We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Palmer's Winery - Setting the Standard”
Review of Palmer's Winery

Palmer's Winery
Ranked #1 of 54 Restaurants in Dunsborough
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$9 - US$29
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Restaurant is now open 7 days a week for Lunch from 12pm, Dinner Thursday,Friday and Saturday nights from 6pm. Come and experience our Gold medal winning wines and delicious food whilst enjoying our beautiful restaurant and winery surroundings. Bookings are essential to avoid disappointment. We cater for all functions including weddings, birthdays or corporate. Contact us for a quote. Palmer Cellar Door Open 7 days 10am-5pm
Dunsborough, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Palmer's Winery - Setting the Standard”
Reviewed 11 January 2014

This is one of the wineries that defies accolades - go and find out for yourself but only if you enjoy fabulous food, excellent wine and a setting that embraces all that you would expect from a world class venue.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank warrad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palmer W, Front Office Manager at Palmer's Winery, responded to this review, 15 January 2014
Thank you very much for your amazing review, we are so glad that you enjoyed your experience at Palmer Wines and the standard was outstanding. Again thank you and we look forward to you returning to Palmer Wines. Regards Sue and The Team at Palmer Wines
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

447 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    326
    90
    23
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great Food, Attentive Service.”
Reviewed 29 December 2013

We decided to visit Palmer's for lunch after a glowing recommendation from a friend.

The food was great and well priced for the region. ( Perth and the Margaret River Region is expensive by world standards. )
3x mains + 3x desserts + bottle of wine and sparkling water was AUD180.

The most memorable part of the meal was the discreet but attentive service.

There is a truism in hospitality that you go to a restaurant for the food but you return for the service.

We will be back.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank George T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palmer W, Front Office Manager at Palmer's Winery, responded to this review, 6 January 2014
Thank you for visiting Palmer Wines, we are so glad your dining experience is one to remember, we look forward to having you back. We appreciate your review on tripadvisor. Regards the Team at Palmer Wines Dunsborough
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Western Australia
Level Contributor
105 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Wow”
Reviewed 28 December 2013

We dined there for the first time on a busy Friday night and every mouthful was delicious.
Starter - fresh bread from the oven with truffle butter.
Entrees - Prawns with rocket and the hot rock with wagyu beef. Both were very good but the hot rock was unusual and a real treat.
Mains - Beef fillet with chips and marron with a quinoa salad. Again both were good but the marron salad was sublime.
Desserts - Eaton mess the meringue was gorgeous and banoffie pie which was very nice.
Wines - as with many others definitely start with the sparking, the rose has the edge. Then malbec with the mains.
Service was very attentive despite being very busy.
A total surprise and thanks to TA recent reviews as that is what helped us to choose this restaurant and we are very pleased we did!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mazla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palmer W, Front Office Manager at Palmer's Winery, responded to this review, 6 January 2014
Thank you for dining at Palmer Wines, we are so glad you enjoyed yourself and we look forward to having you back. We here at Palmers appreciate feedback from our valued customers, thank you again. Regards from the Team at Palmer Wines Dunsborough
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth Australia
Level Contributor
157 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
“The regions 'turn-around' story”
Reviewed 21 December 2013

Palmers was only average. Until now.

With new staff, a creative chef and top management this winery not only produces good wines, but also beautiful food. But it's not cheap!

The setting is delightful, particularly on a mild, sunny day, that complement the lovely views.

The food is excellent.

The signature dish is the duck, prepared Balinese style. Having spent much of my life roaming around Indonesia I have to say this dish was superb. Try it; even just once. The only challenge is how to fit-in the delightful deserts so sharing is a good option.

Throughout the entire meal, the staff were attentive and professional. A very enjoyable experience in a beautiful part of Western Australia.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank pisang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palmer W, Front Office Manager at Palmer's Winery, responded to this review, 6 January 2014
Thank you for your comments on Tripadvisor much appreciated and we are glad you enjoyed your dining experience at Palmer Wines, we look forward to having you back. Thank you again from all the Team at Palmer Wines
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunsborough, Australia
Level Contributor
120 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Wow, vast improvement”
Reviewed 16 December 2013

Very impressed, was put off from visiting the restaurant for over a year after last two visits, huge turnaround.
Selection & quality of dishes excellent. Service enormously improved, even new staff were up to speed with service part of their job, suspect supervision, restaurant management changed since last visit. Very attentive, offered menus & drinks at appropriate times did not have to hunt down staff.
Food was excellent, all parts of every dish served to our table was perfectly cooked, with some difference in sauces & accompaniments that left you feeling you had experienced something new. Well done to effect turnaround so successfully.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CEK284
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Palmer's Winery also viewed

Dunsborough, Margaret River Region
Yallingup, Margaret River Region
 
Dunsborough, Margaret River Region
Yallingup, Margaret River Region
 
Dunsborough, Margaret River Region
Dunsborough, Margaret River Region
 

Been to Palmer's Winery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing