We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not a lot of love”
Review of Samudra - CLOSED

Samudra
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$3 - US$19
Cuisines: Cafe, Australian, Healthy
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Not a lot of love”
Reviewed 23 April 2014 via mobile

We always come back to Samudra when we visit the south west to give it just one more chance to improve.....Unfortunately it hasn't - lousy service due to poor systems - confusion reigns! Overpriced average food, warm smoothies and bitter coffee. On the plus side, it is a beautiful location to enjoy a sunny day.

Helpful?
Thank Luchee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

132 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    65
    33
    16
    13
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Byron Bay, NSW
Level Contributor
174 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Atmosphere, ethics and wonderful smoothies”
Reviewed 9 April 2014

A vegan cafe with a great, light feel. Friendly service. Great place to relax and spend time. The smoothies are the high point and shouldn't be missed. Bali feel - Margaret River prices.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DK9000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth WA
Level Contributor
162 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Nice coffee and atmosphere”
Reviewed 31 March 2014 via mobile

We have been here before for meals but just stopped for coffee and a snack today. Beautiful coffee and smoothies. Lovely atmosphere and a variety of seating options, inside and out. Good service. The raw banana toast was not very palatable at all, as other reviewers have noted. I thought it overpriced for what we ordered. $27 for two coffees, one smoothie and one serve of banana toast. Parking is a nightmare because of confined space. We had great trouble getting out. Will probably go somewhere else in future because of prices. I enjoy seeing the veggie gardens there.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank LynQPerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Western Australia
Level Contributor
203 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 564 helpful votes
“Highs and lows”
Reviewed 27 March 2014 via mobile

The layout and decor of the place is interesting and nicely done but thst covers the high points.

The raw banana bread is absolutely vile. That was the unanimous view of all 6 in our party. But according to the waitress who overheard us critiquing the food, that is exactly how it was supposed to taste. Oops, our bad, sorry for hating on the vile banana bread.

We waited about 40 mins for the coffees (too long, even on a Sunday morning) and the other breakfasts all had faults with the exception of the chia trifle which was nice, apparently.

Not nice. Won't be back.

Helpful?
2 Thank Romford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Awesome place with nice outdoor area”
Reviewed 3 March 2014

Great vegan place with a good coffee and delicious food (try the Smoothies they are awesome). It´s a little pricy but the atmosphere makes up for it and Dunsborough in general is pretty expensive. Awesome to sit outside on one of those wooden benches and enjoy a good book. If you stay here for a bit and have time for a massage: For 90 Dollars I got the best massage in my life with Rio at the attached Spa. Had a bunch of friends go too and they all said the same thing

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Skaun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Samudra also viewed

Dunsborough, Margaret River Region
Dunsborough, Margaret River Region
 
Dunsborough, Margaret River Region
Dunsborough, Margaret River Region
 
Dunsborough, Margaret River Region
Dunsborough, Margaret River Region
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing