We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise in Dunsborough”
Review of Lanterns Retreat

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Lanterns Retreat
Ranked #1 of 4 Dunsborough B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Paradise in Dunsborough”
Reviewed 22 March 2014

My wife and I spent a day here and this was the best place we had stayed in our week tour of Western Australia. We were overwhelmed by the enthusiasm and warm hospitality of the our host- Serge and Sally. The place is beautifully decorated with close attention to fine details. Those pretty picture you see at the website is exactly what you will be pampered with. We can feel the passion and thoughtfulness of the hosts in the little details, like serving red wine with chocolates, candles in the bathroom, serving good quality homemake breakfast.
The manor has a swimming pool which the couple built by themselves! Although the garden around the pool is not totally ready, the sight of the pool from the the breakfast room adds to the relaxing mood that the manor brings.
Location is good, it is a 3 mins walk to the beach and a short drive (walk if you want) to many eating places. Wonderful place, wonderful experience!
Excellent, Highly recommended.
By James & Evelyn (Singapore)

Room Tip: Any room is good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KeepTheGlobe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NBM2012, Owner at Lanterns Retreat, responded to this review, 22 March 2014
Thank you so much for leaving such a lovely review for our little B&B. We certainly enjoyed your company and your upbeat personalities. We are delighted you had a pleasant stay here and we hope to see you again in the near future. Many thanks for the feedback.
Serge and Sally
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

368 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    351
    16
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
11
284
19
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2014

My husband and I stayed at Newberry manor at the beginning of March as part of a long holiday in Australia and Singapore from the UK. We had a lovely time there - only one night and we could have wished for more! Our room was pleasant and spotlessly clean and the bed incredibly comfortable. Sally produced a delicious breakfast the next morning which was such a treat! We enjoyed all the amenities of this lovely B and B and felt that we were welcomed guests rather than anonymous clients. Sally was a mine of local information which was so helpful as we had limited time in the area. We would thoroughly recommend this B and B and hope to return there ourselves some day!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alison_aldridge2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NBM2012, Owner at Lanterns Retreat, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Hi Alison,
Thanks for this delightful feedback. We shall look forward to seeing you again in beautiful Dunsborough when you next find the time to escape "Mother England". We trust the rest of your trip went well and that Singapore was up to your expectations too.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2014

This was the best place we stayed at in our four week tour of Western Australia. Our room (upstairs) was huge, with a pleasant sitting area, private balcony, and a very comfortable bed. Sally is a very friendly and capable hostess. Excellent breakfast, lovely pool and interesting garden, which she enjoyed showing off since we are also keen gardeners. The other guests were chatty at breakfast: that is one of the pleasures of staying at a B&B rather than impersonal hotels.There is a guest barbecue which we didn't use, but would next time. Dunsborough is a pleasant small town with at least one very good restaurant (recommended by Sally) and most of the attractions of the Margaret River area (wineries, beaches, art galleries, scenery) within an easy day's drive. The lighthouse and caves, each about half an hour's drive away, are well worth a visit.

Room Tip: The upstairs room might be the best one--we didn't see the others.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NewberryManorWA, Owner at Lanterns Retreat, responded to this review, 12 March 2014
Hi Robert and Hilary, It was absolutely lovely to meet you and we are truly flattered to hear you enjoyed our place the most of everywhere you stayed in WA. Such a shame Serge wasn't home as he would have enjoyed chatting 'books' and 'gardens' with you for hours as well! I hope your Australian plants were in good shape when you returned home and I hope you're able to make it to WA again in the not too distant future to see ours grow!
With best wishes, Sally and Serge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2014

I stayed in a gorgeous room, relaxed sore muscles in a sumptuous spa bath and hung out on the verandah overlooking a delightful garden. Sally was the perfect blend of friendly and professional and very helpful and knowledgeable about the area.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2girls0ntheg0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NewberryManorWA, Owner at Lanterns Retreat, responded to this review, 12 March 2014
Well done you for walking the Cape to Cape and glad we could help with a little post-exertion relaxation! It's really great to hear you had a lovely time and hope you can come and stay again sometime soon.
Sally and Serge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2014

In November, when we were last at Newberry Manor, we said we would come again to "check out" Sally and Serge's swimming pool which was at that time under construction. So our second stay in February resulted in a refreshing swim in their delightful swimming pool. Sitting by the pool was so relaxing and you couldn't help but see Sally and Serge's attention to detail - The garden is just lovely and the design of the outdoor area certainly does Sally and Serge proud and shows that their hard work has paid off. The new front wall is definitely a "Labour Of Love". We had the upstairs room with a spa. It was just magic, large, very clean and full of charm. The fridge was well stocked and coffee and tea facilities were available. The breakfast was great with a menu that enabled us to have a lot of choice. Nothing was too much trouble for Sally and Serge and they genuinely welcomed us back again. Thanks so much we had a fantastic stay at your B& B and we will be back to "road-test" the new pizza oven. Jo & Paul

Room Tip: The upstairs room was extra large with a balcony that looks out onto the garden area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jo-Anne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NBM2012, Owner at Lanterns Retreat, responded to this review, 8 March 2014
Thanks so much Jo. We are glad you had a lovely time and that you enjoyed a swim with Paul in the pool. A labour of love it is and will remain for the near future as the pizza oven will be completed shortly followed by the remodeling of the back section of the garden. We can't wait to bake our own pizzas! Summer is dwindling down but we love it here no matter what the season. The fire will be crackling in the fire place soon. Take care and keep in touch. Serge and Sally.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2014

My wife and I stayed for the first time at Newberry Manor over the March Long Weekend.
The rooms were beautifully appointed, the friendlieness and service of Sally and her assistant was fantastic and the quailty of the food terrific.

ZMy wife and I will cerstianly be visiting/staying again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Craig H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NewberryManorWA, Owner at Lanterns Retreat, responded to this review, 12 March 2014
Hi Craig and Annie, it was so lovely having you guys to stay. Serge is home and well recovered so we look forward to a glass of wine round the pool with you on your next visit in April.
All the best, Sally and Serge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed 3 March 2014

Great weekend in Dunsborough. Huge room, Port, chocolates and friendly service. Sally was welcoming and wonderful. The pool was just put in, looks fantastic! Will be back as soon as we get the chance.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NewberryManorWA, Owner at Lanterns Retreat, responded to this review, 12 March 2014
Hi Melissa and Aaron, great to meet you guys and fantastic you had such a great weekend! Look forward to seeing you again sometime soon.
Sally and Serge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dunsborough
5.8 mi away
Pullman Bunker Bay Resort Margaret River Region
3.1 mi away
Windmills Break
Windmills Break
#2 of 2 in Yallingup
323 reviews
24.3 mi away
Grand Mercure Basildene Manor
Grand Mercure Basildene Manor
#1 of 10 in Margaret River
699 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Ramada Resort Dunsborough
Ramada Resort Dunsborough
#3 of 20 in Dunsborough
400 reviews
0.7 mi away
Dunsborough Central Motel
Dunsborough Central Motel
#2 of 2 in Dunsborough
196 reviews
2.6 mi away
Empire Spa Retreat
Empire Spa Retreat
#1 of 11 in Yallingup
329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lanterns Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lanterns Retreat

Property: Lanterns Retreat
Address: 16 Newberry Rd, Dunsborough, Western Australia 6281, Australia (Formerly Newberry Manor)
Region: Australia > Western Australia > Margaret River Region > Dunsborough
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Dunsborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Lanterns Retreat 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lanterns Retreat is luxuriously appointed bed and breakfast accommodation situated in the heart of old Dunsborough, within easy walking distance of the town centre and beautiful local beaches. Guests enjoy exquisite suites with ensuites. Complimentary port and chocolates await, plus a log fire in winter. Cooked and continental gourmet breakfast options are freshly prepared every morning. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, LateRooms and Evoline ltd so you can book your Lanterns Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing