We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed -”
Review of Denmark Waterfront Restaurant - CLOSED

Denmark Waterfront Restaurant
Price range: US$20 - US$25
Cuisines: Seafood, Australian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Perth, Western Australia
Level 6 Contributor
92 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Disappointed -”
Reviewed 1 October 2012

A friend and I went to Denmark for the Queens Birthday long weekend. After enjoying a beautiful drive to the Waterfront Restaurant we were disappointed to be greeted with a sign on the door advising the restaurant was closed.
In hindsight it would have been a good idea to make a reservation and save ourselves a wasted trip.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Babs_DownUnder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

21 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    4
    2
    3
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeenshire
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Denmark at the Waterfront”
Reviewed 8 June 2012

This restaurant/motel is next to a luxury holiday chalet called Pelicans at Denmark we stayed at in May 2012. We had a meal there on our last evening & wished we tried it sooner! Extensive & varied menu, my husband had the best steak he's eaten in a long time, huge, juicy & perfectly cooked to his order, quite something as we hail from the home of Aberdeen Angus cows! I had the tempura fish & chips which was enormous and again beautifully cooked. This is no 'nouvelle cuisine' place the food was presented in an unpretentious way but the quality was 5* We met the owner & chef Maurice Buck and told him the food was cooked beautifully so I am very surprised at some of the other reviews I've read as this was not our experience & if in Denmark again wouldn't hesitate to eat there again

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank maxipooh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mount Martha, Victoria, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Tempura Fish”
Reviewed 24 May 2012

Glad I didn't read the other reviews before we went, probably wouldn't have bothered. Our only complaint was it wasn't open the first 2 days we were in town, so on our third attempt they were open. We sat on the lovely deck overlooking the inlet on a gorgeous sunny day, and had the restaurant all to ourselves. Loved the fish (and I am very picky with fish) with a light batter and a perfect size (not too big - which is what I usually find).

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WA
Level 6 Contributor
154 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Unpretentious and good value”
Reviewed 22 April 2012

The setting for this restaurant is one of the nicest in town. It's a venue that has struggled over the years, but the latest owners are pulling out all stops to attract new customers, particularly families and others on a budget. The fixed price menu, with a choice of one, two or three courses is fantastic value for money with generous serves. The menu has no pretensions, offering honest food at honest prices. The wine list features only local wines - full marks for that. Sunday lunch with friends gave value for money and more than decent wine. We'll be back.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank jayjay163
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A nice easy going venue”
Reviewed 19 April 2012

We stopped on our first night in town and had a good pub meal.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Steven J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Denmark Waterfront Restaurant also viewed

 
Denmark, Western Australia
Denmark, Western Australia
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing