We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth the money! Excellent food and service.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The White House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Herm
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 August 2007

We have just got back from 5 nights at the White House Hotel with our children aged 5 and 7. Lots of like-minded families there, and you wouldn't have known there were so many children - it has a lovely quiet ambience with no TVs - great!

Despite windy wet weather for the first few days, we enjoyed exploring Herm Island, and taking advantage of the hotel's family room with board games and delicous cups of hot chocolate with marshmallows. On the last couple of days the weather was beautiful and we were treated to some glorious views across the water to Guernsey, several happy hours with other children in the outdoor pool, and a lovely boat trip to Sark.

Evening meals deserved their wonderful reputation - the restaurant is one of the best in the Channel Islands. Prompt, courteous service and superb cuisine were available every night, complemented by a beautiful sunset. Earlier children's meals were varied too.

My only very slight niggle is that the housekeeping staff changed the beds of departing guests first (understandably, as boats would arrive with new guests mid-morning) but it did mean that we got back once at 2pm and our room hadn't been done.

However, all-in-all, a wonderful holiday and we would go again....if we can fly more cheaply!

  • Stayed: August 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Mother35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (299)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

288 - 294 of 299 reviews

Reviewed 8 August 2006

Stayed in the White House, Herm in July 2004 and we are going back for their Gourmet Weekend in September 2006. So far, I have deliberately not told anyone else about this hotel - staying there is a suberb experience. Food, accommodation, beaches, peace and quiet, everything is wonderful. Keep it a secret!

  • Stayed: July 2004, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
7  Thank Lelius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2004

We found The White House Hotel when we took a day trip from Guernsey to Herm one cold wet October day. We liked the peace and tranquility but agonised over taking a holiday there - it was one of those places we thought we'd love or hate. We took a week's holiday there with our two youngest and they loved it - the sandy beaches - catching crabs in the harbour - the freedom. We have been going back for the last eight years and our children now 14 and 18 still rank Herm as one of their favourite destinations. The hotel itself is quiet with a fantastic restuarant.

12  Thank Mike C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Guernsey
116
Reviewed 8 July 2003

Avery quiet hotel very popular with local islanders.no cars no tv s fantastic beaches based on Herm Island off the coast of Guernsey ,family run (not my family) good food only open Easter -Oct. Highly reccomended very suitable for children a real bucket and spade holiday like old fashioned holidays.

16  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Böhnli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Andreas D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2016
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2016
Thank Kribi_Ballon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Herm
3.9 mi away
The Old Government House Hotel & Spa
5.0 mi away
Stocks Hotel
Stocks Hotel
#1 of 2 in Sark
708 reviews
4.1 mi away
The Duke of Richmond Hotel
The Duke of Richmond Hotel
#3 of 19 in St Peter Port
880 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Best Western Hotel De Havelet
Best Western Hotel De Havelet
#1 of 19 in St Peter Port
835 reviews
5.3 mi away
Hotel Bella Luce
Hotel Bella Luce
#2 of 9 in St Martins
567 reviews
5.6 mi away
La Barbarie Hotel
La Barbarie Hotel
#1 of 9 in St Martins
620 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The White House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The White House Hotel

Address: GY1 3HR
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Guernsey > Herm
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Herm
Price Range: £85 - £130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The White House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As the gentle chugging of a tractor heralds the arrival of your luggage, you know The White House Hotel is special. After all, how many hotels can boast a Britain in Bloom Gold Award-winning island as their garden, a harbour-side setting and such spectacular sea views? Tradition is cherished at this unique hotel to which many families have been coming for three generations. You'll find a variety of delightful bedrooms, where you won't find televisions, clocks or telephones, as somehow they don't seem appropriate on Herm. You will find world class cuisine in the 2 rosette Conservatory Restaurant, and exceptional service from our friendly team. The Four Star White House Hotel was the first business in the Channel Islands to achieve WorldHost Customer service status in 2012. All of the Hotel bedrooms and bathrooms have been upgraded over the past couple of years ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The White House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The White House Hotel Herm, Channel Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing