We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Magical escape” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Karma Chalets and Karisma Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Karma Chalets and Karisma Spa
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Magical escape”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014

If you are looking for a peaceful, relaxing getaway amongst the beautiful trees in Denmark with spectacular views out to sea then Karma is your place. I have stayed here several times over recent years and have not had one bad trip. The friendly owners, Beverley and Don, make you feel welcome as soon as you arrive and will leave you in peace during your stay unless you need them. They can recommend delicious local food options or must see spots. The cosy chalets have everything you could want while you are away from home and they have a rustic country charm that makes it feel like home rather than a hotel. They even have bbqs on the balconies! Karisma spa is just beautiful and I can recommend the pod, bamboo massage and hot stone massage! As soon as you walk into Karisma any stress or pressure you may have had is diffused with beautiful artwork, yummy smells of oils and friendly smiles to welcome you into blissful pampering sessions... What's not to love about this place? I don't understand bad reviews...it's 5 mins from town if you need to be close to people but far enough away to embrace isolation for relaxation, peace and quiet...and morning serenades from the kookaburras... The great southern wineries are a hop skip and jump and so is the spectacular coastline such as Greens Pool and Elephant Rocks.... If you love nature, then you will love Karma and Karisma...

Room Tip: The chalets are different sizes to suit how many people you have and your budget :) you can buy food...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Olivia12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    49
    28
    5
    5
    1
See reviews for
28
41
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2014

An amazing location nestled amongst the tall trees up high on a hill overlooking farms and the ocean in the distance. Very comfortable, cosy and clean chalets- that our young children also felt very safe and comfortable in. A little experience of getting back to nature- seeing the many kangaroos and birds- which you can feed from the balcony. Peaceful location with great little bush walks or short 5 min drive to Denmark town or other coastal sites. I also had a spa treatment which was lovely- better than many of the spas in perth I must say (massage and facial highly recommend). The owners were also very friendly and helpful and seem to love what they do. The price for our stay was very reasonable- much more affordable than other down south options. All in all- we will definitely be back! Loved it!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Perthyoungfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2014

We stayed for 2 nights in peace. We loved it and will definitely be returning. The chalet was big, clean and in a superb setting and the owner was a helpful friendly lady. It was exactly what we had hoped for, the tranquil setting even calmed the kids down for a couple of days!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wayne h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2014 via mobile

We stayed for two nights, in the chalet 'Tranquility'. Overall, it was a nice stay. Perched up on the hill, you feel slightly removed from civilisation and the highway just below. The chalet was clean and comfortable, perhaps slightly out-dated though. The bird seed was a nice touch. The lady who checked us in was friendly and helpful with any queries we had. Only disappointment was not being able to get an appointment at the spa!

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Western Australia, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2014

We booked Karisma Spa at the Karma Chalets in Denmark for a 'Girls Day Out' in January this year and we were all very happy with the experience. The staff welcome is professional, the venue is clean and beautiful, and the treatments are amazing!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MissWendy29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KarmaChalets, Owner at Karma Chalets and Karisma Spa, responded to this review, 17 March 2014
So glad you liked Karisma Spa. We love it too! As owners, we would like to thank our wonderful therapists, Denise, Suzy and Stephanie. They are amazing.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
108 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2014

I had actually stayed at Karma not long after it opened maybe 15 years ago, not much has changed. It's quite nice, wonderful views to Wilson Inlet across the valley, it's about 5Km out of town, so not walking distance and you approach it up a very bumpy gravel and dirt track, not good if you have a normal car (not a 4X4). The accommodation is alright for $310 a night, the bedrooms are a good size and nice and clean, the bathrooms are excellent, well fitted out, but water pressure is quite low (saving water and septic tank issues?) Outside maintenance is poor.
There is a strict no dog policy. however due to circumstances we had to take our dog down to Denmark (we had him booked in with a local Kennel the next day).
When we checked in we mentioned we had a dog and that we were happy for him to sleep in the car over night. The pleasant check in lady suddenly became quite irate, the happy smiling face replaced with fire and brimstone. There was no way another dog could stay on the property for one minute, although her own dog was allowed to wander around outside without a leash. We were then subjected to such spit and bile that we almost cancelled the holiday. I was quite happy to sleep in the car overnight on the side of the road, but we found a very helpful place just down the road who were lifesavers.
Anyway, we had a reasonable holiday, but these people have no idea about customer service, I don't think they should be in the hospitality industry at all, maybe they've been there too long and just need to retire.
I think if you fit their ideal of the perfect guest then everything will be fine, as soon as you go outside that ideal all hell breaks loose. NOT happy Jan, we won't be back.

Room Tip: Choose somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Michael D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KarmaChalets, Owner at Karma Chalets and Karisma Spa, responded to this review, 17 March 2014
We were obviously not happy to read this review, however, some situations will never have an amicable resolution. The two couples booked into this upmarket chalet arrived on Boxing Day. They had received our terms and conditions with their confirmation which clearly states our 'Strictly No Pets Policy". Our chalets are not set up for pets, we are located in a forest with lots of small animals and birds and there is no where which is sensitive to nature to exercise (for toilet purposes) guests dogs.

As it was Boxing Day and Denmark was completely sold out for the Xmas break, we did not have an opportunity to find any alternative accommodation for these guests and their pet. We spent some time on their behalf trying to contact the local kennels but they were not answering their phones on this public holiday. Perhaps if these guests had called ahead and discussed the matter we may have been able to solve the problem but their suggestion of leaving the dog in the car from check in until the next morning, seems to me to be a most unsatisfactory solution. We have 10 chalets and many of the guests staying at that time would have liked to bring their pets. If we had permitted one dog, we would have had 9 other unhappy guests.

By the way, our water is not scheme water and therefore the pressure is a bit less than mains pressure but it comes from the most wonderful spring fed bore and is the sweetest most wonderful water you have ever tasted or showered under.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 December 2013

The accommodation is excellent: clean, well equipped, close to town and also secluded enough to be a truly peaceful getaway. The view from the master bedroom (we stayed in the chalet 'Wonder') was amazing - across the valley with views to the sea. Fully self contained accommodation - making meals was a breeze, and we made use of the CD/mp3 player and DVD hire. Highlights included the birds regularly visiting the balcony, and the on site day spa facility. Beverley was also very helpful and provided us with great local maps upon arrival. All in all a fantastic getaway.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jemma C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Denmark hotels
2.6 mi away
Aiyana Retreat
Aiyana Retreat
#2 of 33 in Denmark
5.0 of 5 bubbles 271 reviews
0.9 mi away
Chimes Spa Retreat
Chimes Spa Retreat
#5 of 33 in Denmark
4.0 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
7.7 mi away
Sensational Heights Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
31 on the Terrace
31 on the Terrace
#2 of 17 in Denmark
4.5 of 5 bubbles 119 reviews
1.1 mi away
Celestine Retreat
Celestine Retreat
#3 of 33 in Denmark
5.0 of 5 bubbles 84 reviews
1.9 mi away
Windrose B&B
Windrose B&B
#5 of 17 in Denmark
4.5 of 5 bubbles 55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Karma Chalets and Karisma Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Karma Chalets and Karisma Spa

Property: Karma Chalets and Karisma Spa
Address: 1572 South Coast Hwy, Denmark, Western Australia 6333, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Western Australia > Denmark
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 33 Speciality Lodging in Denmark
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Karma Chalets and Karisma Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Karma has 10 unique cedar chalets and the elegant Karisma Spa surrounded by forest with spectacular views across forest and farmland to the ocean. The chalets have kitchens, air-conditioning, wood fires, barbecues, balconies and spa bathrooms. A remarkable nature experience. Colourful birds dart amongst the trees and kangaroos feed out front. Karma is close to superb beaches and dramatic coastal scenery. The amazing Tree Top Walk and Bibbulmun Track are close and Karma is in the heart of the Denmark wine region. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Karma Chalets and Karisma Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing