We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a shame”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Augusta Hotel Motel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Augusta
Reviewed 1 September 2013

This is a hotel that begs to be transformed. In fact it begs to have just about anything done to it because it's pretty shabby now. We visited for lunch only. Walking through the 'lobby' it feels like an dormitory building from the 50s - but not in a good way. In fact, even though this is the hotel's main entrance, it looks like an area that's not used - old toilet doors, an open storage room and a dark, dingy corridor. When you enter the dining room, this is where you can see the potential of the place. It's a beautiful view of the river from big windows that opens onto a deck area and lawn. Orders are taken at the bar and we both chose the special of the day - my favourite fish, goldband snapper ($38). Our meals arrived very quickly, (too quickly), with a side of salad and chips. The fish was lukewarm suggesting it had been cooked earlier, tasteless and covered in a fatty, yellow sauce topped with two thin asparagus spears. The small salad was standard and the 'wedges' were out of a packet. We felt ripped off - could have had a lovely meal at a stylish winery for about the same price. Two stars - just for the view.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank TheBestTable
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (141)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

102 - 108 of 141 reviews

Reviewed 20 August 2013

Was staying with the family few days ago and was totally opposite to what I assumed from the photo. Reception staff is very friendly. But room had few set backs...one of them was mosquitoes. Second was uncomfortable bed. Third was shower with very low pressure n splashes from shower in change room looked terrible. Maids shouldnt be allowed unless checkout time. Complimentary breakfast should be included. Good things abt the place are its convenient and picturesque location which heals everything up...I wud say not bad but alot of room for improvement...cheers

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travelmate32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2013

On a very cold and blustery winter afternoon, we checked into the Augusta Hotel-Motel, room #5, with a queen size bed, overlooking the river. You get what you pay for, so no complaints there.

This was a lovely spot to watch the wild weather rolling in from the south (cold fronts born in Antarctica), and some local bird life, gulls, terns and pelicans. Being a cozily sized room, it did not take long to heat up with the portable fan heater. The bathroom is serviceable, with a noisy exhaust fan, but other than soap, no other toiletries are provided.

The main issue was the complete lack of door seal. The very cold and very squally wind (it was well below 5C that night) whistled through the gaps, I resorted to using the spare blanket to at least block off the under door.

There is a communal guest laundry, which after a week of travelling around the South West, we were happy to take advantage of.

Cheerful pub grub available in the hotel bistro.

The reception staff are very nice, handing us a small carton of fresh milk on arrival, assistance with the laundry use, and a hair dryer for me the next morning.

Room Tip: Overlooking the river is pleasant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank charlotteleclerc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2013

We stayed one night with our family in this hotel-motel while traveling around west Australia. They reserved us the family room, with one double bed and 2 twin beds for our daughters. This room is in the separate section of the hotel, where you drive up to your room. The room was OK but definitely not worth the price. ($160.00) The beds are not comfortable and the room looks out on the parking lot and the street. One small heater up on the wall is either too hot or too cold, no thermostat. There is no breakfast included, and we did not eat at the hotel's pub as the prices seemed high and it did not smell clean in the lobby. Maid woke us up by trying to enter our room in the early morning. Was not good value for the money.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IowaMjb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2013

I've stayed in this for two nights with a friend. It's a decent place to stay for a night or two. It's a nice motel with good view.The rooms are neat with a good service from the staff. Close to tourist spots.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jay V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2013

Hi fellow trippers,
I often visit Augusta on getaways and fishing trips. The centre of socialising is the Augusta hotel, with hearty meals, cold beer, good local wines and views over the Blackwood River and Great Southern Ocean that are truly beautiful. Get there before sundown for the viewing and enjoy the pub. A warm wood fire in winter and a lovely balcony in summer.

Room Tip: There are motel rooms, cabins and rooms with views, just ask them
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Geoff D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2013

Good accommodation but pub food at good restaurant prices,so we were not impressed.good location for a tired traveler and close to tourist spots.The only negative was the price of the meals at the pub opposite .

Room Tip: check the food prices
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brianrogers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Augusta
0.2 mi away
Augusta Molloy Motel
Augusta Molloy Motel
#2 of 2 in Augusta
83 reviews
0.3 mi away
Baywatch Manor Augusta
Baywatch Manor Augusta
#2 of 12 in Augusta
76 reviews
24.4 mi away
Margarets Beach Resort
Margarets Beach Resort
#5 of 10 in Margaret River
563 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Augusta Escape
Augusta Escape
#6 of 12 in Augusta
52 reviews
2 mi away
Augusta Sheoak Chalets
Augusta Sheoak Chalets
#5 of 12 in Augusta
62 reviews
24.4 mi away
Surfpoint Resort
Surfpoint Resort
#1 of 2 in Gnarabup
196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Augusta Hotel Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Augusta Hotel Motel

Address: Blackwood Avenue, Augusta, Western Australia 6290, Australia
Region: Australia > Western Australia > Margaret River Region > Augusta
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Augusta
Price Range: £49 - £71 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Augusta Hotel Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing