We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Denmark
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Grange on Shadforth
Ranked #3 of 17 Denmark B&B and Inns
Doune, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great stay”
Reviewed 31 March 2013

Jenny ands Phil were the most hospitable hosts, and looked after us so well.
Anything we asked for they provided with good humour and courtesy. The breakfasts
Phil cooked were so tasty. We also appreciated having a fridge for our own use - very
handy for keeping our wine cool! The views from the house were lovely, with cows in
the fields, and bright birds in the garden.
The final touch were the port and chocolates to be enjoyed later on in the evening.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

45 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    43
    1
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
7
30
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2012

My husband & I were here for a mini-break in May. The hosts Jenny & Phil have struck the perfect balance of being friendly without being intrusive. The view from the back is stunning. The breakfast is soooo good. The muffins & coffee available for afternoon tea was much appreciated after busy mornings checking out Denmark's beaches. The port & chocolate before bed also hit the spot. The bed was comfortable, the bathroom lovely. The whole house is well kept & spotlessly clean. It doesn't take long to feel realy at home. For a relaxing getaway with a country feel, I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 14 November 2012

We spent two day here, all is fantastic. The host: Jeanny and Phill is excellent. We had a lovely scramble egg and sweet tomato for breakkie, sherry before bed, and i love the view at the back.
Their room is very comfy with the backyard scenery, so lovely. What a service excellent experience!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2012

We were in town for a wedding, with the venue directly over the road, location was the main reason for choosing this B&B. We were impressed with the service and attention to detail and considerations given to the smallest comforts.

The decor wasnt my cup of tea, it was styled to resemble a traditional old english B&B. It did however fit with the surroundings, was clean and a well maintained property. The rooms were well appointed, with all the amenities required for a comfortable, relaxing stay. The glass of port served at turn down each evening, was a lovely touch and welcomed by not only my husband, but other guests in house.

The hosts of the establishment were very friendly, helpful, informative and available with a ring of a bell. They were always happy to put something together for us, tea, coffee, beautiful homemade biscuits were always out for the taking, and simple but tasty breakfasts were available between 8-9am each morning and finished with fresh flowers from the garden.

Only 5 minutes from town or 20 minute morning walk, this B&B was a good location to town, surrounding wineries, restaurants and other attractions.

If we are in Denmark and needing a place to stay, we would certainly consider staying here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2012

The Grange has now become our favourite place to get away from it all. We stayed for 5 nights this time and as usual, Jenny and Philip made us so welcome. The ambiance is spectacular. This would have to be the best maintained B&B we have stayed in. Everyhting is spotlesss and every effort has been made to make our stay very comfortable. The views are also spectacular across the valley. Eveyrthing is so green and colourful. Plenty of spacious parking. Inside the rooms are large and the en-suites are clean and fresh.

We were also amazed that we were able to have eggs for breakfast (any way you wanted them cooked) with our continental breakfast. Philip's scrambled eggs are to die for. I noticed that all of the other guests were impressed with them also and so Philip was inundated with orders of scrambled eggs for the next five mornings and always served with a smile. Thank you Jenny and Philip for ensuring that our stay was comfortable and relaxing. We will be back.

Room Tip: All rooms are lovely, but the two rooms overlooking the valley is the first choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2012

We stayed in The Grange for two nights. The property is kept immaculately and is located just off a main road but sufficiently private for any traffic to be unnoticed. Our comfortable room was spacious with a comfortable bed and a pleasant view over the garden and valley beyond.
Jenny and Phil made us very welcome from our introductory phone enquiry and always provided excellent information on the most interesting aspects of travelling through the region. Each morning breakfast was served at a family-sized communal table which encouraged generous conversation with the other visitors at the time. Breakfast was provided from an well stocked buffet with options of egg dishes brought to the table. There were tea and coffee facilities in the room as well. We had only two nights available to stay in this convivial atmosphere but we gather that many people stay longer and simply relax in the pleasant environment.

Room Tip: Ask if there is a room with a view over the garden and valley.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bergen
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2012

We stayed four lovely nights during a wedding in Denmark back in February. Jenny and Phil made us feel very welcome the whole stay - they were helpful in every setting from pointing us to the good restaurants in the area, to setting out iron board for us on the day of the wedding. Our room was neat and clean and re-made every day. We will never forget the amazing breakfast prepared every morning and the port wine and amazing star sky in the evenings! The perfect place to stay for relaxing and a great starting point for exploring the great wines and areas around Denmark!

We really hope to come back one day.

PS. Silje loves the home made cookies and says she is willing to travel all the way back to Australia just for tasting them one more time! :)

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Denmark hotels
8.8 mi away
Sensational Heights Bed and Breakfast
0.7 mi away
The Koorabup Motel
The Koorabup Motel
#1 of 3 in Denmark
159 reviews
0.8 mi away
31 on the Terrace
31 on the Terrace
#2 of 17 in Denmark
123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Aiyana Retreat
Aiyana Retreat
#2 of 33 in Denmark
276 reviews
2.9 mi away
Windrose B&B
Windrose B&B
#5 of 17 in Denmark
56 reviews
1.8 mi away
Chimes Spa Retreat
Chimes Spa Retreat
#3 of 33 in Denmark
211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Additional Information about The Grange on Shadforth

Property: The Grange on Shadforth
Address: 404 Mount Shadforth Rd, Denmark, Western Australia 6333, Australia
Region: Australia > Western Australia > Denmark
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Denmark
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax in a tranquil setting, set high on Mt Shadforth with stunning valley and mountain views, relax in our elegantly appointed country retreat.4 spacious ensuite rooms, guest dining and lounge.Walk to first class restaurant. Ideally located for The Tree Top Walk Beaches and Albany just 4 kms from town. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing