We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Dunsborough Rail Carriages & Farm Cottages
Reviewed 18 October 2010

The rail carriages are very different. The location in the countryside is excellent. Sat on the porch with a glass of local wine watching the kangaroos and the birds was a pleasure. The place was peaceful and quiet, and visiting Geographe Bay and watching the whales was an extra pleasure. We went to Cape Naturalise whale lookout and saw about 20 whales passing the point. The staff were very friendly and helpful, and the carriages were clean.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mazzamamma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (62)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

57 - 62 of 62 reviews

Reviewed 26 August 2010

We had such a great time at the Dunsborough cottages. We originally planned to stay in the rail carriages for fun but decided we needed a bigger kitchen so upgraded to one of the cottages (actually a full size house) and could have stayed on there for a week or two. So much to see in the area and this was a great setting off point, knowing we'd come back to our snug house after a day of exploring caves and going to wineries. We'd sit by the wood stove with our newly purchased vintages enjoying a nice meal.(The kitchen was fully furnished) We had a daily visit by the resident kangaroo, Tinkerbelle, who delighted our son to no end. The skies were full of stars and it was so quiet at night - we slept like logs and woke in the morning to the cries of the kukkuburra (sp?) The rail carriages were charming and romantic perfect for a couple who doesn't want to do a lot of cooking.
We will definitely stay there again the next time we are in Australia!

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Greenbooks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2010

Spent a great weekend here.

It's close to wineries and only minutes from Dunsborough and the beach.

The owner gave us some eggs from the chickens that roam the property during the day, and the friendly kangaroo, Alpacas, ponies, and sheep kept the rest of the group happy.

This is 100 acres of paradise.

    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dio67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2010

I stayed at the farm house with a large family of 14 for seven day's. I cannot say anything bad about this place i loved everything about it.
The animals were a real treat the kids loved feeding them, and waking up with them waiting for them.
The property itself was really what we needed relaxing, natural, and REAL. the charm of the old farm house was totally refreshing, it is a large house so there was plenty of room for all 14 of us. the bedding was very comfy, and having the extra large room at the back with an even bigger t.v. for the kids was a real treat.
We found the location extremely handy, 6 mins from the town, close to so many beautiful beaches,and you can't not mention simmo's ice cream factory yummiest ice cream ever, and five minutes from an amazing reptile and fauna park(quindalup), which i totally recommend.
All in all the stay we had was the best holiday i have experienced, we have hundred's of photo's to remind us of our stay, and i would totally recommend the farm stay, we can't wait to come back ,Dounsborough is in our hearts for ever thank's to the casual relaxing atmosphere...LOVED IT

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank colzyWA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2010

A wonderful change from a motel room. These few fully s/c authentic railway carriages are on 100acre property surrounded by bush and visited by kangaroos. Placed at angles so that no one intrudes on your privacy. They are only for couples with a comfy queen bed, table & chairs, small kitchen with min. equipment and separate ensuite within the carriage. They also have cottages on the property for families. A totally peaceful place to sit out on one's deck with a local Margaret River wine! Just a few mins drive to Dunsborough with a couple of restaurants and a good pub, lovely safe beaches and a good base for a visit to the Margaret River area. The best touch is the kangaroo food provided with the tea and coffee making facilities!!
We had a lovely 3 days there.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MAG45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2012
Google Translation

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank poluas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dunsborough
8 mi away
Pullman Bunker Bay Resort Margaret River Region
9.2 mi away
Bayview Geographe Resort
Bayview Geographe Resort
#8 of 14 in Busselton
498 reviews
1.6 mi away
Dunsborough Central Motel
Dunsborough Central Motel
#2 of 2 in Dunsborough
202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Dunsborough Beach Lodge
Dunsborough Beach Lodge
#9 of 19 in Dunsborough
20 reviews
1.2 mi away
Bayshore Beachside Resort
Bayshore Beachside Resort
#1 of 19 in Dunsborough
236 reviews
6.1 mi away
Smiths Beach Resort
Smiths Beach Resort
#1 of 1 in Yallingup
174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dunsborough Rail Carriages & Farm Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dunsborough Rail Carriages & Farm Cottages

Address: 123 Commonage Rd, Dunsborough, Western Australia 6281, Australia
Region: Australia > Western Australia > Margaret River Region > Dunsborough
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 19 Speciality Lodging in Dunsborough
Price Range: £65 - £141 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Dunsborough Rail Carriages & Farm Cottages 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Dunsborough Rail Carriages & Farm Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing