We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lot of money for very little”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bellingen
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Aniseed Luxury Villas
Brisbane, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A lot of money for very little”
Reviewed 29 July 2014

$260 for one night and very ordinary ingredients left in the kitchen to prepare my own breakfast.
I'm not certain what one person would do with 6 eggs, some jam, a chocolate, and a loaf of bread for breakfast. One orange and one banana were on the kitchen table. For that kind of money, some more gourmet items would have been in order - 2 slices of sourdough or a paninni/ciabatta/Turkish bread roll would have been better for a single traveller, rather than a loaf of bread. Maybe 2 eggs instead of 6, and a couple of slices of leg ham, some interesting cheese, yoghurt, honey, muesli and more exotic fruit than what my mother gave as a primary school child - banana and orange. I ended up driving into Bellingen and spending more money at one of the numerous ecclectic cafes in town so I could have a decent breakfast.

I have stayed at places for less than half the price and received a beautiful 4 course cooked breakfast served with crystal and silver in a spotless residence with warmth and ambience and interesting conversation of a gracious hostess.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Emily255068
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jomjomjom, Owner at Aniseed Luxury Villas, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Thank you for your review of Aniseed. We are very sorry that your experience wasn't a positive one. Aniseed was created to provide a peaceful, secluded and very private retreat, where travellers can rest and recharge. We are very concious of respecting the privacy of our guests and as such supply breakfast provisions so that guests can prepare breakfast in their own time. We are certainly not a bed and breakfast establishment and therefore do not offer a cooked breakfast service. Our contemporary villas are fully self- contained, with Italian appliances for the convenience of our guests. Our website fully describes the breakfast provisions, ie a loaf of freshly baked bread from one of Bellingen's wonderful bakeries; our own organic eggs; locally sourced, organic fruit (only fruit that is currently in season); locally made conserves; organic muesli (which was in the villa during this stay); organic milk; several loose leaf organic teas and organic freshly ground coffee. Most self-contained establishments in this region do not offer single night stays and certainly do not provide any breakfast provisions. We have chosen to supply these provisions more as a convenience because we are 10 minutes from town. I understand that a 4 course breakfast cooked by the host may be lovely, however, the vast majority of our guests appreciate the privacy of the haven we have created and certainly would not appreciate our company at breakfast. We take the utmost care to provide a spotless, gorgeous environment for our guests and are disappointed that your time in the villa did not meet your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    45
    3
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
4
42
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Port Macquarie, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2014

Wow. Work and life had been wearing us down - within 2 hours we were both in a different world. A quick trip back to town for dinner supplies,then by 5pm we were in the hot tub enjoying a beverage as we watched the sun fade against the mountains. Breakfast in Bellingen - wow the taste of the food and coffee at the restaurant "5 Church Street". And a fruit / vegatable smoothie from "the green grocer" is a must as well. Back to our villa and the lovely Melinda indulged us with an hour massage each. Another evening in the hot tub, enjoying some drinks and music, an 11am checkout.. Stress from work? At Aniseed, we really did forget about it until Monday. The organic breakfast provisions and coffee at the Villa were very yummy, and the villa itself a little peice of heaven. All expectations were exceeded!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 2444NikandLiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2014

We stayed at Aniseed for 4 nights, after enjoying three nights there a year ago. This is an ideal place for a couple who wish to 'escape' to a peaceful, beautiful location, in an area with so much to see and do. Also a great place just to sit and read, or do nothing. If you want a fixed-line phone, a huge TV or a gym, go elsewhere (but my Telstra mobile phone was in range, and wi-fi is readily available in Bellingen, about 15 minutes away, along with a wide range if cafés and restaurants). As well illustrated in the website, the villas are fully equipped for cooking, good ingredients for simple breakfasts are provided and the owners are a few hundreds metres away, if you need anything, and are friendly and welcoming.

Both of our stays were in June, so it was quite cold at night, with frosts on two morning. Reverse cycle air conditioning and other heaters cope well when you need them, and by day the villas are placed so as to be well warmed by the sun. Any complaints? I'd like higher lounges that are easier to get up from, but that just reflects age and personal preference. Overall, very highly recommended!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HK_Sydney2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 26 June 2014

It looked good in the photos, but I was still blown away.
The view, the hot tub, the serenity.
Bike riding around the loop road is a must.
A day trip to Dorrigo National Park was spectacular.
Thank you aniseed....we will be back.

Room Tip: Left villa is bathed in Winter sun.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank doug k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yamba
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Wow ,Aniseed was wonderful ,I had been waiting 3 years until I eventually got there ,It was from a recommendation .It was certainly worth the wait .
From the hot tub on the balcony with the moon coming up from the east over the Villa to the early 630am bike ride up mountain ,(2 bikes supplied mind you ).The promised land loop the address for heavens sake ,the name says it all .A must stay if you would like that special romantic getaway .
Thanks Mario & Helga YAMBA

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank armano9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014

Thank you for providing a comfortable, warm, beautifully positioned spot for us to enjoy 3 nights of country quiet. We loved the view of the mist covering the mountain one minute and then just as quickly it disappeared. We got up at 3am to stand on the balcony looking at the inky sky covered in stars. We bought delicious local provisions to cook because we wanted to not have to drive anywhere, the walking around is so good. We took advice tho and went to Dorrigo National Park and have to say the walking is some of the best we have ever done.

The linen was delicious to sleep in, the bed equally so. The choice of hard and soft pillows mich appreciated and the large shower with view to the horses and trees really delightful.

If spas are your thing this one is spotless and doesnt smell of chemicals. The magazines were appreciated if a little dated.

Finally, treat yourself to a massage with Lorinda (i am hoping i have her name correct). Absolutely A1 professional.

All in all a wonderful 3 days.

Room Tip: Choice of 2 villas. We were on the higher ground, but i thought both would be equally as good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KandNAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 19 May 2014

Look no further - if you want luxury and privacy you have arrived.
180 degree mountain views; hot tub ( complete with green tree frogs) and more night sky stars than you can imagine.
Perfect place to find some down time and sleep deeply in perfect quiet. The shady river just a stroll away was amazing; great local bread; great coffee; delicious linen; romantic movie selection. Jo and Rod were so welcoming and relaxed. Great hosts; nothing was too much trouble. We'll be back. :)

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brett C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bellingen
0.8 mi away
Promised Land Retreat
Promised Land Retreat
#5 of 10 in Bellingen
43 reviews
6.1 mi away
Afterglow Cottages
Afterglow Cottages
#2 of 10 in Bellingen
84 reviews
5.0 mi away
Guest House on Hyde Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Bellingen Valley Lodge
Bellingen Valley Lodge
#3 of 10 in Bellingen
125 reviews
4.8 mi away
Bellingen YHA - Belfry Guesthouse
9.7 mi away
Lookout Mountain Retreat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aniseed Luxury Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aniseed Luxury Villas

Property: Aniseed Luxury Villas
Address: 1090 Promised Land Rd, Bellingen, New South Wales 2454, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Bellingen
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 10 Speciality Lodging in Bellingen
Number of rooms: 2

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing