We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The most wonderful experience” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lanterns Retreat

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Lanterns Retreat
Ranked #1 of 4 Dunsborough B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“The most wonderful experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2013

What a wonderful B&B, in fact it is more like an international Hotel but better. Excellent breakfast, lovely private rooms and clean and spacious bathrooms. Our hosts were very welcoming with excellent recommendations on local eateries. Would definitely stay there again, and again, and again.

Room Tip: We chose the roses room which was excellent but I am sure any room would be just as good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank johndavewarren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NewberryManorWA, Owner at Lanterns Retreat, responded to this review, 2 October 2013
Hi John, It was lovely meeting you and so great to hear you had such a wonderful time. All the best, Sally and Serge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

337 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    322
    15
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
259
16
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2013

What a lovely experience it was to stay at Newberry Manor. The house is beautiful, the hosts Sally and Serge are very welcoming, location is just right for a short walk to the beach and into town. We'll definitely be back!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank amwell9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NewberryManorWA, Owner at Lanterns Retreat, responded to this review, 2 October 2013
Yes we are lucky being so close to both the beach and town! Glad you had a great stay - hope to see you down here again sometime soon. Sally and Serge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Western Australia, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2013

A fantastic B&B with all the comforts of home and hosts par excellence to boot! The breakfast menu is nice and varied and the food was delicious. One of the few places left in the area where you can book in for just one night and not have a minimum stay stipulation. Thank you Sally and Serge once again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Des M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NewberryManorWA, Owner at Lanterns Retreat, responded to this review, 22 September 2013
Thanks Des, it was an absolute pleasure to have you to stay. Hope to see you again soon. All the best, Sally and Serge.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2013

I was hoping to spend less than $200 a night, but couldn't find anywhere for 2 people which looked up to the standard I prefer for this amount in the Dunsborough area. So I had to bite the bullet and book into the Newberry Manor (we went for the cheapest room, which was $245/night).

Thankfully, once we arrived I was very happy that we had picked Newberry Manor. The room was large and the bed comfy (with electric blankets!). Sally and Serge were both very friendly and helpful.

We wanted to walk to dinner, so Sally recommended the Pour House in Dunsborough, which was just our kind of place, great beer and wine, good food and a lively atmosphere.

Location was perfect, a couple of minutes walk to the beach, a short drive to the Cape Naturaliste lighthouse, not to mention Eagle Bay, Bunker Bay etc...

The guest lounge was a great addition, we sat and enjoyed some port and chocolates next to the fire whilst watching Snakes on a Plane (really!) on the large TV.

And last, but not least, I also really enjoyed breakfast.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank EL4444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NewberryManorWA, Owner at Lanterns Retreat, responded to this review, 22 September 2013
Really great to hear you enjoyed our central location - we are lucky! Hope you enjoyed your first time in Dusnborough too and that you manage to pop down here again during your time living in Perth.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2013

Fantastic B&B experience. Sally and Serge were friendly and helpful; and were extremely accommodating of our requests. The attention to detail made the stay memorable. The breakfast menu is broad, and the food was delicious.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bradley B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NewberryManorWA, Owner at Lanterns Retreat, responded to this review, 22 September 2013
Thanks so much for taking the time to write us a lovely review. All the best, Sally and Serge.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Western Australia, Australia
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2013

My first visit to Newberry Manor and what an amazing experience it was, my stay was supposed to be for two nights but having experienced the brilliant hospitality of both Sally and Serge along with the amazing location and serene atmosphere another night was definitely on the agenda. I apologise for the cliche but seriously it doesn't get any better than this, My experience was better than i could ever have hoped for. I will recommend Newberry Manor to all, and for all requirements.

Room Tip: all rooms are enormous and serene
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Suzie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NewberryManorWA, Owner at Lanterns Retreat, responded to this review, 22 September 2013
But when the pool's finished there will be more ... and you're invited back to enjoy it anytime! So let's share a glass of wine around the pool on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2013

“The true secret of happiness lies in taking a genuine interest in all the details of daily life.” William Morris, author of the quote, would have found Sally and Serge exceedingly happy as attention to detail is what makes Newberry Manor exceptional. They strove to make our two night stay an unforgettable experience through so many aspects including warm and personalised hosting, luxuriously appointed rooms and bathrooms, chocolates and port graciously provided and intimacy and exclusivity one can only have in a boutique establishment. To work off the heavenly breakfast (the Newberry Triffle is a must), I highly recommend running (or walking for those living on the not-so-fast lane) along the bay which gives long, unbroken trails and breathtaking views. Thank you very much Sally and Serge, we look forward to coming back and bathing in the new pool!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Annick R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NewberryManorWA, Owner at Lanterns Retreat, responded to this review, 22 September 2013
We can't wait to have you back whenever you're next in sunny WA! Thanks for your gorgeous review and hope life's treating you well over there in wonderful Paris.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dunsborough
5.8 mi away
Pullman Bunker Bay Resort Margaret River Region
3.2 mi away
Windmills Break
Windmills Break
#2 of 2 in Yallingup
4.5 of 5 bubbles 307 reviews
6.2 mi away
Smiths Beach Resort
Smiths Beach Resort
#1 of 2 in Yallingup
4.5 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Dunsborough Central Motel
Dunsborough Central Motel
#2 of 2 in Dunsborough
3.5 of 5 bubbles 186 reviews
10.6 mi away
Abbey Beach Resort
Abbey Beach Resort
#4 of 14 in Busselton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,354 reviews
4.9 mi away
Seashells Yallingup
Seashells Yallingup
#2 of 13 in Yallingup
4.5 of 5 bubbles 381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lanterns Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lanterns Retreat

Property: Lanterns Retreat
Address: 16 Newberry Rd, Dunsborough, Western Australia 6281, Australia (Formerly Newberry Manor)
Region: Australia > Western Australia > Margaret River Region > Dunsborough
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Dunsborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Lanterns Retreat 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lanterns Retreat is luxuriously appointed bed and breakfast accommodation situated in the heart of old Dunsborough, within easy walking distance of the town centre and beautiful local beaches. Guests enjoy exquisite suites with ensuites. Complimentary port and chocolates await, plus a log fire in winter. Cooked and continental gourmet breakfast options are freshly prepared every morning. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Lanterns Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing