We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Back to nature, so delightful!”
Review of Windrose B&B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Windrose B&B
Ranked #5 of 17 Denmark B&B and Inns
Brisbane, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Back to nature, so delightful!”
Reviewed 8 November 2013

What a pleasant surprise. As I had booked four months earlier I had completely forgotten what to expect. Being a week night, we were the only guests, so it was completely quiet and private, and we were given our choice of rooms! All the rooms are themed and completely inviting, so you couldn't really go wrong. We did, however, choose the Ocean room which even had a small "beach" inset in to the floor which lit up at night.
Although we could have ventured out for dinner, we chose to grab a couple of bottles of local wine, some bread, cheese and olives and sit outside our room to embrace the natural beauty of our surroundings. As city folk, it was quite a treat.
There is a common room available, but we didn't indulge in TV or internet or any other modern convenience. It was just us, the ducks with their ducklings, and the hundreds of frogs who never stop all night long.
In the morning we ambled down for a freshly brewed coffee, tea, and a choice of fresh fruit and yoghurt, bread and cheese, and toast. Then Anna offered us bacon and eggs. I must say they were the best poached eggs I have had in a long time.......and I have tried a few!
This was my first visit to Denmark (my husband has family originally from there) and I don't know if we will get back again, but thank you Matt and Anna for a very pleasant and memorable stay.

Room Tip: All the rooms are lovely and are equally as good as each other. If you are a light sleeper though a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travel_All_Over_6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    31
    20
    3
    2
    0
See reviews for
13
29
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Greater Perth, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2013 via mobile

Had a lovely stay. Great location, rooms really good and brecki was awesome. Could take our dog which when you are moving Interstate is a must. ..
Great room to sit and watch tv with log fire.
Couldn't fault it.
Thank you.

Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Diyzi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2013

We visited again as we enjoyed our visit so much last time. Owners Matt and Anna were on holiday, but had left the business with Hanny and Else. We were really happy to find they provided the same warm welcome and friendly service. The breakfast was top-notch, and it was wonderful to hear 4 different types of frogs to sing us to sleep.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank petay71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, WA
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2013

My wife and I spent several nights here recently and enjoyed it thoroughly. Anna is a gracious and welcoming host, and both presents a fine breakfast and any help you could possibly need to explore the area. Windrose offers a nice combination of privacy (often rare in a B&B) with sociability, with a well-stocked and attractive common room, and theme-based bedrooms, separate from the house. We never felt underfoot (one reason we don't generally like B&Bs). The wifi was available, although not strong, in the rooms. But it was easy to get, and free, in the common room. Overall, a wonderful place we recommend highly!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank schaferpho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 September 2013

We only had a chance to stay a couple of nights here but could have easily stayed longer. The beautiful chorus of the frogs each night was amazing and the breakfast really is as good as everyone else has said. The owners were away on holiday themselves at the time we visited but they will be very pleased to know that the lovely caretakers they put in charge did a fantastic job in their absence. We would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AndreaHewer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2013 via mobile

I arrived late on Friday, lethargic & tired after a 5 hour drive. Anna, a local of German origin greeted me with a huge smile. I commented on the clarity of the stars in the night sky. She assisted by pointing out and describing the various formations including the Southern Cross.
What first hits you when you arrive is the frogs chorus. It echoes throughout the property. The accommodation is furnished to bring nature to the fore. Sleeping in the eco friendly abode you feel at one and are contributing to a cleaner greener future.
The family hospitality was superb, but the one element that stood out for me was the food. The range, the freshness (the taste of the freshly baked multigrain baguette is something else) of the breakfast was the best start to the day I could have hoped.
Talk about service, Anna's husband guided me round Elephant Rocks, Green Pools and took me to the start of an awesome walk on the Bibulmun Track.
Anna's recommendations about day trip activities were spot on. Her knowledge of native flora and fauna was excellent.
I can't recommend Windrose B&B enough. An example of service and hospitality personified.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank D4v1dC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2013

We stayed in Windrose B&B late April '13. This is an honest bed and breakfast run by an enthusiastic and a very welcoming host , Anna. Very interested in hearing what we had to say, shared her experience in the region, understood what we expected and recommended excellent routes.

I agree Andrew G (from Brisbane)'s positive comments and I don't mind the negative's he mentioned. Yes the beds can do with a bit of a support. As for the insulation, well the forest room we stayed in, has storage and shower rooms adjoining with the neighbors' so there was a buffer. The people we have stayed with at the same time were all too considerate anyway. We did not hear anything or we were too happy to fall asleep with the incredibly beautiful chorus of frogs. If you find any noise uncomfortable while you comfy earplugs have been though for. What an excellent touch! One of many little beautiful personal touches around the place. It has a communal feel rather than a commercial entity and that's what we loved about this place.

You have to take this place for what it is, which is a brilliant little family B&B. It is so unfair to suggest, like John U from Perth, that no effort has gone into this property. The owner have indeed put a lot of effort and thought into the "concept" of B&B, and the design of rooms. Every room has a different theme, and the overall B&B is focused on wildlife and fauna (mainly frogs) around it. Yes the fridge in the common room is too small for use by one family let alone several people but could it be down to the fact that this place is trying to be carbon / energy natural? Do not look into this B&B through the eyes of a spoilt city slicker rather an environmental enthusiast and you will see that it is a hidden treasure. We felt like we were family friends staying over night and for that privilege it is an absolute bargain!

...Did I mention the delicious breakfast and home made bread?(by the way eggs are fresh from their chickens! What a delight!)

PS: Anna, we are definitely coming back for a longer stay with our little baby girl once she arrives in July :)

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hakanakah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Denmark hotels
2.4 mi away
The Koorabup Motel
The Koorabup Motel
#1 of 3 in Denmark
159 reviews
2.9 mi away
31 on the Terrace
31 on the Terrace
#2 of 17 in Denmark
123 reviews
1.5 mi away
Aiyana Retreat
Aiyana Retreat
#2 of 33 in Denmark
276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.5 mi away
William Bay Country Cottages
9.5 mi away
Sensational Heights Bed and Breakfast
2.5 mi away
Chimes Spa Retreat
Chimes Spa Retreat
#3 of 33 in Denmark
211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Windrose B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Windrose B&B

Property: Windrose B&B
Address: 6 Harington Brk, Denmark, Western Australia 6333, Australia
Region: Australia > Western Australia > Denmark
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Denmark
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Windrose B&B 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Windrose B&B we look after you and the environment - a truly green experience in beautiful green Denmark.The Windrose is the perfect base to explore the magic south coast, giant trees and fascinating mountains of the Great Southern area. Relax at magnificent Greens Pool, admire the tingle giants or tackle the Bibbulmun Track and discover the unspoilt beauty of Denmark. Bibbulmun Track Transfer available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Windrose B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing