We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“The perfect getaway.”

Review of Mumbles Stays

Spa and sauna on 'Tea Tree' balcony
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Spa and sauna on 'Tea Tree' balcony
'Tea Tree' kitchen 'Tea Tree' bathroom
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
58 reviews
Spa and sauna on 'Tea Tree' balcony
'Tea Tree' kitchen
'Tea Tree' bathroom
'Tea Tree' verandah
'Tea Tree' master bedroom
'Tea Tree' exterior
Autumn colour from 'Tea Tree' balcony
Sunset over the dam
'Paperbark' interior
'Paperbark' kitchen
'Paperbark' bathroom
'Paperbark' spa
'Paperbark' exterior
Gazebo over the water
The dam at nightfall
Bridge to 'Willows' secluded picnic area
Adorable alpacas
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Private Room, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Balingup, Western Australia

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 58 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Trent R
1 review
“The perfect getaway.”
Reviewed 18 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016

From the booking experience to the stay itself, everything here was 5 star plus. This little secluded getaway is the ideal place to relax and unwind. Very romantic and a perfect getaway from our kids for a couple of nights. We absolutely can't wait to return. Thankyou both so much.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Oct 2016
Thanks for a lovely review Trent. Our A-List guests are very welcome to come back and there's no need to wait! :-)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pamper212
Perth, Australia
1 review
“A perfect home away from home!”
Reviewed 11 October 2016 for a stay in September 2016

My husband and 2 young children stayed here for 4 nights and didn't want to leave!! Service was fabulous, the Tea-Tree house was spot on and had absolutely everything you would ever need in a self contained house. It was clean, well maintained and that view - spectacular! Also loved the tv fire - great idea! The alpacas were an extra treat, amusing the children quite a bit. The bottle of champers on arrival, comfy beds and gorgeous smelling body wash were just lovely - it's the little things that count. Thanks Rita and Colin - you've got a wonderful place and we might just have to visit you again!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Oct 2016
We look forward to seeing you and your lovely girls next time you need a little pampering; hopefully the weather will be kinder to you. Rita and Colin
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kim A
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Perfect lazy weekend”
Reviewed 27 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016

Stayed over for the long weekend and it was exactly what we were looking for. Quiet and private with a large comfy bed, a fully equipped kitchen and having a spa on deck was perfect for the unseasonably cold spring.

Aside from the privacy, it was really good having a full size fridge in the kitchen, the place is spotless and sparkling with everything you would need to have a complete getaway without ever having to leave the property. Hanging out with the resident Alpacas was exceptionally fun too!

Note that unless you are with Telstra, there is no mobile phone reception, currently the hosts Collin and Rita ( who are lovely by the way) do provide limited Wifi. There is a local pub which serves food nearby but the other nearest shops are in Collie which is 20 mins away so come prepared with meals/drinks. The nearby dam is a worth a visit and the property also has a lovely spots to chill like the gazebo area.

The shower is good but quite small and may run out of hot water by the end of the 2nd shower ( average time per shower about 10-12 mins). Also, the TV is not hooked up to the sound system , so if you're using the DVD player provided it's fine but if you are hooking up your laptop you will have to rely on the speakers from your laptop. Minor things really because the rest of the place and the overall experience was fantastic.

Great find and will definitely head back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The seclusion
Liked least: Size of shower
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Sep 2016
Thanks for your comprehensive review - glad that you enjoyed yourselves. Life in the bush involves a few compromises including having to plan your shopping, coping with limited (and expensive) mobile phone and internet connectivity, and a limited water supply. We think the benefits far outweigh the drawbacks, but our guests get to share both :-) We look forward to seeing you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sue C
2 reviews
“awesome place”
Reviewed 27 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

We recently stayed at Mumbles, what a wonderful experience .. peace, tranquillity, views, luxury ..it had it all. No matter what the occasion it ticked all the boxes and more, the attention to detail and added extras that Colin & Rita do shows the care about their guests welbeing. Wee really cant say enough about the place ..and cant wait to go back..
Thank you Rita & Colin

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Aug 2016
Thank you Sue, it is very rewarding for us to see that our efforts are appreciated. We look forward to seeing you again. Colin & Rita
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
554recept...
Perth, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“MAGICAL”
Reviewed 25 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

What a magical few days my hubby and I had at Mumbles Botique Stays. We stayed in the "Paperbark" villa suitable for couples only, and was absolutely perfect/stunning/beautiful in every way possible.
Colin and Rita are fantastic hosts and their hospitality is faultless. They have really outdone themselves with this perfect romantic getaway. They have really thought of everything to make you feel relaxed and welcomed.
Beautiful surroundings, quiet and peaceful and loved the Alpacas :-) Absolute characters!
I recommend staying here 100%. You will not be disappointed!!
Thank you for an enjoyable stay. We will definitely be back soon.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Absolutely everything. Too many things to list.
Liked least: Not applicable
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Aug 2016
Thank you for a magical review. Every so often we have magical guests who make all the difference to us; it's great when they come back :-)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
janeebee
Perth, Australia
1 review
“Everything you look for in a proper Getaway.”
Reviewed 23 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Uninterrupted peace & quiet in a luxury setting, both inside & out. It was so good on opening the door to the apartment to be hit in the eye by the sparkling clean interior. Relaxation started from that moment, continuing with the welcoming bottle of bubbly & chocolates, onto the upstairs verandah sauna & large full force jacuzzi, & great kingsize bed.
We also loved the friendly alpacas & the chance to buy natural beauty products from the source. Hosts Colin & Rita are very gracious, as you might expect from living in such a lovely spot. We will return as soon as possible.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Sep 2016
Being blown away by the generosity of our guests is one of the hazards of this business. It is great to have recognition of our efforts in keeping this place close to all that it's cracked up to be :-) Colin and Rita
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tgill71
Perth, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Just perfect”
Reviewed 27 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016

My partner and I had the most lovely stay in the very 'romantic' Paperbark. We lacked for nothing, the owners have thought of everything . The bed was soooooo comfortable .It was so quiet and if its "time out" you are searching for, there is not better place. We found leaving very difficult and cant wait to return.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Jul 2016
Thanks T. You are most welcome to return any time and we look forward to it. Colin & Rita
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing