We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place”
Review of Star Castle

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Star Castle
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in St Mary's
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 April 2014

After spending a week at the campsite nearby, we ended our trip with a night at the Star Castle Hotel, and could not have been more impressed. The room was beautiful, the staff were very friendly and made sure all our needs were catered to. They made sure our bags were taken to the Scillonian for our departure the next day, and were very helpful in recommending places to go that we had not yet seen on the Islands. In addition, the restaurant served some of the best food we've ever had. Every aspect of the place was impressive.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Josie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (464)
There are newer reviews for Star Castle
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

238 - 244 of 464 reviews

Reviewed 7 April 2014 via mobile

2nd time staying here. Have been in the garden rooms and this time in the castle. Both were very nicely appointed and comfortable. Best part was the food!! Every dish was a delight. Not had a bad meal there. And after a trip to the dungeon bar is well worth it. All the staff without exception were friendly and welcoming. Only negative which is personal preference pillows were to soft. can't wait to stay again.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
1  Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2014

We really enjoyed the New Year package. The room was great, with a big comfortable bed and the food throughout our break was of excellent quality and presentation. We also met some very interesting people over the few days spent together here. It is something we would definately do again in the future.

Room Tip: We like the rooms in the castle best, but have happily stayed in the garden rooms in the past
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank TonyR50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2014

I have stayed at the Star Castle Hotel three times now and I've always had a fantastic experience. I have quite severe food allergies and it is, by far, the best place I've ever stayed in that respect. The food is outstanding and the staff are very helpful. The islands are absolutely beautiful and there are good views from many of the rooms. The rooms are very comfortable and the hotel is a very warm, welcoming place. I would thoroughly recommend it!

Room Tip: The castle rooms are characterful and cosy.
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Charlotte G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2014

We chose the Star Castle as the Venue for our wedding in August 2013. Our wedding coordinator was Zoe who was absolutely amazing. She helped us plan our day to perfection and even came to help me with my wedding dress on the morning and took some lovely photos for us in our lunch break before we went for our blessing at the Old Town Church. Zoe and the staff catered for all our needs. The room was luxurious and the food outstanding. Sandra Gibson was our photographer for the wedding who took some great photos of us in and around the castle and at Old Town Church. Andy Finch took us to the Old Town Church on a beautifully decorated carriage pulled by the Beautiful Izzy the Shire Horse.

Room Tip: If you want amazing views choose a sea view garden room
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kim E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2013

We have stayed here on numerous occasions and as usual we cannot fault anything.
We stayed in our usual room which is always clean, comfortable and quiet.
All the staff without exception are delightful and always there to help with any queries etc.
The quality and presentation of the food served in the restaurant is consistently excellent.
Another memorable few days and we look forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SukySomerset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2013

From getting picked up at the airfield in the complementary taxi I knew I was in for a treat. As you drive up through the gate in the wall and pull up in front of the castle and walk through the thick walls of the castle the hotel feels special. I had a room up on the top floor, super comfy bed and a view through small windows of the town.
The bathroom was a bit chilly but that is the only negative.
Fantastic cooked to order breakfast as well. Would like to come back again for longer in season.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tonyotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Mary's
0.4 mi away
St. Mary's Hall Hotel
St. Mary's Hall Hotel
#1 of 6 in St Mary's
405 reviews
3.6 mi away
Karma St. Martin's
Karma St. Martin's
#1 of 1 in St Martin's
342 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tregarthen's Hotel
Tregarthen's Hotel
#2 of 2 in Hugh Town
307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Atlantic Inn
Atlantic Inn
#5 of 6 in St Mary's
398 reviews
0.2 mi away
Schooners Hotel
Schooners Hotel
#1 of 2 in Hugh Town
188 reviews
0.6 mi away
Colossus
Colossus
#13 of 35 in St Mary's
108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Star Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Star Castle

Address: The Garrison, TR21 0JA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isles of Scilly > St Mary's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in St Mary's
Price Range: £170 - £326 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Star Castle 4*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A family run hotel located on the Garrison a short walk from the centre of St Mary’s and the harbour, commanding breathtaking views of the stunning Archipelago. Our focus is to provide exceptional customer service to all our guests, award winning gourmet food with a choice of two award winning restaurants featuring the world’s best fresh lobster and crab caught by the proprietor Mr Robert Francis aboard ‘Gallos’ the hotel’s own fishing boat.A 38 bedroom hotel boasting traditional sixteenth century castle accommodation and spacious contemporary suites within 4 acres of secluded gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Star Castle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Star Castle Hotel St Mary`s
Star Castle St Marys
Star Castle Hotel St Marys
Star Castle Isles Of Scilly, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing