We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“If you like cold, dirty, dead bugs in room and noisy this is the place for you!” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dunsborough Beachouse YHA

Dunsborough Beachouse YHA
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Dunsborough Beachouse YHA
Ranked #3 of 4 Dunsborough B&B and Inns
Perth
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“If you like cold, dirty, dead bugs in room and noisy this is the place for you!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2013

Arrived from Perth for one night with friends. No mention on website that I could see that te hostel is unmanned until 3.30 so you cant get your room until after then.
We booked a double but were given a twin due to availability. Twin means 4 bunk beds in a room. The door to the room was open on arrival and the window was broken - with it open and so the room was freezing! My partner asked the manager for a heater as all other rooms had one and he ignored our request. He advised the window wasn't broken it was put in wrong! There were dead bugs in the room and about 5 Mosquitos flying around! The people staying were noisy all night and the room we had was J, which is next to the male toilets and showers! (very thin walls should say enough). My partner and I got no sleep with people coming and going as the room is also on the main thoroughfare with people sitting outside the window until all hours. The hostel wasn't full when we stayed but we weren't allowed to move rooms! All in all the only positive thing was the company we had and the departure in the morning!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EmstuPerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    11
    7
    9
    4
    3
See reviews for
1
5
15
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2013 via mobile

I arrived in dunsborough after driving from Perth and stayed one night. It was a last minute booking and assumed it would meet the usual YHA standards, not quite! This hostel is in a beautiful location, right on the beach and about 20 mins from town. It has the potential to be lovely (and according to a 2008 review it was once!) however, I feel as though it has been let go and now works on the assumption backpackers will put up with anything. The rooms were really dated and dirty with mo aircon, the shared bathrooms weren't too bad but not somewhere you would want to spend any length of time! The kitchen was ok but you need to get any pots and pans from reception, the hall ways were dirty and poorly kept. There are some huge common areas which could be good if you were there for any length of time but otherwise they are full of the long stay people drinking and being very noisy. In their defence they did go quiet about midnight and the staff did try to encourage everyone to head elsewhere. The hostel seemed to be full of people doing their 'regionals' and i imagine if you find a good group of people and are keen to drink lots and are willing to over look the general shabbyness of this hostel then it could be good fun. However, otherwise I would look elsewhere or not stay long, it's expensive for the poor standard and definately not like any other YHA I have stayed in.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lfb12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Dunsborough hotels

Houston, TX
Level Contributor
68 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2012

Stopped off at this hostel for one night after reading other reviews on here. My thoughts:

- Easy access to the Dunsborough area
- Beds were comfortable and the room was clean, however there are no lockers in the room
- Bathrooms were dirty (showers were disgusting, except for the handicapped shower, which I used which was the cleaner of the other 2)
- Property itself isn't well maintained (the picture on here is probably when it opened up); dirty, stuff everywhere; laundry room is overflowing
- Beach behind is very beautiful, however didn't swim in it - took a walk around it at night and there are crabs in it
- Kitchen was filthy (I didn't cook in there, but did check it out)
- Living / dining / pool areas are not bad, however there were other backpackers who decided not to clean-up after themselves

- The place was rowdy with girls screaming and banging on all the doors at midnight

Good place to stay for one night as a stopover. If they cleaned it up really good- it'd be a lot better!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Seetraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2011

Yes, the Dunsborough Beachhose has the perfect beachfront location with direct access to a long, white sandy beach. But what's the point in staying at a beach house if you cannot swim at that beautiful beach? What they forgot to tell you on their website is that marine stingers will ruin your plans of cooling off at the nearby beach.... unless you dare to take the risk of course....at least they provide a bottle of vinegar in case you get stung.
Another disappointment was that I had booked a double room, but the day before I had a voicemail on my phone advising me that they have stuffed up the booking and now only have a twin for us, if that is ok? Well...no, it is not ok, that's why I make a reservation in the first place.
Overall it was an 'ok' place to stay. The room was basic, but clean, and 68 AUD for a double/twin is definitely a good price. But I wouldn't stay there again.

Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank H0neyPie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lucerne
Level Contributor
35 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2009

Although the Beachouse in general is quite a nice place, I was thoroughly disgusted by the behaviour of the guests during the nights of the long weekend I stayed there (Thursday 28 May 2009 arrival, Tuesday departure, Monday 1 June was a holiday): During 3 of the 5 nights I stayed, loud partying was going on, generally until 3-4am. There was an *absolute* disregard for people that would have liked to sleep. Not only was I kept awake by noise from partying in the common area, I also had the misfortune that my room was located near the entrance to the hostel premises, close to the car park: People were continuously walking by my room, or staying right in front of it, talking at the top of their voices, sometimes obviously stone drunk. Don't think I didn't try ear-plugs... I mentioned the problem to Bryce, the guy who was in charge of the hostel, but not much support was forthcoming (not even "spiritual"). I know it's difficult to keep young partygoers "under control", but I have stayed at other hostels where it seems quite possible to maintain a few basic rules of civility. It appears to me that the attitude of the owners/managers attracts guests to match...

That said, there are also some nice, non-noise-related things to say:
- Friendly staff & friendly cat :-)
- Due to low demand I got a bike for free on 3 days (no gears, though)!
- My room was rather small (even though I had a double-bunk room for my own), but it was clean and, thankfully, the carpet was *not* dank and smelly
- Shared toilets/showers were fairly clean for a backpacker hostel, I felt comfortable using them
- In the evening there sometimes was a fire going in the common area, so it wasn't too cold
- Can't say anything about the kitchen, I didn't use it
- The hostel is quite far from town, it's a walk of about 20-30 minutes
- Wireless Internet didn't work from the common area, I had to connect in my room

Non-hostel notes:
- If you plan to go to Cape Naturaliste & the lighthouse, be advised that the bush area on the Cape and surrounding the lighthouse has burned down (I think in December '08), so it's not great fun to walk on the Cape...
- I highly recommend visiting the Ngilgi cave, esp. doing the adventure tour; it's possible to get there by bike on Cave road, although it's not a pleasant ride
- Also highly recommended, because very scenic, are the Canal rocks

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank herzbube102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
26 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2008

Stayed here for a few nights in january, and it was great.

The hostel is really clean (the kitchen is completely spotless, with loads of fridges, and the bathrooms are good too). the layout is nice - kind of like a big rambling house, and the outdoor communal areas are great - picnic tables, hammocks, etc. we stayed in a 4-bed all-female dorm, and it was a nice little room; clean and comfortable! i seem to remember there was something weird about the locks (they look like they lock automatically, but you have to turn the key to lock the door). all the beds also had individual reading lights (not as common as you'd think!).

the most unbeatable thing about this hostel, though, is the fact that it is literally metres away from the most beautiful beach i've ever seen. because it's a little way further down the strip than the main town, the section of the beach in front and around the hostel is really quiet (sometimes we didnt see another soul for hours!) - the water is calm and shallow, and the whole thing is like a dream.

there are daily runs into the main town (a few mins in a car, and if you hired a bike it wouldnt take long to do it yourself either) by the hostel minibus so you can stock up on food to cook at the hotel. we actually walked it when we first arrived in the town, and i don't think it took us more than about 30-45 mins. there's nothing going on in the sleepy town centre anyway, so you're not missing anything by being a little further out, and there's lots of sociability at the hostel anyway if you want it.

just a great place to chill out and enjoy the best of WA... sun, sea and sand!

  • Liked — Location - metres from the most beautiful beach i've ever seen
  • Stayed January 2008, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank LosingMyself
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dunsborough
7.8 mi away
Pullman Bunker Bay Resort Margaret River Region
1.5 mi away
Dunsborough Central Motel
Dunsborough Central Motel
#2 of 2 in Dunsborough
3.5 of 5 bubbles 186 reviews
8.8 mi away
Abbey Beach Resort
Abbey Beach Resort
#4 of 14 in Busselton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Lanterns Retreat
Lanterns Retreat
#1 of 4 in Dunsborough
5.0 of 5 bubbles 338 reviews
0.8 mi away
Bayshore Beachside Resort
Bayshore Beachside Resort
#3 of 20 in Dunsborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 195 reviews
36.4 mi away
Wyndham Vacation Resort & Spa Dunsborough
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dunsborough Beachouse YHA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dunsborough Beachouse YHA

Property: Dunsborough Beachouse YHA
Address: 201 - 205 Geographe Bay Road, Dunsborough, Western Australia 6281, Australia
Region: Australia > Western Australia > Margaret River Region > Dunsborough
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Dunsborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Dunsborough Beachouse YHA 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, HostelWorld, Priceline, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Dunsborough Beachouse YHA reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing