We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weekend away”
Review of Ford House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ford House
Ranked #2 of 10 Bridgetown B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 August 2014

Quiet, homely, very friendly. Beautiful grounds and river frontage and an Emporium that will blow your mind for selection and variety.
Bridgetown is a lovely place, beautiful surrounds, and lots of history.

Room Tip: If its important to you check that your room has a private bathroom - not all do.
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Evan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (147)
There are newer reviews for Ford House
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

77 - 83 of 147 reviews

Reviewed 4 August 2014

We spent a night in the Jarrah Room about two weeks ago on a driving trip from Perth down to Albany, stopping at Bridgetown for the evening. The Ford House is very quaint and is a very well-preserved example of what must have been a country cottage typical of the early settlers in Western Australia. We were immediately taken in by the charm of the building and the serene location off the main road, by a river bank, overlooking the trickling waters.

The room itself was fairly spacious and clean, and the bed was very comfortable. However, as the house itself is quite old, several modern conveniences that we often take for granted were missing. For example, the room was not en suite (we knew that it was not at the time we made the booking, so we weren't fussed about this).

As regards heating, whilst there was an electrical heater in the room, it was not particularly effective and you had to stand right next to it to feel any warmth at all. The windows are also not completely sealed (again, due to the age of the house) and the house can be quite draughty. At any other time of the year, this is unlikely to pose any problem. However, in the middle of winter, it was rather chilly in the house. This is obviated by the fact that the bed had an electrical blanket, which was great, and the toilet and shower (down the chilly corridor) had a large radiator. However, the radiator was broken when we stayed and the shower felt like an ice box. Thankfully there was ample hot water from the tap. The house also has a quaint sitting room with a log fire place, and that provided some warmth to us.

At any other time of the year, we would imagine that this would be a fantastic place to spend a couple of days. In the middle of winter, however, guests should be prepared to ensure some chill in the evenings and night.

The breakfast in the barn was thoroughly fascinating, not in the least because of the way the room was decorated, but also because of the random conversations you would strke up with other guests around the table. The food itself consisted of freshly baked bread (always a plus) and bacon and eggs cooked on a frying pan. Then you have your usual cereals and muesli with tea and coffee.

Upon check out, we tried paying for our stay with an Amex card, but the transaction was unsuccessful even after 4-5 tries. We then tried with a Visa card and the same thing happened, so we had to pay with cash instead. Not sure if this is a problem that other guests encountered, but we hope that the problem has been fixed since.

On the whole, it was a nice stay, albeit slightly on the cold side. We would definitely return again if we are passing through.

Room Tip: If travelling in the winter, it would be best to ask for a room with better heating.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank esquire84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Every time we spend a weekend at Ford House we wonder why we ever bother leaving. Thank you Jenny for another magical stay. This was the first time we had stayed in Aisleen House as we traveled down with our daughter and son in law. It was so beautiful and thanks to the hardy ladies who braved the cold mornings and evenings to keep our wood-burner cosy and toasty.
To anyone out there contemplating a trip to Bridgetown , do yourself a favour and spend at least 2 nights in Ford House. Whether you stay in the main house or in one of the cottages, you will love it.
You haven't seen the last of us we shall be back as soon as we can, we might even try a summer visit although it's hard to go past a lovely cold misty Bridgetown winters morning.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank jennylb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014

My husband and I traveled to Bridgetown for a friends surprise birthday party. We were very happy with the country cottage type of accommodation. It was lovely to have breakfast in the old barn with a diverse group of people which made for interesting conversation both mornings. The staff were lovely and nothing was too much trouble. We stayed in the "Cooks Retreat and Spa". It had electric blanket, reverse cycle air conditioning so no problem of not being warm enough. Having a King size bed at home I forgot how small a queen can feel so next time I would choose the room which has the King size bed apart from that it was the perfect place to stay.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Julieanne R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014

We ( 2 couples ) stayed at Ford House between the 25th & 28th of July 2014.
The place is simply beautiful.
Set on the bank of the Blackwood River which meanders along, and creates the perfect postcard.
Gardens that have a variety of plants making them interesting but not too fussy or formal.

The accommodation was perfect for us, each room spacious and decorated in a different theme but all related to each other.
The place has a real atmosphere, which is not only created by the property, but enhanced by the staff, who couldn't have done any more to make us feel welcome.
Our breakfast was hearty,( the home made bread just melted our taste buds ) in a magnificent converted barn, which made conversation with total strangers ( the other guests ) easy, delightful and one of the most unique parts of the total experience.

Jenny our host, has lived a most interesting life which makes her forthright and a great conversationalist.

The stores are full ( to bursting point ) of the most amazing and interesting pieces, a number of which have new homes with us.
We had stayed at Ford House in 2010, and we just haven't had the chance to get back. When you recomend a place to your friends, it always with some trepidation as it sometimes doesn't fit their expectation, however our friends just loved it and so do we.
We have already booked out next break at Ford House.
Rocky P

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Rocky P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014

My wife and I had one night at Ford House heading down to the Great Southern. Our accommodation and included breakfast was fantastic and a great start to out week away. The location and staff were faultless and the cooked breakfast in the old heated barn was excellent. Ford House is very interesting as it is also a huge shop with many bargains. Our room was huge, wall and by we'll appointed with also a huge kitchen. We have no hesitation in recommending Ford House to any travellers.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bernie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed for one night in Aislinn House and booked both bedrooms so we had the house to ourselves. The main living area has a log fire so the house was cosy and warm. Everything is supplied down to bath robes and water in the rooms. Breakfast in Aladdins Cave was the highlight and our daughter was also able to feed the geese their breakfast. Jenny is a great host and we couldn't have asked for more. The setting is amazing down near the river and the town is walking distance so we had a nice meal at Nelsons restaurant.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank Joolzee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bridgetown
0.3 mi away
Nelsons of Bridgetown
Nelsons of Bridgetown
#1 of 2 in Bridgetown
124 reviews
2.0 mi away
Shambhala Guest House - Hill Top Retreat
0.4 mi away
Bridgetown Valley Lodge
Bridgetown Valley Lodge
#1 of 10 in Bridgetown
72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Rickaty on Blackwood
Rickaty on Blackwood
#4 of 10 in Bridgetown
34 reviews
1.6 mi away
Pamela's Retreat
Pamela's Retreat
#9 of 9 in Bridgetown
18 reviews
15.2 mi away
Balingup Jalbrook Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ford House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ford House

Address: Lot 14 Eedle Terrace | PO Box 375, Bridgetown, Western Australia 6255, Australia
Region: Australia > Western Australia > Bridgetown
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Bridgetown
Price Range: £81 - £113 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Ford House 4.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Winner Merit Award for Best Hosted Accommodation in Western Australia in 2004, every concievable luxury, spas, en-suites, historic home antique king sized four poster bed, set in 5 acres of garden on the Blackwood river in the heart of southwestern West Australia. Banquets and conferences in historic barn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Ford House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ford House Bridgetown, Australia - Western Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing