We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderfully relaxing”
Review of Chimes Spa Retreat

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Chimes Spa Retreat
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Wonderfully relaxing”
Reviewed 9 May 2014

We stayed for 5 nights and it was lovely. We felt really spoilt, with great breakfasts, friendly service, lovely room- the gardens and views were spectacular. It was quiet, peaceful and relaxed. I had two massages which helped the relaxation. Highly recommended, we would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lorna G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    111
    56
    21
    9
    8
See reviews for
7
160
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014

We had an amazing stay here over Easter, and despite being over a busy period we felt we had a lot of space and privacy. The view at breakfast every morning was absolutely stunning.
The day spa downstairs was a welcome wind down even with their odd choice of decor!
The staff were attentive and welcoming.
Plus with the Southern End Restaurant within easy walking distance it's the perfect place for an escape away from reality.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hicksey88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 April 2014 via mobile

My husband and I left our children at home with their nanna and drove to Denmark for the weekend. We booked the king ocean view room at Chimes Spa Retreat. It was everything we hoped it would be. Quiet, relaxing, romantic and friendly. The rooms are lovely. Very comfy bed, balcony with beautiful views and a big spa bath. Breakfast was lovely. Continental provided was plenty and the hot options were great for a special treat. Loved the fresh, warm damper and jams each morning. We also spent one morning in the spa. This is highly recommended. We didn't want to leave. There's also lots to do and see in the local area. We could of easily spent a week there. Thank you Chimes Spa Retreat for a wonderful weekend.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank SharonTour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fremantle, Western Australia, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2014

My family and I have just come back from staying at "The Cabana" which is a private/ house/accommodation separate from the main Chimes retreat. I would definitely recommend it. Two huge bedrooms with spas, a nice big open plan area overlooking trees and fields, a lovely big wood fire, it is very chilled out and relaxing. Nice big deck to sit out on. We took our big old family dog along. I love that you can take dogs (not allowed in the rooms understandably) but other than that they can have free range of the house (polished concrete floors). Nice and close to the town of Denmark but feels like the middle of the bush. This is my second time and I would go back again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Danielle B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth
Level Contributor
36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2014

My wife and I spent 4 days at the chimes celebrating my birthday and Valentine's day. We stayed here a few years ago such a lovely place peaceful and quiet. We had Room 8 this time and it was beautiful, with lovely views. The room was very clean. We loved the daily breakfast which was continental, and if you wanted the cooked breakfast you needed to pay (it was reasonably priced) Michelle and Kane are wonderful and also the lovely friendly staff. Loved Ted my wife wanted to take him home with us. I think the rooms need a little upgrade. But having said that overall a lovely relaxing break.

Room Tip: Ask for Room 8 if you can
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mrfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 17 February 2014

We returned for our second stay at Chimes in February 2014, and were not disappointed. This Retreat offers nice rooms in a stunning location, friendly owners and staff, and all the facilities of a day-spa. My partner and I find that we are totally relaxed within an hour from our arrival.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bill M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 February 2014

This was a lovely little getaway. The room was clean and tidy. The decor could do with a bit of facelift. The fresh baked biscuits and port of an evening were a nice treat. Disappointing that a cooked breakfast wasn't included in the cost, particularly because there was no fresh fruit. I'm not a big fan of sugar or cereal and that was all that was on offer. I had a facial which was amazing, the beautician was fantastic. The salon itself could do with some work. It's a bit run down.

Room Tip: The only down side is that there aren't any places to eat within walking distance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lizzy k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Denmark hotels
2.8 mi away
Aiyana Retreat
Aiyana Retreat
#2 of 32 in Denmark
5.0 of 5 bubbles 272 reviews
7.4 mi away
Sensational Heights Bed and Breakfast
0.3 mi away
Celestine Retreat
Celestine Retreat
#4 of 32 in Denmark
5.0 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Karma Chalets and Karisma Spa
6.7 mi away
William Bay Country Cottages
2.0 mi away
The Koorabup Motel
The Koorabup Motel
#1 of 3 in Denmark
4.5 of 5 bubbles 153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chimes Spa Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chimes Spa Retreat

Property: Chimes Spa Retreat
Address: Mt Shadforth Scenic Drive, Denmark, Western Australia 6333, Australia
Region: Australia > Western Australia > Denmark
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 32 Speciality Lodging in Denmark
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Chimes Spa Retreat 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The southern coast of Western Australia is where the forest meets the sea. It is unique. It is green. It is nature at its best. Tall stands of karri and tingle interspersed with verdant rolling hills sweep down to the most dramatic and picturesque coastline - an idyll providing many natural attractions. It is perhaps the prettiest place in Western Australia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Chimes Spa Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing