We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best weekend away ever!”
Review of Lanterns Retreat

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Lanterns Retreat
Ranked #1 of 4 Dunsborough B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Albany, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best weekend away ever!”
Reviewed 5 February 2014

This was our "babymoon" so we wanted a littel luxuary.. and thats what we got! we booked the upstairs Orchid room which came with a balcony overy looking beatifully manicured gardens. the room was amazing! large spaciouse and lux! the spa was amazing! my husband being 6ft4" could fit in there easily! the fresh flowers in the room along with all little bits and pieces that you dont usually get in a room (torches, sewing kit makeup remover etc..) were great! the mini bar was well stocked and we made good use of all the sweeties and snacks. unfortunatly not the wine though due to being pregant but im sure they would have been lovely! breakfast on both days were great! banana smoothies, english breakfasts, crepes.. so much to choose from and all were yummy!

Serge and Sally are wonderful hosts! with plenty of local knowledge about the town and surrounding attractions! couldnt really ask for more! i wish we had stayed longer so we could enjoy the pool (although this was still in its final stages of completion but looks like a great place to unwind! i also spied a pizza stove.. you need more time that a weekend to enjoy everything!)

We would stay here again without a doubt! maybe out next get away when grandma is looking after the baby =)

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zoe M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NBM2012, Owner at Lanterns Retreat, responded to this review, 6 March 2014
So wonderful to read your kind words. Many thanks indeed! We hope that baby will be the most wonderful of blessings. Sally and I are looking forward to seeing you again. The pool has seen a fair bit of action of late and the plants are in! All set for cocktails and relaxing times!
Keep in touch. :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

359 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    342
    16
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
277
19
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2014 via mobile

A lovely small hotel / guest house. I had a Huge bedroom and great bathroom with both shower and a spa bath. There's a good selection of teas in the room. Add to this free chockies & port in the lounge. All finished off with a good quality & substantial breakfast.

Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Boltstress
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NewberryManorWA, Owner at Lanterns Retreat, responded to this review, 25 January 2014
We're really happy to hear you enjoyed our place so much - hope to see you again, perhaps staying for pleasure rather than business next time! Serge and Sally
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 20 January 2014

In town for a wedding, we found Newberry manor a wonderful place to stay, for its ideal location (close to town, but away from the busy strip), welcoming and friendly service and reasonable price. With large rooms and bathrooms, very comfortable beds and lots of thoughtful details to make the stay special (port and chocolates, a selection of DVDs and books, and original and delicious breakfast options). Definitely recommended, we hope to return.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BarneyB00ts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NewberryManorWA, Owner at Lanterns Retreat, responded to this review, 25 January 2014
We love our location too - nestled in here with such a pretty walk to either the beach or town. You'll have to come for a longer stay next time! Many thanks for taking the time to write us a review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 14 January 2014

Breakfast was served at the time you desired and was delicious. The room was huge as was the bathroom, with towelling robes included. Sally made us feel so welcome. Location was 2 minutes drive from town and no more then 10 from Meelup beach. We would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Simdalts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NewberryManorWA, Owner at Lanterns Retreat, responded to this review, 25 January 2014
Great to hear you guys had such a good time. Would love to have you to stay again anytime!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 2 January 2014 via mobile

Excellent service. We stayed at hibiscus room..very spacious,nice decoration,big and lovely bedroom,beautiful garden just waiting for the pool to be finished then it would be perfect..Came here on our wedding anniversary and Sally made a lovely homemade muffins..very personal and we loved it!

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mssbrief
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NewberryManorWA, Owner at Lanterns Retreat, responded to this review, 6 January 2014
It was lovely to meet you guys and great to hear you had such a good time. Thanks also for passing our info on to Doris - she came in and we had a lovely chat about Vienna (one of my favourite places). All the best, Sally
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 December 2013 via mobile

Very nice B&B, very welcoming and great room. We stayed in the Rose Room which had a jacuzzi, robes included and a nice private terrace which we used in the evening. Breakfast was excellent (quality and choice wise). Would definitely recommend if staying in the Dunsborough area.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank KieranW1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NewberryManorWA, Owner at Lanterns Retreat, responded to this review, 6 January 2014
Hi Keiran, we're really happy to hear you enjoyed your stay so much - I hope you're surviving the storms over there in the UK at the moment. The sun continues to shine on here - you're always welcome to come back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 December 2013

Had a fantastic stay at the newbury manor , Sally and Serge completely charming hosts . The rooms are large and extremely well presented and the breakfasts are divine. We would definitely return and stay again .

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beth C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NewberryManorWA, Owner at Lanterns Retreat, responded to this review, 6 January 2014
It was an absolute pleasure to have you to stay - hope to see you again sometime. Sally and Serge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dunsborough
5.8 mi away
Pullman Bunker Bay Resort Margaret River Region
3.1 mi away
Windmills Break
Windmills Break
#2 of 2 in Yallingup
4.5 of 5 bubbles 318 reviews
6.2 mi away
Smiths Beach Resort
Smiths Beach Resort
#1 of 2 in Yallingup
4.5 of 5 bubbles 142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Dunsborough Central Motel
Dunsborough Central Motel
#2 of 2 in Dunsborough
3.5 of 5 bubbles 191 reviews
10.6 mi away
Abbey Beach Resort
Abbey Beach Resort
#4 of 14 in Busselton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,379 reviews
2.6 mi away
Empire Spa Retreat
Empire Spa Retreat
#1 of 11 in Yallingup
4.5 of 5 bubbles 319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lanterns Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lanterns Retreat

Property: Lanterns Retreat
Address: 16 Newberry Rd, Dunsborough, Western Australia 6281, Australia (Formerly Newberry Manor)
Region: Australia > Western Australia > Margaret River Region > Dunsborough
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Dunsborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Lanterns Retreat 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lanterns Retreat is luxuriously appointed bed and breakfast accommodation situated in the heart of old Dunsborough, within easy walking distance of the town centre and beautiful local beaches. Guests enjoy exquisite suites with ensuites. Complimentary port and chocolates await, plus a log fire in winter. Cooked and continental gourmet breakfast options are freshly prepared every morning. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Lanterns Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing