Tip: The castle rooms are characterful and cosy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Charlotte G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheerness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 4 January 2014

We chose the Star Castle as the Venue for our wedding in August 2013. Our wedding coordinator was Zoe who was absolutely amazing. She helped us plan our day to perfection and even came to help me with my wedding dress on the morning and took some lovely photos for us in our lunch break before we went for our blessing at the Old Town Church. Zoe and the staff catered for all our needs. The room was luxurious and the food outstanding. Sandra Gibson was our photographer for the wedding who took some great photos of us in and around the castle and at Old Town Church. Andy Finch took us to the Old Town Church on a beautifully decorated carriage pulled by the Beautiful Izzy the Shire Horse.

Room Tip: If you want amazing views choose a sea view garden room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kim E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somerset
Level Contributor
165 reviews
100 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2013

We have stayed here on numerous occasions and as usual we cannot fault anything.
We stayed in our usual room which is always clean, comfortable and quiet.
All the staff without exception are delightful and always there to help with any queries etc.
The quality and presentation of the food served in the restaurant is consistently excellent.
Another memorable few days and we look forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SukySomerset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
219 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2013

From getting picked up at the airfield in the complementary taxi I knew I was in for a treat. As you drive up through the gate in the wall and pull up in front of the castle and walk through the thick walls of the castle the hotel feels special. I had a room up on the top floor, super comfy bed and a view through small windows of the town.
The bathroom was a bit chilly but that is the only negative.
Fantastic cooked to order breakfast as well. Would like to come back again for longer in season.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tonyotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2013

Great place great views the staff are all helpful
A great place to bring our dog (unusual for a top class hotel)
The hotel is set on a very steep hill out from the town so might not be suitable for less mobile but if you are reasonably fit it is a smashing atmospheric place to eat or stay
I cannot believe the poor review it was given I would visit more if the budget would allow

Room Tip: Garden rooms are larger and have fabulous views and some have patios
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Mary's
0.4 mi away
St. Mary's Hall Hotel
St. Mary's Hall Hotel
#1 of 6 in St Mary's
4.5 of 5 bubbles 372 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tregarthen's Hotel
Tregarthen's Hotel
#2 of 2 in Hugh Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 277 reviews
3.6 mi away
Karma St. Martin's
Karma St. Martin's
#1 of 1 in St Martin's
4.0 of 5 bubbles 242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Atlantic Hotel
Atlantic Hotel
#5 of 6 in St Mary's
4.0 of 5 bubbles 348 reviews
0.2 mi away
Schooners Hotel
Schooners Hotel
#1 of 2 in Hugh Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
0.6 mi away
Colossus
Colossus
#8 of 36 in St Mary's
5.0 of 5 bubbles 104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Star Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Star Castle

Property: Star Castle
Address: The Garrison, TR21 0JA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isles of Scilly > St Mary's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in St Mary's
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Star Castle 4*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A family run hotel located on the Garrison a short walk from the centre of St Mary’s and the harbour, commanding breathtaking views of the stunning Archipelago. Our focus is to provide exceptional customer service to all our guests, award winning gourmet food with a choice of two award winning restaurants featuring the world’s best fresh lobster and crab caught by the proprietor Mr Robert Francis aboard ‘Gallos’ the hotel’s own fishing boat.A 38 bedroom hotel boasting traditional sixteenth century castle accommodation and spacious contemporary suites within 4 acres of secluded gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Star Castle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Star Castle Hotel St Mary`s
Star Castle St Marys
Star Castle Hotel St Marys
Star Castle Isles Of Scilly, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing