We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place but average location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Bayshore Beachside Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great place but average location”
Reviewed 18 July 2013 via mobile

I have never been to Dunnsborough before so when I turned up here I was immediately impressed. It is like home from home except these homes are like Swiss Chalets and are extremely well furnished. The gardens are well manicured and you are in walking distance of the beach. There is a tennis court and a small playground for the kids. It certainly has a good vibe to it.
A couple of things on the downside is that it is 3km outside the town centre. Now 3km isn't much in the grand scheme of things but I would have preferred a place where I could walk into town, pick up some shopping or go to a restaurant or pub in the evening. My sister made the mistake of walking into town and by the time she got there it was already dark and the road back to the appartment was not lit. So be aware if you want to go places you will have to drive.
Another thing was office hours. I know we visited out of season but the office shuts at 4 during the week. I don't know if there is a person on site all the time but in the information pack it tells you all about the wineries but not the nearest supermarket or chemist or doctor to go to in an emergency. There was no one at reception when we left our keys at 9.30 even though the office opens at 9. It's a shame because we wanted to say how much we enjoyed our stay. That was despite the blackout the previous evening no doubt due to the weather - it would have been nice if someone had come round to check if we were alright.
I now know what to expect and I would stay here again. However I would also look at places closer to the town centre so I could get to know Dunsborough better and go out in the evening.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Robkanandwill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

216 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    112
    80
    20
    2
    2
See reviews for
96
65
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
perth wa
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2013

My husband and I stayed here for four nights in July and was very surprised how large the accommodation was. Two very large comfortable Queen bed rooms downstairs and a large 4 single bed room upstairs also 2 bathrooms downstairs. The lounge room was very large and furnished nicely with a dining room and kitchen which was well stocked with everything you need for a self catering holiday, great unit for families or friends. We had a very warm welcome at the office when we arrived and the management was always very friendly and chatty each time we saw them around the resort. Wifi room available near the tennis courts - great! and a beautiful BBQ area looking over the Toby Inlet. Only the beach is within walking distance - shopping and restaurants you need to drive into Dunsborough 3km each way. So much to do around here though and the best was 'The Cellar d'Or Winery Tour' which can be booked through the Dunsborough Information Centre. Gerry Cunningham was our host on the tour and he is a fantastic guide he gave us so many laughs. Highly recommend this Resort.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Papswa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucks
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2013

We were expecting one of the smaller apartments but when we got there quite late at night we had been given a three bedroom two bathroom apartment. It was a wonderful size with lovely big sofa's a very well equipped kithcen and nice garden (although due to the weather we did not get to enjoy the garden). The villa had virtually everything we needed except bizarly a chopping board and bread knife!!
Only thing i would ask was some decent wifi. There is no wifi in the vila, they have an internet room but we tried twice and with four of us in the room ( one bare table and one chair so everyone sitting on the floor) we could not get connected.
So my one plea would be to upgrade your broadband.
It is about 2 k out of the town but would recommend it.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alison3860
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pinjarra, Western Australia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2013

We stayed 3 nights and enjoyed our unit! Dated a bit since the last time we stayed. Very clean, maybe they need to replace the fry pan though. On check in the lady at the reception was ever so grumpy, we had requested to check in early when we booked through Wotif but it obviously put the grumpy lady out, even though the resort was definitely not full. We also popped back in to see her to advise of a huge paint chip in the spare room to which she grumped at my husband and told him they know and it is going to be painted see on the board. My husband also asked about the wifi and again she grumped telling my husband of the trouble they have been having but very curt. Sort of put a downer on our stay being treated this way. She needs a big lesson in Hospitality, dealing with customers!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rodja9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2013

Close to Margaret river which is where we spent our time. Dunsborough is a good size town with supermarkets and restaurants, we bought steaks, prawns etc, BBQ steaks one night and had prawns and wine on the beach the other night just across from the resort.

Lots of things to do at Margaret river other than wine , we had cheese tasting, coffee tasting, nuts , the scenery is great. Many wineries also have restaurants attached as well.

Room Tip: We had the villa room with a spa, this was great. The BBQ was fantastic and clean, easy to use. Kids...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank greg s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2013

We stayed 3 nights in a 3 bedroom, 8 person villa and it was excellent.
Well equipped kitchen, clean bathrooms, comfy seating and excellent heating (it was winter rain/chill). It really felt like a home, not like i was renting a cheap villa.

Checking in and out the service was great and plenty of parking for our visitors.
We had different visitor numbers on different nights and Bruce was only to happy to sort out the pricing accordingly.

The best villa I have stayed in anywhere.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sfeerikal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2013 via mobile

It costs nothing to smile and be welcoming to guests and the staff at Bayshore were the best. Thank you. A great first impression.

Absolute beach front and the beach is lovely, great for kids.

Rooms had everything you need, including heating, thankfully! Very comfortable.

Location great, less than 5 minutes to town.

Booking process was via email, a little informal for my liking but we had no issues with the booking. Will definitely consider staying again, will check the rates next time we need a holiday!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Damobet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dunsborough
8.5 mi away
Pullman Bunker Bay Resort Margaret River Region
2.7 mi away
Ramada Resort Dunsborough
Ramada Resort Dunsborough
#3 of 20 in Dunsborough
400 reviews
2.7 mi away
Lanterns Retreat
Lanterns Retreat
#1 of 4 in Dunsborough
365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Whalers Cove Villas
Whalers Cove Villas
#4 of 20 in Dunsborough
140 reviews
7.5 mi away
Smiths Beach Resort
Smiths Beach Resort
#1 of 2 in Yallingup
148 reviews
6.4 mi away
Seashells Yallingup
Seashells Yallingup
#2 of 13 in Yallingup
399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bayshore Beachside Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bayshore Beachside Resort

Property: Bayshore Beachside Resort
Address: Bayshore Beachside Resort 330 Geographe Bay Rd, Dunsborough, Western Australia 6281, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Western Australia > Margaret River Region > Dunsborough
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 20 Speciality Lodging in Dunsborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bayshore Beachside Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Bayshore Beachside Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing