We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun, Frogs and Delicious Bread!”
Review of Windrose B&B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Windrose B&B
Ranked #5 of 17 Denmark B&B and Inns
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fun, Frogs and Delicious Bread!”
Reviewed 22 April 2013

Nice, clean rooms with water conscious options. Each room as a theme, and interesting glass inserts with environment motifs in the floor. My husband and I stayed for one night, and had nice rest and delicious breakfast.

There are lots of interesting frog themes and information at this B&B which make it quirky and fun. Anna bakes fresh bread in the mornings with a continental breakfast or cooked breakfast options. A great place for couples and nature lovers. Anna gave us great advice on local hiking trails and waterholes, as well as a lift in her car to them!

Great place to stay. Nice, welcoming hosts. I would come back and recommend to a friend.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Magdus82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    31
    20
    3
    2
    0
See reviews for
13
29
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2013

A last minute booking was very easy. Plenty of info given on arrival. You are welcomed like you are an old friend, and it's a genuine welcome from the happy people running this place. Breakfast = awesome! High quality food and plenty of it. interesting wildlife, and very convenient location. Thanks very much Anna and Matt, we will be back next time we visit Denmark.

ps. I love that you run this place with the environment in mind.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank petay71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 7 February 2013

My husband and I came to stay for two nights and would have loved to stay longer. We were greeted with a very warm welcome and had some lovely conversations with Anna, Matt and their kids (their daughter was so kind to even find us some frogs at night). The rooms are clean and comfortable - we had the forest room which also contained some interesting info on frogs. At night the frogs are surely the main attraction: a beautiful chorus of frog calls (3 different types at the time) sang us to sleep. After a good night sleep an excellent breakfast awaited us: homemade, warm bread, eggs any style you like, good quality sausages, bacon, fruit, yoghurt, muesli...etc… and fairy wrens hopped around our feet while we ate outside. Matt offered to drive me to the beginning of a 3 hour walkway, so I could enjoy the walk (without wondering how to get my car back) which ends close to the Windrose B&B. All in all - spot on - thank you all for a lovely stay.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anke S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2013 via mobile

Great value and rooms are lovely with a pond outside. We also loved the trampoline!
Breakfast was ace and kept us full all day! Great place near the beach!! The wineries are amazing nearby too. Highly recommend!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DrDeepakChohan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 December 2012

Where do I start? Firstly, the towels are so old and hard, they actually hurt your skin when drying off! Better bring your own toilet paper or be prepared to ask for more. the breakfast is nothing special and you'll have to wait for things to be restocked because everyone eats at about the same time so the fruit salad and yoghurt is the first to go. Never seems to be enough of anything, bowls, knives and the fridge is only a bar fridge so it's far too small for the 8-10 guests that can stay at any one time.you can tell the heart is not really into the place as living room is dirty and dusty and disorganised, which is unusual foe Germans? So truthfully there is little time, energy and money put into this place and it is showing its age. I wouldn't stay here again and there is a feeling of awkwardness that everyone feels while staying at the Windrose, it's just not going to have you feeling comfortable and certainly doesn't compare to the standards of other places in the same price range.

Room Tip: It won't matter what room you stay in you will be able to hear other people having a shower or g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windrose_Denmark, Manager at Windrose B&B, responded to this review, 4 January 2013
Hi John, thanks for taking the time to rate our property.
Some of the points you cared to mention might be valid and I will endeavour to improve. Obviously it was unfortunate that you came in the busiest week of the year. If you had talked to me you might have found that there are simple solutions to any complaints you might have had.
Anyway, I had a lovely chat with your wife and just quote here what she wrote into our guest book: "Thank you for a great stay! Amazing breakfast, kind people and great frog sounds at night. Elijah, John and Danielle"
So while you are of course entitled to your point of view, it is definitely not true that everyone feels awkward at Windrose. I have too many nice comments from people to believe that.
Have a wonderful new year.
Anna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Western Australia
Level Contributor
89 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2012

A friend and I booked into the Forest Room for 2 nights over the Queen Birthday weekend - the room was minimal but clean and comfortable; I enjoyed two good nights sleep. Each room is decorated differently and ours had the "Forest Theme" which included photos of flora and fauna on the walls and chocolate frogs placed on our pillows. This room appears that it could be used by Disabled Persons - the bathroom is clean, very roomy and includes support rails.

We thoroughly enjoyed the warm hospitality that Anna and her family provide. Unfortunately my friend broke her toe during our journey from Perth to Denmark - Anna was able to provide her with Arnica cream and pain relief. Besides being passionate about her frogs Anna has some interesting stories of Denmark and its history; she can also advise you of the good places to eat or visit. (Ask her to tell you about the Monastery.)

My friend and I were impressed with the lovely home-cooked breakfast which includes several types of bread, including home-made sunflower seed bread that Anna makes fresh each morning, a plate of salami with cheeses, cereals, oatmeal, orange juice, yoghurt and fresh fruit. Anna also offers her guests eggs cooked to their liking, bacon,and German Sausages (Bratwurst and Debreziner).Breakfast is relaxed and so enjoyable - a wonderful way to start the day.

At the end of the day we spent several hours in the common room chatting with other guests and enjoying some TV. Coffee and tea are provided, but a bottle of wine and some good cheese and crackers really hits the spot. On the first night the weather was cold but Anna made sure we were comfortable and stoked the wood burning fire several times; she kept a good eye on us without being intrusive. She has a gift of making people feel cared for and is a thoughtful and sensitive hostess.

Denmark being a country town lacks the road lighting that a city girl like me is used to when driving at night. After returning from dinner at the Denmark Tavern it was dark and we found it difficult to find the driveway - in fact we passed it up. A lower B & B sign would make your light more effective, adding some reflectors or changing to a white flag would help to your guests better ID the entry.

Thank you Anna for a lovely, restful weekend. We hope to come back for another visit in the not too distant future.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Babs_DownUnder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
288 reviews
102 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 179 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2012

It was difficult to decide on a rating for Windrose B&B. In many respects I wanted to give it a 4-dot rating but in reality, I have to be objective about my review and base it on comparisons with other establishments I've stayed in and on what I expect for the price-bracket.

The positives of this property:
- The host was extremely welcoming and clearly loves running her B&B
- The location is quiet, peaceful and relaxing
- We found cute little chocolate frogs on our pillows on arrival
- It was homely, rather than a big chain motel
- The breakfast is to die for
- Guests are more than welcome to while away the hours in the common room

The elements of the property that were average:
- The walls were thin; we could hear the guests two doors down speaking
- The beds are spring based with relatively thin mattresses; slat frames would have been quieter and offered less sag

All-in-all, this was a good B&B. My average rating is a high average. The Windrose is a homely and welcoming B&B in a peaceful and relaxed location with an amazing host.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windrose_Denmark, Manager at Windrose B&B, responded to this review, 8 September 2012
Thank you very much for your positive review.
I am happy that you appreciate our efforts to make our guest's stay as comfortable as possible and take pride into our breakfast. Thank you also for your comments about the walls - it was your next door neighbours that you heard, I appreciate that it can annoy some guests. We are looking now into insulating the walls further so that we won't have any more problems with that. Thank you very much for initiating this renovation! We will also look into buying new mattresses.
Kind regards and thanks again
Anna Ramrath
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Denmark hotels
2.4 mi away
The Koorabup Motel
The Koorabup Motel
#1 of 3 in Denmark
155 reviews
9.5 mi away
Sensational Heights Bed and Breakfast
1.5 mi away
Aiyana Retreat
Aiyana Retreat
#2 of 32 in Denmark
275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
31 on the Terrace
31 on the Terrace
#2 of 17 in Denmark
123 reviews
7.5 mi away
William Bay Country Cottages
2.5 mi away
Chimes Spa Retreat
Chimes Spa Retreat
#3 of 32 in Denmark
209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Windrose B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Windrose B&B

Property: Windrose B&B
Address: 6 Harington Brk, Denmark, Western Australia 6333, Australia
Region: Australia > Western Australia > Denmark
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Denmark
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Windrose B&B 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Windrose B&B we look after you and the environment - a truly green experience in beautiful green Denmark.The Windrose is the perfect base to explore the magic south coast, giant trees and fascinating mountains of the Great Southern area. Relax at magnificent Greens Pool, admire the tingle giants or tackle the Bibbulmun Track and discover the unspoilt beauty of Denmark. Bibbulmun Track Transfer available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Windrose B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing