We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely”
Review of Shell Beach

Ranked #1 of 5 things to do in Herm
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Lovely”
Reviewed 31 August 2014

There is a little kiosk serving drinks and snacks and toilets . Perfect beach for families as it's so clean and beautiful. Lots of space around.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank bobsmum123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

326 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    269
    50
    6
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
warwickshire
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“A little piece of Heaven - but don't everyone or they will all want it”
Reviewed 26 August 2014

I admit it. I am from Guernsey but have lived away for far too long. However every single visit home has to include a trip to Herm island - 20 exhilarating minutes by boat from St Peter Port. No not HERNE - thats in Hampshire I think. This is the real deal. a paradise island. there are two main beaches - Belvoir - pronounced exactly as it is... none of that BEAVER nonsense. Its a deep round sort of a bay with steep shelves within the water that can catch you off guard with its depth and steal your breath with the temperature of the water. YOU HAVE BEEN WARNED ! but it is heavenly. Then there is shell beach.. flatter, softer.. no hidden treacheries just space and dunes. the water is of course still freezing but there's plenty of room for sunbathing, pinicing and kayaking. and of course its all shells... fascinating to spend hours just collecting them.. you must leave them behind of course or the beauty would be lost but so much fun imagining where they came from. children are happy, parents are happy and it'd be very hard to leave with out having a memorable day whether its a circumnavigation of the island via the cliffs and beaches ( not one for the faint hearted those cliff steps ) .. or just lazing about drinking n the sun or the odd glass of chilled something at the mermaid tavern or the white house hotel its a joy. You just have to be there. and of course being part of the bailiwick of Guernsey its all GBPounds .

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Guernseygirl10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HermIsland, Director of Hospitality at Shell Beach, responded to this review, 29 August 2014
Dear Guernseygirl10,

Thanks for your fantastic review of Herm Island - we're delighted that you have enjoyed another trip to this unique Island.

OK, so the water is a little chilly...... and really does take your breath away when you have been lying in the sun for a while. But you can always get back into the sun to thaw out!

Here's hoping that we are able to welcome your return to Herm very soon.

Best regards


Jonathan Watson
Director of Hospitality
Herm Island Ltd.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
94 reviews
52 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“James Bond style desert island”
Reviewed 24 August 2014

Amazing, one the best beaches I have ever seen. In fact the whole island is fantastic to walk round.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Sarah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
High Wycombe
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Paradise!!”
Reviewed 24 August 2014

What a find!! After a short ferry ride from St Peter Port we landed on Herm, walked for 15 minutes to the other side of the island (!!) to discover this deserted, seemingly endless, stretch of fine sand and blue water!!! Wetsuits on (ok, we're wimps!!), and straight in the water. Heaven!! There was even a little cafe on the beach (but note, they do not have any toilet facilities - these are about 10 minutes away up a fairly steep hill).
When we were there there was one family and a few couples so we all had plenty of personal space - and no radios!!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Silverstriders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
285 reviews
72 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
“Cracking beach”
Reviewed 19 August 2014 via mobile

Very nice island and the beaches are to die for, clean and tidy and the kids found lots of wildlife to look at in the rock pools. The toilets on the island could do with being updated, and the restaurants that I went in were ok (the White House hotel). The boat trip is quick and a must see island if your on guernsey

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Jim O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HermIsland, Director of Hospitality at Shell Beach, responded to this review, 29 August 2014
Dear Jim O,

We're delighted that you enjoyed your visit to Herm, and in particular the beaches and rockpools across the Island.

The Island has a strategy of improvements that we make every year. The public toilets are on the list to be updated at some point, but at the moment, they provide a functional facility that we are very keen to improve upon.

We do hope that you are able to visit the island again soon.

Best regards



Jonathan Watson
Director of Hospitality
Herm Island Ltd.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Shell Beach also viewed

St Peter Port, Guernsey
St Peter Port, Guernsey
 

Been to Shell Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing