We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Return visit”
Review of Bell Rock Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in St Mary's
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Bell Rock Hotel
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in St Mary's
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 May 2014

Just returned home from a second visit to Bell Rock. Friendly welcome both from owners, managers and staff generally. Comfortable room facing front of hotel - nice superior size comfortable bed. Nice food, adequate choice. Good amenities in hotel - well placed location wise for local beaches, walks and short distance to quay. Hotel has had smart make over since our previous visit two years ago

Room Tip: Rooms at front of hotel have nice sea view but face road, pick up some outside noise but of minor co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MALCOLM R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (299)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

139 - 145 of 299 reviews

Reviewed 10 April 2014

Nice hotel, well situated with friendly helpful staff. Large cooked breakfast provided made with local produce. Had a wheat free bread available and well done for keeping marmite on the breakfast buffet.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Robin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2014

Yet another excellent visit to the Bell Rock Hotel.
Conveniently situated close to beaches, shops and a short walk to the quay, it is a first class hotel with first class staff.
The proprietors and Daniel, the hotel manager, have thought of everything from plug sockets to mending kits and to robes for wearing to the lovely private swimming pool.
The rooms are very clean and comfortable and serviced daily by Shirley, with her eye for detail, and the rest of the housekeeping staff.
Head waiter Adrian ensures that the service in the dining room is speedy and efficient and he is also extremely friendly and helpful.
All the staff are so amiable and happy to help with anything you may need. Nothing is ever too much trouble.
The meals are superb and the menu is varied and is changed daily, thanks to the excellent chefs.
The Bell Rock Hotel really goes the extra mile to give you a wonderful holiday.
We look forward to returning…………

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lorraine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2013

This was my third stay at the Bell Rock. (I don't usually return to the same place for holidays, but why change what suits) It certainly did not disappoint. It is looking very smart after a bit of a "make over" during the winter and is just as welcoming and comfortable. As usual our welcome was warm and friendly and our rooms spotless, well equipped and comfortable. We were delayed by the weather but Daniel and staff sorted out any problems for us but it did mean our trip was shortened by one day so we will add that onto next year's holiday! The Bell Rock's position is unsurpassed as 2 beaches,shops and quay are within easy walking distance.
Once again the food was excellent with a great choice for breakfast and dinner. Every member of staff really seems to enjoy their job and go the extra 'mile' for guests. Thank you all. See you next year!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tricia049
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2013

We have just had 7 nights at the Bell Rock as part of an organised birdwatching group. Our room was of a good size, very quiet, with two small wardrobes and plenty of hangers. The usual TV, coffee, tea, biscuits, hairdryer etc. The bathroom was also of a good size, with the shower over the bath, toiletries, heated towel rail. Not much shelf space for your own toiletries but there was plenty of room for them on the dresser in the bedroom. Everything was spotless.
At breakfast the usual buffet choice: cereal, fruit juice, fruit salad, yogurts, plus a very good choice of cooked food or croissants. Dinner was an excellent 3 course meal with good choices (including a vegetarian) and was very well cooked and served by the very pleasant dining room staff.
There is a lounge bar with comfortable seating.
There is a small indoor swimming pool but we didn't use it.
All in all, very good value, and this hotel is certainly better than its 2 star rating.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Diana089
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2013

A wonderful find - food was superb. Staff and owners were very friendly and helpful.
Room was very comfortable and well equipped - were impressed by the daily room service and high standard of cleanliness throughout. Being in the centre of Hugh Town the location was ideal for the harbour and local shops etc. Once again we found the Isles of Scilly a perfect place to relax.

Room Tip: We found being at the front on the 1st floor very convenient.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dianarundle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2013

I stayed at the Bell Rock for a few nights in early October 2013. It is ideally located in Hugh Town for easy access with most shops, cafe's and pubs nearby. The quay is only a few minutes walk away, which I found really convenient as I traveled to most of the other islands during my stay. The room was very pleasant, everything worked perfectly and it was very clean. The staff were very friendly and helpful in all respects. I only had dinner in the restaurant once, but the standard was very good and from overhearing conversations I think guests were generally impressed. I would certainly hope to stay at the Bell Rock again should I return next year. The Scilly Isles generally are a beautiful place and well worth visiting if you haven't been yet.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Tom H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Mary's
0.4 mi away
Star Castle
Star Castle
#2 of 6 in St Mary's
472 reviews
0.2 mi away
Atlantic Inn
Atlantic Inn
#4 of 6 in St Mary's
410 reviews
0.3 mi away
Tregarthen's Hotel
Tregarthen's Hotel
#2 of 2 in Hugh Town
315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
St. Mary's Hall Hotel
St. Mary's Hall Hotel
#1 of 6 in St Mary's
412 reviews
3.6 mi away
Karma St. Martin's
Karma St. Martin's
#1 of 1 in St Martin's
385 reviews
0.2 mi away
Colossus
Colossus
#7 of 35 in St Mary's
119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bell Rock Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bell Rock Hotel

Address: Hugh Town Church Street | Hugh Town, TR21 0JT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isles of Scilly > St Mary's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in St Mary's
Price Range: £62 - £92 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Bell Rock Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bell Rock Hotel has been welcoming guests for over 100 years - we look forward to your visit. We offer friendly, informal, attentive service, by caring staff. We are ideally situated in a level position, midway between Town Beach to the front and Porthcressa Bay at the rear. Both beaches are about 100 yards away! Our location is very convenient, quiet and central. Shops, entertainment and the museum are close by. The harbour is less than 10 minutes walk, with boats to Tresco, Bryher, St Agnes and St Martins daily in the season (subject to weather and tides). Our friendly staff will do everything possible to ensure your stay with us is relaxing and enjoyable. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hotel Bell Rock
Bell Rock Hotel Isles Of Scilly, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing