We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The White House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Herm
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 June 2014

My wife and I have returned this morning from a 2 night stay at the White House , staying in one of the cottage rooms.
Everything about the Hotel and the Island is just great.
We ate in the Conservatory and the Ship where the food was first class and reasonably priced.
The the room was spacious and comfortable, but best of all is the peace and tranquility of
The room , the Hotel and it's gardens and the whole Island itself.
We actually live in a North Yorkshire village so we know what quite us.
Herm island is just about one of the best places to visit for a holiday , especially
When you have 2 dogs who were well received by everyone they encountered.
We will be back as soon as possible.

Thanks again to everyone on the Island.

Karen and Chris Jones - South Milford, North Yorkshire.

Room Tip: Ask for a cottage room and check parking arrangements on Gurnsey before you leave home.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HermIsland, Director of Hospitality at The White House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2014

Dear Chris J,

We're delighted to hear that you enjoyed your recent visit to the White House Hotel, and that your dogs were comfortable in the room with you.

The hotel team work exceptionally hard to create a great atmosphere through service delivery and excellent food, so are delighted to hear such positive feedback.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best regards


Jonathan Watson
Director of Hospitality
Herm Island Ltd.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (298)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

142 - 148 of 298 reviews

Reviewed 15 June 2014

Lovely room and fabulous breakfast - the staff couldnt do enough - it was perfect! I had 2 friends with me from Shropshire - we came for the Beer Festival and stayed over - lovely and relaxing the weather the 2nd day was glorious so we went around the island before the boat back. Paradise Island!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank aymestrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HermIsland, Director of Hospitality at The White House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2014

Dear Sarah Griffith,

Very many thanks for your review from your recent stay at the White House Hotel. It's great to hear that you and your friends enjoyed the visit, and that you also were able to sample the delights at the beer festival!

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best wishes




Jonathan Watson
Director of Hospitality
Herm Island Ltd.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014

We stayed for 2 nights in a cottage room with an en suite. The cottage room was quiet, warm and cosy with a huge comfortable bed and good quality bed linen. The cottage room is part of what was once a cottage but is now attached at one end of the hotel making the rest of the amenities accessible. The staff were very helpful and service was excellent. We ate in the various restaurants and the food was delicious especially the calamari in the Mermaid Tavern where we got to meet a lot of the staff who work there, all of which were friendly and very proud of the hotel and island. The hotel was busy while we were there but you were made to feel like you were a guest and that you mattered rather than a number, staff were very attentive without being in your face, always professional and friendly.The hotel has fantastic views across to Guernsey and when the tide is out only a minutes walk to a sandy flat beach with rock pools and sheltered areas for exploring and relaxing. The gardens around the hotel are well maintained and have some unique flora and fauna, some of which you can see on one of the walks around the island. We took a short walk over to shell beach and could see why it was so popular with families and those staying on Guernsey. The pale gold sand, clear aqua blue sea reminded us of the Caribbean! If you wanted you could have stayed out all day exploring the island or relaxing at the beach. Our teenage son wanted to go on the rib and kayak adventure but unfortunately didn't have time but we were told it was good fun and one way of experiencing the sea and cliffs around Herm.

Room Tip: The cottage room was quiet and comfy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Davies_S_66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HermIsland, Director of Hospitality at The White House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 June 2014

Dear Davies_S_66,

We're delighted to learn that you enjoyed your visit to Herm Island, and your stay at the White House Hotel. The hotel team are very keen to offer excellent service, whilst not being too attentive that it becomes too much. It is good to hear that this comes across to our guests.

Each of the restaurants and bars also are committed to offering good quality and great service, and so it's good to understand that you found this at the restaurants on the Island. I too love the calamari in the Mermaid!

Hopefully your son will get to travel on the Island rib voyage next time you stay - if you ask the team at reception, they'll see what they can organise for you!

We look forward to welcoming you back to Herm soon.

Best wishes


Jonathan Watson
Director of Hospitality
Herm Island Ltd.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014

Peacefull, tranquil, 'back in time' customer and quality of service. If this is what your after in a short or medium term break then your unlikely to find better.

The Whitehouse Hotel, Herm Island is all of the above and more. It's not cheap but 70% of everyone who goes there have been there before. There aren't many holiday experiences that boast such customer loyalty.
The reasons will surprise you but also testimony to the positive experience you'll have. There are no TV's, or phones in the hotel, no cars or bicycles on the island but the Open fires, cosy lounges, incredible restaurant menu, extensive wine list, views back to Guernsey and Jethou and the incredible sunsets go just a part way to explain why you leave saddened and planning your next visit. Free WiFi throughout the hotel including the two pubs keeps you in touch with 'the world' while your there if you feel the need.

Arriving at one of Herms two habours, the hotel porter will meet you, greet you and load your luggage onto the back of a tractor, the next time you see it, it will be in Your room.expect the same on your return home, your luggage will be taken from your room, taken to the quayside and placed on board the ferry for you.

Plan your journey via a flight into Guernsey. A short 20 minute taxi from the airport (£15) will deliver you to St. Peter's Port and the 20 minute ferry to Herm. For timetable and fares see the Trident Ferries web site.

As myself and my wife viewed just one of the sandy bays on Herm we were saddened that we had not visited Herm when the kids were small. The island is so safe. Safe sandy beaches, rocks to climb, rock pools, fishing, secluded and picturesque walks. A couple of pubs, self catering apartments, camping or the Whitehouse Hotel. Something for everyone.

If you decide to stay in the hotel, there's also an outside heated swimming pool and tennis court available to you. The restaurant menu is simply amongst the best that you will find anywhere on the mainland. The restaurant is a formal affair, jacket and tie for the men is the expected norm.

So, what's the downs side? If Butlins or Blackpool is where your at, Herm is not for you. No burgers, candy floss or amusement arcades, you make your own entertainment. Couples and families can be found most times of the day just chilling, reading or playing board game. The rest are walking the island or chilling on the white sand beaches.

If you thinking of visiting for the day, save it for a day when the weather is fine. Herm is best appreciated by those that enjoy stunning views, unusual fawn and flora and sea birds. You can walk around the island in around half a day, plan to stay a while on one of the superb beaches where the water is a Mediterranean Turqoise when the sun is shining.

Herm is must day trip from Guernsey but if you have a few days, stay at the Whitehouse, relax, unwind and read that book you've had a job starting. When you've done that, have a beer, have a snooze find a new walk and do it all again. Want to mix it up? There are boat trips around Sark, Herm and Guernsey.

Unsure? Just do it, 70% say your unlikely to be disappointed......

Room Tip: Ask for a balcony overlooking Guernsey. Also check when they are doing deals. We opted for the Blueb...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ange1o-Custode
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HermIsland, Director of Hospitality at The White House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 June 2014

Dear Ange1o-Custode,

Very many thanks for reviewing your recent stay at the White House Hotel. We're delighted that you enjoyed your stay on Herm, and thoroughly enjoyed the service, ambiance and cuisine at the White House Hotel.

Many guests find the relaxing nature of the Island in general a draw, particularly when they find the Hotel to be just what they are looking for too. It's great to hear that this was ideal for you, and we very much hope that you will visit us again soon.

Best wishes



Jonathan Watson
Director of Hospitality
Herm Island Ltd.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014

The one thing that we regret the most is the fact that we could only stay for 2 nights at the White House Hotel, but we wanted to get a feel for each of the Channel Islands for possible future trips, so we spent 2 days on Herm, 2 days on Alderney (another wonderful place!), 2 days on Guernsey and 2 days on Jersey which included a lot of flying, but the flights are cheaper than the ferries.

For new Channel Island tourists I recommend to book your hotel/B & B at least 4 or 5 months in advance, otherwise there is not much left to choose from.
We didn't get all hotels that we wanted for the other islands, but we were lucky to get the Crow's Nest suite at the White House Hotel when we booked all accommodations in mid February.

The Trident ferry from Guernsey to Herm (included in the Crow's Nest package) takes 20 minutes only, but once you step from the ferry, you seem to be in a totally different world.
No cars, no airport, we didn't even hear a single cell phone ringing in 48 hours :).
I absolutely loved that!!!

From Rosaire Steps where the ferry left us with our luggage (a nice employee from the White House Hotel brought it via ATV up to the hotel and then to our rooms), we walked uphill until we reached a gate which is for the White House Hotel guests only.
From there the path lead us through some trees and high bushes. We discovered another path on the right which was called "Princess Radziwill's Path" (Lee Radziwill was Jackie Onassis' sister), and a few hundred yards later there were chaise lounges to our right and to our left with some guests dozing in the sun.
We continued walking past the swimming pool and went inside the hotel, received our key and welcome wishes and then walked up two flights of stairs (the second staircase was already inside our suite). There we entered a very spacious bedroom with the most beautiful view of the sea surrounding Herm Island.

The master bedroom had a real kingsize bed (this was the second time on the Channel Islands that we had a kingsize bed, the other one was at the La Barbarie Hotel on Guernsey) which is very hard to get in England (with the exception of London, of course) and on the islands as well. British people are shorter and slimmer than most Americans and obviously are no fitful sleepers either :).
In the second room there was a small bed with two more chairs and a table plus plenty of closet space.
There was a welcome gift on the bedroom table, fudge and shortbread cookies. Good stuff!!!
Another nice feature was the built-in wooden shutters in all windows. They made the rooms dark enough to sleep a little longer in the morning (after all it's getting light before 5 a.m. in May).

In mid May we still were able to get the rooms cool just by airing out in the morning and at night. But I could imagine that guests need a. c. in the summer months when it's not cooling down much over night.

What we enjoyed were the gorgeous pheasants, their feathers were red & gold and once in a while you could hear them call for their mate.
At night we left the balcony doors open (this was mid May 2014 and warm enough) and fell asleep to the sound of the waves rolling onto the beach.

The only thing that I disliked was the shower inside the bathtub. It was too high to step easily in and out of the shower. A walk-in shower would have made the Crow's Nest experience perfect, but I still give it 5 stars. Just a suggestion for future renovations. Remove that bathtub or add a walk-in shower. There's space enough for both.

On the Crow's Nest balcony was another set of chairs and a table. Don't forget to bring your camera with a good zoom, the view from the hotel room is breath-taking and if you are as lucky as we've been, you get some great close-ups from the pheasants which seem to gather under the room in the garden. Lovely creatures :).

Included in the room price was breakfast and dinner. You are expected to wear decent trousers (no blue jeans), decent shoes (no sneakers), a button down shirt (no T-shirts) and a tie.
Dinner was a real fancy affair, but we enjoyed it nevertheless.
The dining room/breakfast room faces the sea and the sunset which can be quite blinding at 7 p.m. when dinner starts. So just ask one of the 5 very kind and helpful waiters/waitresses to close the curtain. After 8 p.m. it's no longer blinding and the view is really out of this world. We haven't seen such blue water in ages!
Every night the hotel offers a different 3 course menu...the desserts were scrumptious! Actually each course was very good (nouvelle cuisine aka tiny portions, but the 2nd course was usually filling).

After dinner we went for a walk. It was 8:40 p.m. (luckily we ran into some more pheasants...very interesting birds...I wonder who brought them to the island and hope the book will provide more information), we returned at 9:20 p.m. and it was still not completely dark outside.
Back in the hotel we discovered a fireside in the lounge and another one burning next to the staircase leading up to the 2nd floor (which is the 1st floor in Europe).

The reason why we came to Herm was a British CFF movie for kids that was filmed on Herm in the summer of 1966 ("The Ghost of Monk's Island"). I watched it on German TV when I was a child.
One of the former child actors told me that the entire film crew stayed at the White House Hotel. He also disclosed the filming locations. So we went to the locations and took lots of pics. Nothing has changed since 1966. Thank God for that!

In the souvenir store close-by where they sell postcards, SPF products, useful refrigerator magnets with puffins and lots of different blouses & T-shirts you can buy a book called "Herm: Our Island Home" by Jenny Wood. The author tells the story of the past 60+ years on Herm and the book contains dozens of pics.
Unfortunately Jenny Wood managed somehow not to mention the filming of "The Ghost of Monk's Island" which would have been quite fascinating for me to read. I think it would have made a very engaging extra chapter...

Shell Beach and Belvoir Beach are particularly beautiful and so is the coastal path around the island. If you are lucky you might run into more relatives of the hotel pheasants.
Unfortunately the path that leads to the old copper mine (it was used in the CFF film for the underground passage by the "monk") in the southeast corner of the island not far from Rosaire Steps, is very hard to walk, lots of uphill and downhill plus the steps are very high.
But instead we found the well-hidden monk tower from the CFF movie and also noticed that one part of Herm is called Monku (maybe Jenny Wood's autobiography will disclose more).

We both hope to come back one day. It was a wonderful and relaxing experience. Highly recommended and no complaints at all other than the bathtub height. Even the night stand lamps were bright enough for reading and the mattress was great, not too firm, not too soft.

Room Tip: We highly recommend the Crow's Nest suite in the roof. It has a balcony, a breath-taking view an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Chrissie777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HermIsland, Director of Hospitality at The White House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2014

Dear Chrissie777,

Thank you so much for sharing the experience of your visit to Herm Island staying at the White House Hotel. The entire team are delighted that you enjoyed your visit, and that you were able to discover the setting for the film "The Ghost of Monk's Island".

It would be an absolute pleasure to welcome you both back to Herm if you are travelling through the Islands again.

Best wishes



Jonathan Watson
Director of Hospitality
Herm Island Ltd.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2014

We love this hotel and feel like we own the island when we are here as there are so few people about. Staff can't do enough and the food is fab. The views from the walks on the island are to die for and the sea is so blue even when the weather is dull. We will return again and again for the peace, tranquility and back to nature feeling. Today we saw the swallows arrive fab!!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ramblerWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HermIsland, Director of Hospitality at The White House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 May 2014

Dear ramblerWales,

Thank you so much for your review on Tripadvisor for the White House Hotel. It was wonderful to hear that you had enjoyed your visit to the Hotel, and to the Island. The Hotel team were delighted to hear that you enjoyed the food and the service, both of which they work so hard to achieve.

The swallows are now settled in very much, and seem to enjoy dive bombing anyone that walks down the spine road from the Manor Village!

We very much look forward to welcoming you back to Herm.

With best wishes


Jonathan Watson
Director of Hospitality
Herm Island Ltd.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2014

Everything was perfect. The Staff were so helpful, the White House Conservatory Restaurant service & food was excellent.

A walk around the Island is a pleasure, there is so much to see. Wonderful views of other Islands. Beautiful, unspoilt beaches, wild flowers & birdsong everywhere.

Room Tip: All rooms are very comfortable, with white bed linen & large comfortable beds. Rooms with a sea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pamela P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HermIsland, Director of Hospitality at The White House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 May 2014

Dear Pamela P,

It's fantastic to hear that you had such a wonderful two week holiday on Herm, it was lovely to see you both again. We're very much looking forward to welcoming you back to Herm next year, where I'm sure that not a great deal will have changed!

With best wishes


Jonathan Watson
Director of Hospitality
Herm Island Ltd.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Herm
5.6 mi away
La Barbarie Hotel
La Barbarie Hotel
#1 of 9 in St Martins
631 reviews
4.1 mi away
Best Western Hotel De Havelet
Best Western Hotel De Havelet
#1 of 19 in St Peter Port
879 reviews
5.3 mi away
Hotel Bella Luce
Hotel Bella Luce
#2 of 9 in St Martins
572 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
The Farmhouse Hotel
The Farmhouse Hotel
#1 of 2 in Saint Saviour
487 reviews
4.1 mi away
The Duke of Richmond Hotel
The Duke of Richmond Hotel
#3 of 19 in St Peter Port
888 reviews
4.5 mi away
Fermain Valley Hotel
Fermain Valley Hotel
#6 of 19 in St Peter Port
754 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The White House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The White House Hotel

Address: GY1 3HR
Region: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Guernsey > Herm
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Herm
Price Range: £85 - £130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The White House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As the gentle chugging of a tractor heralds the arrival of your luggage, you know The White House Hotel is special. After all, how many hotels can boast a Britain in Bloom Gold Award-winning island as their garden, a harbour-side setting and such spectacular sea views? Tradition is cherished at this unique hotel to which many families have been coming for three generations. You'll find a variety of delightful bedrooms, where you won't find televisions, clocks or telephones, as somehow they don't seem appropriate on Herm. You will find world class cuisine in the 2 rosette Conservatory Restaurant, and exceptional service from our friendly team. The Four Star White House Hotel was the first business in the Channel Islands to achieve WorldHost Customer service status in 2012. All of the Hotel bedrooms and bathrooms have been upgraded over the past couple of years ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The White House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The White House Hotel Herm, Channel Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing