We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not what I expected”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Dunsborough Rail Carriages & Farm Cottages
Perth
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Not what I expected”
Reviewed 21 May 2013

From looking at the pictures on the net I expected clean, comfortable, spacious and surrounded by grass. The reality was a run down, old and dirty place in the middle of a sandpit. It was the most expensive place I have paid for and since then have rented a brand new holiday house by the beach for $70 a night less! Great location but unless you like basic camping style accommodation and aren't fussy about furniture and cleanliness, this isn't for you.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leisa3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    30
    24
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
16
26
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2013

As previous reviewer has mentioned, this place is pretty run down in some ways, but we certainly enjoyed our carriage and found it extremely comfortable. We wanted for nothing.

Plus to sit outside and watch the roos and listen to the birds was great.

There are also some quite new looking cottages suited to families, with laundry etc that look very good and have a lot of lawn for kids.

I would recommend the carriages if you are a single/couple and don't want to spend a lot of money and appreciate quite a unique experience. I am a lover of trains of all kinds, so the carriage really appealed to me.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rubybellissimo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 November 2012

Husband and i stayed two nights in November 2012 in a rail carriage. Weather was lovely during the day but cold at night. Luckly the carriages had aircon as we used it to keep us warm. The facilities are good and clean but they are basic and starting to show a bit of wear and tear but there was nothing too bad. There was more than enough room for two of us. Carriages are fully self contained so all you need is your food. It was interesting to see how the carriages had been renovated to make studio accommodation and i thoroughly enjoyed staying there. The grounds are fun even for us oldies as there is an assortment of farm and wild animals. It was a thrill for us kiwis to be able to see and feed the wild Roos. The property is brilliantly located just outside Dunsborough - an easy 2-3 min drive to township but Commonage Road also has wineries and other rural based retail properties which we enjoyed visiting. Yes i would recommend a stay.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sevansfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2012

This place is special. It is showing some wear and tear round the edges but the novelty makes up for it, times ten.

The surroundings could do with a couple of days work with tractor bucket and trailer, and some plantings here and there, but when you are sitting out front on the deck sipping a Margaret River wine and kangaroos appear out of the tall grass in front of you it is hard to be too critical. The local farmers may not be too keen on the wildlife but for a jaded tourist it was great.

The carriage was clean, contained everything we needed and the bed was comfortable.

It was reasonable value for money and I would go again.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank JacktheLadd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2012

We stayed in one of the rail carriages for 2 nights and it was a wonderful experience. Not just for the accommodation but the location too was excellent.
The farm is located a few minutes drive from Dunsborough and is set out really well. As well as the carriages there are cabins and cottages but they are all set out to ensure privacy and you really feel like you have a huge area all to yourself. We were greeted by Milo the friendly red dog when we checked in and we were pleasantly surprised to find really great facilities within the carriage itself, all clean and working to a high standard. We enjoyed sitting out on the veranda with a hot drink before introducing ourselves to the miniature horses and alpacas.
If you stayed here with kids they would absolutely love it!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Justine J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2012

A unique and fabulous getaway just outside of the centre part of town. The rail carriages were clean, fully self contained with a VERY comfy queen bed, all cooking utilities and a fridge and a nice flat screen TV. Surrounded by bush and nature, we were given freshly laid eggs from the chooks in the mornings and food to feed the kangaroo's who visited in the afternoon. There were also very friendly ponies and llamas to feed. A great place to stay for a night or a week as a couple or family!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jana N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2012

Pet friendly and we knew the location to be quiet and peaceful, and the price suggested we should expect clean and comfortable accommodation. However we were badly let down. The cottages need maintenance. Threadbare carpets in the bedroom and cracked light switch covers. Paint peeling off the walls. None of this would have been so bad if at least the cottage was clean. The floor tiles were dirty, crockery had not been cleaned properly and walls and ceilings had several bloodstains from swatted mosquitoes. The bedside tables and lamps were covered in dust and cobwebs. Given the extent of mosquito infestation one would have expected the rooms to have repellent available – fortunately the nearby shops stay open quite late! We will not return.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank JSM_Travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dunsborough
8.0 mi away
Pullman Bunker Bay Resort Margaret River Region
3.4 mi away
Windmills Break
Windmills Break
#2 of 2 in Yallingup
323 reviews
1.6 mi away
Dunsborough Central Motel
Dunsborough Central Motel
#2 of 2 in Dunsborough
196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Bayshore Beachside Resort
Bayshore Beachside Resort
#1 of 20 in Dunsborough
221 reviews
3.9 mi away
Ramada Resort Dunsborough
Ramada Resort Dunsborough
#3 of 20 in Dunsborough
403 reviews
5.9 mi away
Kerriley Park Farmstay
Kerriley Park Farmstay
#15 of 20 in Dunsborough
46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dunsborough Rail Carriages & Farm Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dunsborough Rail Carriages & Farm Cottages

Property: Dunsborough Rail Carriages & Farm Cottages
Address: 123 Commonage Rd, Dunsborough, Western Australia 6281, Australia
Region: Australia > Western Australia > Margaret River Region > Dunsborough
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 20 Speciality Lodging in Dunsborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Dunsborough Rail Carriages & Farm Cottages 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Hotels.com and Cancelon so you can book your Dunsborough Rail Carriages & Farm Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing