We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Christmas break”
Review of Halcyon Bay

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dunsborough
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Halcyon Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, Australia
1 review
“Christmas break”
Reviewed 10 January 2014

Excellant location and the house was presented with all the amentiies you needed for a short stay. The large lawn area out the front was welcome for the children to play on while staying sight of the adults

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Jim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Terry L, Manager at Halcyon Bay, responded to this review, 19 January 2014
Thank you for your review of your stay with us. The beachside house are certainly special, with the cool lawn area under the Peppermint trees and the proximity of the still waters of Geographe Bay. We look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    81
    20
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
66
6
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2014

We have recently returned from a large family gathering at Halcyon Bay. We booked 3 houses (4,6,7). Without exception every family member was extremely happy with their accommodation, the facilities and location of the properties. With a mixed aged group such as ours it would be hard to beat! Our hosts Terry and Angela were always available and ready to help.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank woodywake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Terry L, Manager at Halcyon Bay, responded to this review, 19 January 2014
Thank you for the great review and your kind words. It is always pleasing when guests enjoy their stay and share with others. It is especially so when it is a family reunion and people are getting together all in one place for the first time in ages. We'd llove to see you back when again you come together.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed 7 January 2014

It was perfect. Everything you needed was in the house. Great relaxing holiday. Terry and Angela who manage the property were very nice and went out of their way to make your stay perfect. Only a minute walk out to the beach.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Narellep20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Terry L, Manager at Halcyon Bay, responded to this review, 18 January 2014
Thanks for your review and very kind words. House 20 is really well positioned especially for children - being next to the grassed area and close to the beach. It is also well presented and contains all you'll need for a great stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 1 January 2014

Two families (4 adults and 2 toddlers total) shared House #23 accommodation in early December for 4 nights. Our first impression was the house was HUGE and stunning. We felt immediate value for money. Clean, spacious, close to the beach and town shops, plenty of parking for 2 cars, comfortable beds, open kitchen and dining plan which made it feel like a party every day. I could go on! There is a reason why Halcyon Bay receives top TripAdvisor recommendations... it's exactly what a family needs to enjoy a beach and wine getaway in Margaret River!

Room Tip: My only suggestion if you are booking Halcyon Bay with small children is to look at one of the other...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MyExperiencz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Terry L, Manager at Halcyon Bay, responded to this review, 18 January 2014
Thanks for sharing your great review on TripAdvisor. House 23 really is a lovely contemporary house for small families yet lacks nothing in size. Just a 2 min walk to the water's edge and no roads to cross makes it ideal for children and adults alike. We look forward to hosting you in Dunsborough again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 December 2013 via mobile

Halcyon Bay Resort is the perfect family Christmas destination in Dunsborough. Hosts Terry and Angela are lovely and were kind enough to put away our Xmas grocery shopping we had delivered from Coles the night before we arrived and were very hospitable. Only 200m from the beach and the azure waters of Geographe Bay. Free wi-if was fantastic to keep the kids happy. Everything provided in each holiday house (we took up 3 with family over from the UK.) A short drive to the town centre which stocked everything we needed. All in all a fantastic holiday spot and highly recommended!!

Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Bonnie-Jean688
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Terry L, Manager at Halcyon Bay, responded to this review, 29 December 2013
Thanks for your wonderful review Bonnie-Jean. As you say, it's a great location and ideal for family reunions with multiple houses in this great location. We're happy you enjoyed the hospitality and will welcome you back if you ever get the whole family together again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Margaret River Region, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 10 December 2013

Our stay at Halcyon Bay in the Classic house was wonderful! The house had everything one could need to make it a home away from home with a touch of luxury. The location was wonderful. Right on the beach and a short stroll to town. The hosts were very accomodating and allowed my sister and her partner to check in early free of charge. We were also offered late check out (12pm) for no extra charge. It is these small things that sets Halcyon Bay apart from other short stay rentals in Dunsborough. We will come again!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MelBond87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Terry L, Manager at Halcyon Bay, responded to this review, 29 December 2013
Thanks for your great review of House 21 - the Classic. All of our owners take particular care to equip their houses well and anticipate guests needs. As you mention, Halcyon Bay is a great location with easy uninterrupted access to the beach and close proximity to town. We look forward to your return in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 4 December 2013

the house was perfect for a getaway down south. great rooms and close to everything.
the owners were very helpful providing maps of dunsborough, yallingup and margaret river and provided plenty of tips of good wineries and other places to visit. Perfect home and perfect location! highly recommend staying at Halcyon Bay. Tim Sutherland.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Tim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Terry L, Manager at Halcyon Bay, responded to this review, 4 December 2013
Thanks for the great review and kind words Tim. We are always genuinely pleased when guests enjoy their stay with us. It is also great when guests enjoy all the things the region and the town of Dunsborough have to offer. We look forward to seeing you again sometime.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dunsborough
6.1 mi away
Pullman Bunker Bay Resort Margaret River Region
0.1 mi away
Whalers Cove Villas
Whalers Cove Villas
#2 of 20 in Dunsborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
0.3 mi away
Lanterns Retreat
Lanterns Retreat
#1 of 4 in Dunsborough
5.0 of 5 bubbles 360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
Smiths Beach Resort
Smiths Beach Resort
#1 of 2 in Yallingup
4.5 of 5 bubbles 142 reviews
2.4 mi away
Bayshore Beachside Resort
Bayshore Beachside Resort
#1 of 20 in Dunsborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 210 reviews
0.1 mi away
Regency Beach Club
Regency Beach Club
#9 of 20 in Dunsborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Halcyon Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Halcyon Bay

Property: Halcyon Bay
Address: 89-93 Gifford Rd, Dunsborough, Western Australia 6281, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Western Australia > Margaret River Region > Dunsborough
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 20 Speciality Lodging in Dunsborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Halcyon Bay is a luxury holiday village comprising 15 self-contained contemporary 3,4,5 & 6 bedroom houses, ideal for families, wedding guests and girls/guys weekends away.Set in the heart of the Margaret River wine region Halcyon Bay is close to everything this world class area has to offer. Situated on a safe family beach at Dunsborough you are minutes away from the town centre and a short stroll to the Meelup National Park. There are Over 80 wineries, chocolate factories, breweries, surf beaches and family activities within minutes by car. In spite of all the activities available close by, Halcyon Bay provides a peaceful sanctuary in the luxury holiday home of your choice. Halcyon Bay now also offers FREE WiFi Internet access. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing