We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing stay at Ojibway...brimming with history”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Temagami
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Ojibway Family Lodge
Corbeil, Canada
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Relaxing stay at Ojibway...brimming with history”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014

We stayed in the Dixie cabin to just get away for a couple of days and take in the spirit of Temagami. Ojibway Lodge offers a stay in a really traditional cottage that includes kerosene lanterns, beautiful views and a history on the lake that is sure to impress. the food is served in the main lodge and each day the creations were delicious and healthy. I have spent lots of time on Lake Temagami but I have to admit that I was totally unaware of the history of Ojibway of Keewaydin and the loyal and dedicated client base it has developed over many many years. I would highly recommend a stay here to really appreciate the beauty of Temagami.

Room Tip: The Dixie cabin comfortably sleeps 4 people and provides a truly authentic "cottage" exper...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rod B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    23
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
13
2
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, Vermont
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2014

Ojibway is the place visiting parents/grandparents/friends of campers stay when seeing their campers on their break. The cabins are very rustic but still beautiful and most right on the lake with fire pits in front. The outdoor activities are many and we couldn't keep our 7 year old granddaughter out of the cold lake. Food is good with excellent service and a cocktail hour before each dinner.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tanya M, Manager at Ojibway Family Lodge, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
It was great to visit with you and your family again last week, we look forward to your return in 2015!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bethesda, Maryland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2013

Ojibway is the kind of place that you think about all through the year...and can't wait to get back to each summer! A great vacation destination for families, couples, or even on your own -- perfect for getting close to nature w/o giving up all comforts (hot showers, cozy bed, propane lights and wood stove in your cabin, and delicious meals served in the dining room). Enjoy a swim in the clear lake, a canoe paddle to neighboring islands, a quiet read by the wood fire in the Lodge, a hike on the trails, sit on the dock and watch the sunset...or be more adventurous and schedule an overnight camping trip (they can provide the gear and supplies). The staff is very welcoming and accommodating.....and eager to make your north woods experience special. A stay at Ojibway is soooooooo worth the trip!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shutterbug51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
44 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

Visited Ojibway Temagami AGAIN this year after participating in Keewaydin's Women's Trip! It was as wonderful as it was last year. We had a cozy cabin with a woodstove, propane lights and our own bathroom. It was so nice to sit out on our screened porch and look out over Temagami. When it was chilly, we just stoked the fire and made ourselves at home! The food was served family style and as usual, was delicious! The staff are wonderful and they keep everything clean and tidy.
Leave your cell phones and computers at home... Bring a great book and relax. Take out one of their canoes and paddle around the beautiful lake!
Its worth it!

Room Tip: I would ask for a cabin with its own bathroom/shower. Otherwise, you'll get a nice bed and will...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MeeshaMB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorktown Heights, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2013

I stayed at Ojibway a few times while my son was attending Keewaydin Temagami. It is a unique and beautiful place. The other reviewers have accurately described the cabins, activities, beauty, location, and benefit of being able to "unplug" from our busy lives. In my opinion, the attentiveness of the staff, the friendliness of the other guests and the delicious community meals are key differentiators. While Sandy Chivers is missed, Tanya and her staff seem to be doing a great job now.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SDWilson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CT
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2013

Ojibway is the quintessential northern canoe lodge. We have stayed there several times, first to share our sons' experiences at Keewaydin, and lately for a family reunion. Leave your cell phones, business problems, and personal crises in your car. After a few days enjoying wilderness sights, smells and sounds, you'll realize none of the stress you brought from home really mattered. You can either enjoy solitude or make new friends with the interesting people attracted to Ojibway. The skies are beautiful, the air is pure, you can drink water right out of the lake, and the memory of calling loons will be with you for ever. Like us, I suspect you will reset your life priorities after your stay. Just do it!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aerohugh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tanya M, Manager at Ojibway Family Lodge, responded to this review, 20 March 2013
Thank you for your kind words. We believe the Ojibway atmosphere is unique in that electronic devices are few, it truly allows for our guests to "get away from it all" I look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ridgeland, Mississippi
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2013

I visited Ojibway while my brother was in Keewaydin camp when I was young - I have great memories of the pristine woods and cabins with no electricity! Oil lamps, as I recall. We were flown up in a private plane and I remember being so excited to go to a place in the woods with no TV or telephones. ( I loved the woods). The Reimers family was so gracious to invite us up and help orient us to the life on the island. I caught lots of Northern Pike and bathed in the cold water in the sea, which I loved. The amenities are probably a little more modern this day and age but I could have stayed there for weeks, even with few modern conveniences.. This is a great place to visit and fun for kids - the camp is fantastic but pretty strenuous ( according to my brother). If you love beautiful, pristine places, this is a great choice!

Room Tip: All the cabins are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nickims2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tanya M, General Manager at Ojibway Family Lodge, responded to this review, 20 March 2013
Please come and visit us again! You will find small changes at Ojibway but most of what you remember: cold lake water, kerosene lamps and the woods pristine remain.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Temagami hotels
14.8 mi away
Northland Paradise Lodge
Northland Paradise Lodge
#4 of 11 in Temagami
4.5 of 5 bubbles 7 reviews
20.7 mi away
Ridgewood Cottages
Ridgewood Cottages
#3 of 11 in Temagami
5.0 of 5 bubbles 24 reviews
14.8 mi away
Wilson Lake Cottages
Wilson Lake Cottages
#11 of 11 in Temagami
4.0 of 5 bubbles 9 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ojibway Family Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ojibway Family Lodge

Property: Ojibway Family Lodge
Address: Devil's Island | Lake Temagami, Temagami, Ontario POH 2HO, Canada (Formerly Ojibway of Keewaydin)
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > Northeastern Ontario > Temagami
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 Speciality Lodging in Temagami
Number of rooms: 17
Also Known As:
Ojibway Family Lodge Temagami, Canada - Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing