We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Couldn't fault the service. Nothing was too much trouble. Very accommodating. Great food and wine.”
Review of Palmer's Winery

Palmer's Winery
Ranked #1 of 63 Restaurants in Dunsborough
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$9 - US$30
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Restaurant is now open 7 days a week for Lunch from 12pm, Dinner Thursday,Friday and Saturday nights from 6pm. Come and experience our Gold medal winning wines and delicious food whilst enjoying our beautiful restaurant and winery surroundings. Bookings are essential to avoid disappointment. We cater for all functions including weddings, birthdays or corporate. Contact us for a quote. Palmer Cellar Door Open 7 days 10am-5pm
Reviewed 23 March 2014 via mobile

Popped in for a Sunday lunch. Tom was very welcoming and informative. Great menu choices. Enjoyed a great tasting to find a wine to accompany lunch. Our vegetarian diners were accommodated on the menu and off it if required. Will be back for sure. Thanks Tom and team. None of us picked the German accent.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Sandgroperabroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palmer W, Front Office Manager at Palmer's Winery, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2014

Thank you for your delightful review, we are so thrilled you enjoyed your dining experience at Palmer Wines, we look forward to having you back very soon. Regards The Team @ Palmer Wines

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (499)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

399 - 403 of 499 reviews

Reviewed 22 March 2014 via mobile

As spoiled Dutch tourists visiting family here we can only compliment you on quality, staff and setting. Even the rare smokers are not treated as outcast when they have to go outside. Unfortunately there was no ACCESSABLE wi-fi connection, otherwise this review had already been round the world, our bussiness could have been contnued so we could return as soon as possible. Success!

Thank Robert S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palmer W, Front Office Manager at Palmer's Winery, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2014

We appreciate your review and we take onboard the wi-fi connection and this is something which we will look into. Thank you again and we look forward to having you back at Palmer Wines. The Team @ Palmer Wines

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2014

We spent three days exploring the region and Palmers was our first stop. The courtyard was just beautiful and you could be in Tuscany. The terraced decks with lounge settings was so inviting and we enjoyed sitting there and savouring the view over the lake. We then had lunch in the dining room and just loved the food. We had the house baked bread with black truffle butter which was delicious. We then had the tasting plate which was absolutely beautiful. The flavours in the dishes was amazing.
The staff were great, very attentive without being pretentious, and very knowledgable about the menu.

We went to quite a lot of wineries and restaurants over the next few days, and have to say that Palmers was the best.

As Molly Meldrum would say.... Do yourself a favour.... Visit palmers. You won't be disappointed

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Tamra K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palmer W, Front Office Manager at Palmer's Winery, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2014

I love the Molly Meldrum reference, thank you for your wonderful review and we are so happy your dining experience at Palmer Wines was one to remember and pass the word around...Do yourself a favour..Visit Palmers. Regards The Team @ Palmer Wines

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2014

Great coffee and sweets. The lake setting is fantastic and the coffee was well done. Great barista on duty.

Thank Peter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palmer W, Front Office Manager at Palmer's Winery, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2014

Thank you for your review on Tripadvisor, we are so glad you enjoyed your coffee and sweets at Palmer Wines, we look forward to having you back. Regards Palmer Wines Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2014

Spent Friday night at Palmers with friends and after reading other TA reviews were expecting big things. We weren't disappointed but not quite as enthusiastic as other reviewers.

Service: The chef himself welcomed us and showed us to our table, which was nice. He gave us the specials and recommended a couple of wines to match particular dishes before retreating to the kitchen to resume his cooking duties.
Both of the waitresses we had were were extremely pleasant, polite and knew their stuff. They were also quite stealthy, filling your wine and water glasses without you even knowing. Service was excellent and time between courses was good.

Wine: We had the straight Semillon which was just gorgeous and then the 2010 Shiraz - wonderfully peppery, just the way I like it. Loved the wine but keep in mind that they only serve wine, no beer or spirits.

Food: The capsicum / tomato amuse bouche was a nice start, followed by scallop and jamon croquettes (not so scallopy) and crumbed prawn dippers (a little overcooked but with a tasty dipping aioli).
3 of the 4 mains were very good - the Balinese Betutu Duck (1/2 a duck!) came highly recommended and did not disappoint, the Barramundi was cooked to perfection with a gorgeous lemon butter sauce, and the Amelia Park Beef Fillet was beautifully tender. The 4th meal of Confit Pork Belly was unfortunately a little overcooked but still ok.
Dessert choice was limited to 3 plus a cheeseboard so we had one of each. The Coconut Bavarois was really nice, as was the Rosewater Brulee. The Honey and Walnut Chocolate Tart was ok (not too sweet) but didn't really do anything for me.

All up, a really enjoyable evening with excellent wine and mostly terrific food. With a bit of tweaking, Palmers could easily go to 5 stars.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Jody R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palmer W, Front Office Manager at Palmer's Winery, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2014

Thank you for your wonderful review, we are so glad you enjoyed your evening at Palmers Wines, we appreciate feedback and will let your Head Chef Coby know. We look forward to having you back at Palmers soon. Kind Regards Palmer Wines Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Palmer's Winery also viewed

Dunsborough, Margaret River Region
Dunsborough, Margaret River Region
 
Dunsborough, Margaret River Region
Dunsborough, Margaret River Region
 
Yallingup, Margaret River Region
Cape Naturaliste, Dunsborough
 

Been to Palmer's Winery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing