We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wedding in sunny Herm”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The White House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Herm
Certificate of Excellence
Guernsey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wedding in sunny Herm”
Reviewed 14 July 2014

The sun shone and made the perfect backdrop for a small and intimate very special wedding in the chapel at the top of the hill. The hotel hosted the reception, with drinks out on the lawn, dinner and dancing in their marquee and fireworks on the beach at the end of the night. A very special day and the location was just perfect.

If you are doing an event at the White House definitely check the sound system as it seemed to be very ropey and the temperamental microphone was a real shame for the speeches. Other than that the food was good and the staff helpful, especially Sean who oversaw everything and even gave us a lift up the hill in the golf buggy when alcohol consumption meant it was a preferable to wobbling-walking.

We stayed in a cottage by the Mermaid which was very nice - room 29. Really good size room and great big bed, with an additional room with 2 twin beds. The decor is not exciting in any way (magnolia and beige) but it is clean, pleasant and there is nothing to fault in any way. Nice and quiet and just next to the gift shop so you can pop in and pick up a pair of flip-flops from their amazing selection .

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Genevieve L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HermIsland, Director of Hospitality at The White House Hotel, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Dear Genevieve L,

Many thanks for your review of the White House Hotel - it's great to hear that you enjoyed your visit whilst attending a wedding held in St Tugual's chapel with the reception in the hotel marquee.

It is wonderful to hear that you enjoyed the food and service, although it is a shame that the sound equipment provided by the DJ was ineffective for the speeches. It is for this reason that we do suggest using a dedicated PA system for this purpose.

Thank you for your positive comments of the hotel bedrooms. We do prefer natural and neutral colours for decor, as it allows for the maximum relaxation whilst on the Island, leaving the natural beauty of the Island as a whole to speak for itself.

We very much look forward to welcoming you both back ashore soon.

Best wishes


Jonathan Watson
Director of Hospitality
Herm Island.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

272 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    179
    57
    20
    12
    4
See reviews for
78
123
12
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Guernsey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014

recently stayed at the white house with my wife and kids, great stay excellent service and brilliant dutch head receptionist/ assistant manager rooms very comfortable, dinner choice very good and location absolutely brilliant

Room Tip: room 18 has beautiful views
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank managerlechene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HermIsland, Director of Hospitality at The White House Hotel, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Dear managerlechene,

Very many thanks for your review - we're delighted that you enjoyed your recent visit to the White House Hotel with your family.

It was kind of you to mention Linda in particular who is our Dutch operations manager in the Hotel, and puts a great deal of effort into ensuring that our guests have a great time.

We very much look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best regards


Jonathan Watson
Director of Hospitality
Herm Island.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014

Herm is the only place I know where I could happily spend a whole holiday doing nothing. The island is enchanting, no cars, no televisions, no clocks - just peace and quiet.

The only hotel on the island is the White House, although there are self catering cottages, log cabins and tents if you prefer that. We chose the hotel for our third visit to Herm, having stayed here before, as well as in a self-catering cottage.

We visited in the last week in June as we wanted to see the annual celebrity cricket match, which is the only match played on the island. Guests included Chris Tarrant, Lorraine Chase, Toyah Willcox, a host of Eastenders actors, and my teenage guitar hero Robert Fripp.

Because this was a busy week, we took the only room available, room 45, which wouldn't have been our first choice, but was excellent all the same. The room looked out over the harbour, and on to Guernsey, and had a small Julienne balcony, ideal for the warm weather.

The room was spotlessly clean, as was the rest of the hotel. Breakfasts were excellent, although service was a little slow at times. This didn't seem to matter as the pace of life on the island is very slow anyway. There was no need to rush.

We didn't have evening meal at the hotel as we don't go for formal dining, and service wasn't until 7:00 pm, which is far too late for us.

Our five night stay flew by, despite the lack of television and any form of entertainment. That is the magic of Herm, it forces you to slow down your pace and relax.

We have already planned to return in 2015, and are considering another few days there later in the year.

Room Tip: Choose a seaward facing room with a full balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AlanRowley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HermIsland, Director of Hospitality at The White House Hotel, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Dear Alan R,

Thank you very much for your kind words regarding your most recent stay at the White House Hotel - we're delighted to hear that you enjoyed your visit once again.

Herm really does offer the change in pace, so that guests can slow to an almost standstill, away from their busy lives. It's great to hear that Herm works it's magic on you during your visits, and that we may have the opportunity of welcoming you again this year.

Best regards



Jonathan Watson
Director of Hospitality
Herm Island Ltd
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Beautiful hotel, friendly staff, gorgeous scenery, excellent food. We stayed in the Crows Nest which has to have one of the best room views anywhere. And the occasional bustle down in the harbour to entertain you as you sip your beverages sitting on the balcony. No TVs, no clocks, no phones but fully functioning internet if you do want to stay in touch. Our second visit but not our last!

Room Tip: West facing with a balcony is best if you can manage the stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marilyn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HermIsland, Director of Hospitality at The White House Hotel, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Dear Marilyn W,

Thank you very much for your positive review of your recent stay at the White House Hotel.

We're delighted that you enjoyed your visit, and the "unconnected" nature of the Island with regard to TV's and phones. We love to create an ambiance of peace and tranquility, and are delighted that you enjoyed this on your second visit.

Here's to the third visit!

Best wishes




Jonathan Watson
Director of Hospitality
Herm Island Ltd.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Peter Port, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2014 via mobile

The White House Hotel is a wonderful place to stay to relax. Brilliant food friendly staff and an island to match anywhere in the world. From the moment you arrive it is five star service wherever you choose within the hotel restaurants or bars, nothing is too much trouble. I would recommend this as one of the top 10 places to stay and visit. The island has beaches that are the most beautiful in the world and the peacefulness of the island is something to treasure. The quality of the food compares to the best restaurants offering fresh local seafood that is a must to try as they offer many styles of choice that requires a far longer stay to try them all. The hotel does not allow televisions which while you think you will miss what's happening in the outside world, it is part of Herms charm to get away from it all. The pool and garden are set in beautiful surrounding overlooking the little Russell that is the water between Herm and Guernsey, so you can see the comings and goings of the boats at the same time enjoying the surroundings with top quality waitress service at all times. The rooms are a good size and immaculate they are styled to suit the buildings of the island with all facilities you would require. All in all this is a paradise close to the UK that should be somewhere that is a must to visit. There is some much beauty on our door step don't miss it

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank DJBeau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HermIsland, Director of Hospitality at The White House Hotel, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Dear DJBeau,

We were so delighted to hear that you would recommend the White House as one of the top 10 places to stay - thank you so much for your kind words, and positive review. It is great to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed your visit, and I do hope that we will be able to welcome you back to the White House soon.

Best regards



Jonathan Watson
Director of Hospitality
Herm Island Ltd.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Clement, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014

This was our first stay at the White House Hotel and it was obvious that many of our fellow guests were 'old hands' - some sporting Herm ties at dinner!
The ambience of Herm, complemented by the excellent weather, made our short stay - to celebrate a 'significant' birthday - quite memorable.
We booked flights and accommodation through an agent and on arrival were allocated a ground floor cottage room with a harbour view which was of ample size and a bathroom that could not be faulted. The fabulous shower with it's own ceiling light and large 'touch' mirror over the wash hand basin, plus the complimentary shower gels etc - a brand I had not seen before - were all plus points.
On half board, we dined in the Conservatory Restaurant - a very pleasant experience - dinner just flowed - ample experienced staff to serve you. (The shouting from the kitchen on our second night - a Saturday - was both unnecessary and intrusive, but this was no doubt an exception).
Much of our time was spent simply lazing in the garden on sun loungers and we did enjoy a dip in the heated pool. We did however walk to the Shell Beach and visit the Chapel.
My suggestions would be a central hand-rail for entry down the steps of the swimming pool and the weathered lifebuoy looked rather forlorn leant against a tree trunk - titivated and hung from a bracket would be far more shipshape!
In conclusion, we really enjoyed the 'country house' feel of the Hotel - I was expecting Miss Marple to appear at any moment. Next time we will book direct to try and get one of the main house rooms with a balcony and also to stay for longer!
As we left the hotel to join the ferry, I was expecting to see among the many directional notices, one that said ' Back to reality'.

Room Tip: Book direct with the hotel and discuss options
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ancientmariner_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HermIsland, Director of Hospitality at The White House Hotel, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Dear ancientmariner_12

Thank you so much for your positive review of your recent stay at the White House Hotel. We're delighted that you chose to stay with us to celebrate your significant birthday - Many happy returns.

Apologies for the vocal nature of our kitchen team - They are a little boisterous and charged with a great deal of energy! They are very keen to delight our guests with their creations though.

We have noted your comment regarding the steps into the pool, and also the arrangements for the life buoy. This is something that we will look at completing this winter.

We do hope that we are able to welcome you back to Herm soon.

Best regards


Jonathan Watson
Director of Hospitality
Herm Island Ltd.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Milford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
78 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014

My wife and I have returned this morning from a 2 night stay at the White House , staying in one of the cottage rooms.
Everything about the Hotel and the Island is just great.
We ate in the Conservatory and the Ship where the food was first class and reasonably priced.
The the room was spacious and comfortable, but best of all is the peace and tranquility of
The room , the Hotel and it's gardens and the whole Island itself.
We actually live in a North Yorkshire village so we know what quite us.
Herm island is just about one of the best places to visit for a holiday , especially
When you have 2 dogs who were well received by everyone they encountered.
We will be back as soon as possible.

Thanks again to everyone on the Island.

Karen and Chris Jones - South Milford, North Yorkshire.

Room Tip: Ask for a cottage room and check parking arrangements on Gurnsey before you leave home.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HermIsland, Director of Hospitality at The White House Hotel, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Dear Chris J,

We're delighted to hear that you enjoyed your recent visit to the White House Hotel, and that your dogs were comfortable in the room with you.

The hotel team work exceptionally hard to create a great atmosphere through service delivery and excellent food, so are delighted to hear such positive feedback.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best regards


Jonathan Watson
Director of Hospitality
Herm Island Ltd.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Herm
5.0 mi away
Stocks Hotel
Stocks Hotel
#1 of 2 in Sark
5.0 of 5 bubbles 633 reviews
3.9 mi away
The Old Government House Hotel & Spa
4.1 mi away
Best Western Hotel De Havelet
Best Western Hotel De Havelet
#1 of 19 in St Peter Port
5.0 of 5 bubbles 749 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Hotel Bella Luce
Hotel Bella Luce
#2 of 9 in St Martins
4.5 of 5 bubbles 550 reviews
6.2 mi away
Cobo Bay Hotel
Cobo Bay Hotel
#3 of 6 in Castel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 566 reviews
4.5 mi away
Fermain Valley Hotel
Fermain Valley Hotel
#4 of 19 in St Peter Port
4.5 of 5 bubbles 698 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The White House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The White House Hotel

Property: The White House Hotel
Address: GY1 3HR
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Guernsey > Herm
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Herm
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The White House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As the gentle chugging of a tractor heralds the arrival of your luggage, you know The White House Hotel is special. After all, how many hotels can boast a Britain in Bloom Gold Award-winning island as their garden, a harbour-side setting and such spectacular sea views? Tradition is cherished at this unique hotel to which many families have been coming for three generations. You'll find a variety of delightful bedrooms, where you won't find televisions, clocks or telephones, as somehow they don't seem appropriate on Herm. You will find world class cuisine in the 2 rosette Conservatory Restaurant, and exceptional service from our friendly team. The Four Star White House Hotel was the first business in the Channel Islands to achieve WorldHost Customer service status in 2012. All of the Hotel bedrooms and bathrooms have been upgraded over the past couple of years ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your The White House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The White House Hotel Herm, Channel Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing