We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The perfect escape”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in St Mary's
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Carnwethers Country House Holiday Apartments
Falmouth
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“The perfect escape”
Reviewed 16 October 2013

Just back from a writing life residential course here, run by Paul Dodgson. A perfect balance of walking, talking, writing and excellent food. The place is gorgeous and a few minutes walk from a beautiful beach where I saw seals every day and even braved an invigorating swim with them one sunny afternoon. The views are stunning and a cliff path from the beach takes you round the island. Louise is amazing and her passion for food was more than appreciated each evening with delicious three course creative cuisine, mostly organic and sourced locally apart from the coconut banana Tia Maria raw chocolate pudding, which is to die for. Accomodation is lovely, beds big and comfy, location wonderful....I couldn't recommend the whole experience more.

Room Tip: All self catering rooms I saw looked great - poolside, secret garden and dove lawn, the latter the m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MarilynFalmouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    28
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
11
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2013 via mobile

What a place, and what an owner! Beautiful accommodation, a real home away. Bright, clean and spacious with wonderful gardens. Louise so kind and thoughtful. Travel arrangements smooth and easy. So quiet and peaceful with beautiful walks on the doorstep. Paradise!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BristolCaroline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 August 2013

This most the most perfect place to stay and chill. We stayed in Dove Lawn which was really lovely with the most comfortable beds. The pool and pool area were superb, very tropical. We loved all the really tame birds greeting us every morning. The garden at Dove Lawn was much bigger than expected and an absolute delight. We hired a buggy for the week and Louise was more than helpful with accommodating this. There is plenty to do on the islands and we had a brilliant time snorkeling with the seals on St Martins. The riding stables was very well organised and the horses were excellent. The best Tea Rooms ever are a just a short walk from Carnwethers. Perfect!! Thanks Louise for the whole magical experience.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank caroline g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2013

What a wonderful place set close to possibly the best beach on St Marys. We stayed in the Poolside and it could not have been more perfect. The pool table in the games room is also one of the best you will find then there was croquet, table tennis and a host of games to play when we had some spare time. Louis was a generous and welcoming host and helped make it a fun packed week. Just perfect for a week of relaxation.

Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 July 2013

Wonderful place to stay. The room was clean, airy and comfortable and should you be staying at the house itself (as we were) I can recommend the full English Breakfast. The facilities are comprehensive, with a well stocked games room, a pool, a Sauna and a Croquet lawn - if you can't remember the rules make them up as you go along!

Louise (the owner) was very helpful in all respects.

If you like riding there is a stable with horses for hire just five minutes walk away.

If you don't mind walking, the short-cut route from Pelistry to Hughtown is delightful, if a little rugged in places. Otherwise there is a bus that runs every hour, but be warned - the timetable should be considered a contender for "Fable of the Year". The fare is a flat £2 one way. If there are four or more of you I would suggest getting a taxi, which are quite cheap compared to mainland prices.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 47TerenceP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penzance, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 July 2013

What a holiday! We book in at Carnwethers as the amenities seemed to match our needs perfectly. These include

Great Games room (with pool, table tennis, 100s of books and tonnes of boeard games/videos etc)
Amazing swimming pool
Sauna
Croquet lawn
BBQ

All of which we used loads.

The property itself (Dove Lawn Cottage) provided perfect space for two couples with 3 kids between us. Our inlaws stayed in the house as B&B guested and loved it also. Louise is a little angel, and she couldn't do enough for us, and even provided my wife with a bottle of bubbly for her birthday.

We loved the island, and one of our only initial concerns were that we were at the wrong end, but this isn't so. There is plenty to do for the kids nearby (even an indoor pool 5 mins walk away for the one rainy day we had). The beach is ten mins with two buggies, and is stunning, and the German bakery called us for 4 visits! We also had frequent walks into town, which was only 40 mins, again with the kids in tow (all under 4).

Also, two of us dads sneaked out for a game of golf, and this is a highlight. The course is lovely, with amazing views, and the food there was once again excellent.

All in all a perfect holiday, with plenty for kids and adults (we loved the games room in the evening for pool tournaments). And Louise is the perfect host. We are already making plans to return to Carnwethers.

Thanks Louise!

Room Tip: Dove Lawn is the best for people with kids, as the front door is straight out into the lawn, and it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ollie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
63LouiseG, Manager at Carnwethers Country House Holiday Apartments, responded to this review, 30 November 2013
Thank you for the lovely review. One of the best things about running Carnwethers is the personal satisfaction of being able to provide our guests with the basis for a great holiday and getting to meet wonderful people. Your positive review is very affirming and warmly appreciated!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2013

We stayed in the "Secret Garden". The accommodation was excellent and the privacy of Carnweathers was a real aid to relaxation. The most noise came from the birds and the breeze.

The bird population is almost tame, often looking into the apartment to see what we were doing! Blackbirds, Robins, Thrushes, Sparrows, Starlings and the odd Dove from next door. Better watching than day-time TV.

Its position on St Marys means that some of the quieter coastal walks are only a few hundred yards away, while the longer ones are beautiful continuations. If a quick return from the far-side (Hugh Town) of the Island is needed after a day's walking, the Island bus stops at the end of the access lane.

Overall impression as first time visitors is one of friendliness, politeness and the sheer beauty of the islands: St Agnes is our favourite and Troytown Farm has the best ice cream in the UK !!


Special thanks to Louise for the warm welcome.

L&A May 2013

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PageX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Mary's
2.8 mi away
Karma St. Martin's
Karma St. Martin's
#1 of 1 in St Martin's
269 reviews
1.4 mi away
St. Mary's Hall Hotel
St. Mary's Hall Hotel
#1 of 6 in St Mary's
382 reviews
1.6 mi away
Tregarthen's Hotel
Tregarthen's Hotel
#2 of 2 in Hugh Town
281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Star Castle
Star Castle
#2 of 6 in St Mary's
444 reviews
1.6 mi away
Atlantic Hotel
Atlantic Hotel
#4 of 6 in St Mary's
358 reviews
1.6 mi away
Schooners Hotel
Schooners Hotel
#1 of 2 in Hugh Town
180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carnwethers Country House Holiday Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carnwethers Country House Holiday Apartments

Property: Carnwethers Country House Holiday Apartments
Address: Pelistry Bay, TR21 0NX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isles of Scilly > St Mary's
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Speciality Lodging in St Mary's
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Carnwethers Country House Holiday Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Four star accommodation in award winning gardens set above stunning Pelistry Bay. Minutes from coastal path network, riding school and beaches. Short bus ride or 30 minute walk into Hugh Town and harbour, we have a gold award for Green Tourism. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Carnwethers Country House Holiday Apartments Isles Of Scilly, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing