We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dogs not welcome”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Denmark
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Karrak Reach Forest Retreat
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Denmark
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Dogs not welcome”
Reviewed 28 December 2012

Chalet was not very clean on arrival and tea and coffee provisions were very sparse. Long life milk in the fridge was past the use by date.

Supposedly a dog friendly place but dogs cannot be left in chalet so we advise not to take them here particularly in the summer.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank dachsie2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    69
    7
    1
    1
    3
See reviews for
29
41
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2011

We loved it, our small dog loved it, our small child did too
Our chalet was clean, warm, the beds comfortable and the appliances funtional. The forest at our back made for some fun short walks whetting our appetite for what the area has to offer. We all loved watching the ducks (with ducklings), llamas and cattle potter about below our balcony.
The only fly in the ointment was the promise in the chalet user manual that promised that the electric fences were switched off between 8 and10 each morning to allow easy access to the llama paddock. Dad checked prior to ushering the family through and was rewarded with a sharp shock to the arm - lesson; don't believe what you read in print. And walk round and use the gate!

Room Tip: the chalets all share the same slope and beautiful view. Looking from the outside the two uphill cha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank frithed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2011

Karrak Reach has beautiful views and the chalets are modern and spacious however regretebly our chalet was less than adequalty cleaned and we were sharing with an army of ant's. Upon speaking to the owner we were very pleased with there offer to rectify these areas the next day, therefore not charging us for the first night stay. Sadly the next day clean was poor and upon our return home the owner has refused to give us our refund and has been uncontactable. It is such a shame that this has let them down and spoilt our holiday, therefore we can only cannot rate them any higher than poor and certainly cannot recommend them."

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Disco35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
perth
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2010

We stayed at Karrak Reach Retreat in January of this year for 2 nights. You really can't beat this place. Beautiful property, helpful owners, spacious accommodation and a balcony that offers privacy and views that are just stunning.

We stayed in one of the 3 chalets on the property and found it to be comfortable with all the amenities you will need to be self sufficient during your stay.
Upon arrival we were greeted by some very friendly residents including a couple of cows, goats and geese.

There is plenty to do on the property with the owners happy for you to visit the animals or walk the karri forest which is on their land. It is in a great location, not far from Denmark or any of the other spots around the region that you will want to visit including beaches, nature walks, wineries and local produce outlets.

Karrak Reach Retreat allows dogs and both chalets we shared the area with had animals with them. All dogs were absolutely brilliant, quiet and well mannered. It is great that there is such affordable accommodation that allows people to bring their fury relatives along on holidays.

A definite winner, great value for money. Hard to beat!

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sally_1563
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
esperance
1 review
Reviewed 11 March 2009

My partner and I wanted a romantic getaway with our 3 dogs. All of us were made very welcome and the owners on hearing that it was our anniversary gave us a complimentary bottle of excellent local champagne. The property has only 4 chalets which adds to the privacy. Just outside the door is a magnificent forest with huge karri trees and sheoaks. There are several paths and rustic jarrah picnic tables at strategic points throughout the forest, perfect for relaxing with some local wine and cheese while watching the birds flitting around the bush. There were some many birds - the famous blue wren which is a symbol of Denmark, wagtails, heaps of different parrots. Kookaburras and kangas came around the chalets at sunset. The chalets were beautifully presented and well equipped, complete with spas. The views were truely spectacular. We will definitely come back.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EsperanceRover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 October 2008

This retreat is on a beautiful property surrounded by tingle trees in the Scotsdale Valley in Denmark. There are four chalets available and they all have views over the forest and farmland, with geese, sheep, llamas and other small animals grazing as you look out your chalet window.
Chalets are impressive looking and well fitted out with equipped kitchens, good bed linen and are clean throughout. Some have spa baths overlooking the fields/ forest. All the mod cons are available including a selection of DVD's for those needing a little entertainment. We were happy just to soak up the serenity!
The balcony has a BBQ so you can relax with your glass of wine, with a beautiful view and cook up a barbie.
Apart from the complete peace and quiet and privacy you get staying on this property, the best thing about it is you are welcome to bring along your four legged friend, making our holiday complete.
There was a slight problem with our booking meaning we ended up staying in a different chalet than expected. To make up for this small inconvenience we were treated to a bottle of wine and a free lunch at our choice of local wineries. This more than made up for it!
We will definitely be returning for a longer stay.

  • Liked — The views
  • Disliked — Wrap up, it gets cold in Denmark!
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dog122333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Denmark hotels
5.1 mi away
Sensational Heights Bed and Breakfast
6.4 mi away
Aiyana Retreat
Aiyana Retreat
#2 of 33 in Denmark
276 reviews
5.3 mi away
31 on the Terrace
31 on the Terrace
#2 of 17 in Denmark
123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
The Floating Forest Retreat
4.8 mi away
Karma Chalets and Karisma Spa
4.0 mi away
Chimes Spa Retreat
Chimes Spa Retreat
#3 of 33 in Denmark
211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Karrak Reach Forest Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Karrak Reach Forest Retreat

Property: Karrak Reach Forest Retreat
Address: 103 Silver Rd | Scotsdale, Denmark, Western Australia 6333, Australia
Region: Australia > Western Australia > Denmark
Amenities:
Kitchenette Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Denmark
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With magnificent views over the Scotsdale Valley, Karrak Reach Forest Retreat is a very special place which will appeal to those who want to experience the spirit of Denmark.Our chalets are architect designed & solar passive.Surrounded by 50 acres of majestic karri forest and rolling pasture, the property abounds with wildlife and birds.Well behaved dogs are welcome inside. Karrak Reach is situated in the heart of the Denmark wine district with easy access to all attractions. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing