We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, nice but no wifi”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Dunsborough Beach Cottages
Certificate of Excellence
Albany, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Clean, nice but no wifi”
Reviewed 17 January 2014

We really enjoyed our stay - the pool was small, but clean and deep enough for the kids to have a nice, cooling splash around after a hot day. The apartments were clean and tidy (would love to know what you coat your BBQ with - works really well!), and the proximity to the beach and bike path were great - as was the 8 kph speed limit in the road, which made it safe for kids to ride up and down the road. There were two negatives, one being the wifi, the other being the minimalist Foxtel content. I spoke to the owners at least three times about lack of wifi, and the fact I run a home-based business and needed some form of Internet access, but no solution was provided and there was zero follow up - I had to keep asking, but to be honest felt a bit fobbed off. The owners use Tomizone, an NZ-based company, but I think - on the third attempt, I might have a) tried to follow up with the guest without them having to keep asking or b) tried to facilitate some kind of interim solution - perhaps a card modem or similar - but no response in a $1900/week apartment needs to be improved on. Secondly - zero movies on Foxtel - not a big deal, but it would have been nice to have at least some access - other than Win and documentaries. So, great, clean, safe, but bring a modem, a 3G iPad and some DVDs.

Room Tip: Pelicans was good - right next to the pool, but perhaps lack of Wifi is a long-standing issue in thi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 503Andy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DBCMANAGERS, Manager at Dunsborough Beach Cottages, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Hi there 503Andy,
Many thanks for taking the time to provide your feedback. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay and are delighted to let you know that we have upgraded our wi-fi network which means that guests can now access this 24/7 for free. So I'm sure next time you come and stay with us you won't have these concerns again.
We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Margaret and John
Dunsborough Beach Cottages
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    41
    17
    5
    2
    1
See reviews for
35
14
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013

Excellent location just few steps from the beach. Family-run and owners are very friendly and helpful. Fully equipped and comfortable. Reasonably priced compared to other newer ones along the same stretch. Good location to explore Margeret River and caves. At the lighthouse, must take the scenic walk to whale watching point.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gemiez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DBCMANAGERS, Manager at Dunsborough Beach Cottages, responded to this review, 6 November 2013
Hello gemiez,
Many thanks for taking the time to review our property on Tripadvisor and we are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us. It's also great to see that you enjoyed some of the wonderful attractions that we have in our region, such as caves, world class wineries and at the moment whales and wildflowers. We pride ourselves on giving our guests great service, so thank you for your kind words. We would love to have you back, so next time you stay with us be sure to quote the word 'Tripadvisor' and we will give you a complimentary packet of local Yallingup Roasting Coffee on arrival.
Thanks again,
John and Margaret
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
perth
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 October 2013

What an excellent family retreat! We have just returned from spending 3 nights in the 2 bedroom cottage # Sunset Cove. Because it actually sleeps 6, our teenage kids brought along a friend each! The boys loved the loft with 2 single beds, and the girls had their own space with the 2 singles in the second bedroom.
The cottage was extremely clean and spacious, with a fully equipped kitchen + dishwasher + laundry with washer & dryer. The location is excellent - only 1 minute walk through to the beach & a short walk along the beach pathway to town where all your shopping & dining needs are catered for. The grounds are beautifully maintained, with the Managers - John & Margaret being excellent hosts! We will definitely recommend this to our friends! Great value for a family getaway!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 99tripbug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DBCMANAGERS, Manager at Dunsborough Beach Cottages, responded to this review, 6 November 2013
Hello 99tripbug,
Thank you so much for taking the time to review our property on Tripadvisor. We were delighted to read that you and your family enjoyed Sunset Cove cottage. We aim to provide a range of cottages with different bedding options, so that you can invite extra guests along without having to worry about moving properties. We were also pleased to see you enjoyed the location as it's so close to the beach and town. We hope that you can visit us again in the future and next time you book, quote the word 'Tripadvisor' and we will give you a complimentary packet of local Yallingup Roasting Coffee on arrival.
Thanks again,
John and Margaret
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2013

What a perfect place. We stayed here a few months ago and were all (5 adults) blown away by the standard of this. We paid $240 per night for a three bedroom chalet, which had room to sleep at least 8 people. As I'm sure this place is popular with families, I didn't expect it to be so spotlessly clean and modern.
Dunsborough Beach Cottages are going to be our family favourite for years to come.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrP78_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DBCMANAGERS, Manager at Dunsborough Beach Cottages, responded to this review, 6 November 2013
Hello MrP78_11,
Many thanks for taking the time to review our property on Tripadvisor and we are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We pride ourselves on keeping a thorough housekeeping schedule for the cottages, so we can ensure that the property is presented beautifully. We are delighted to hear that your group enjoyed your stay and are now coming back each year to spend your holidays at our property. When you book with us next time, be sure to quote the word 'Tripadvisor' and we will give you a complimentary packet of local Yallingup Roasting Coffee on arrival.
Thanks again,
John and Margaret
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2013

We stayed in the 3 bedroom cottage. Facilities were excellent. The kitchen was fully equipped more importantly it had a dish washer. Was child friendly, had high chair and safety gate for stairs. Location is lovely right on the beach and short walk to town

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thecoco_bean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DBCMANAGERS, Manager at Dunsborough Beach Cottages, responded to this review, 6 November 2013
Hello thecoco_bean,
Many thanks for taking the time to review Dunsborough Beach Cottages on Tripadvisor. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed the extra things that our cottages provide, such as the fully equipped kitchen and the highchair and safety gate for your baby. We really try to make the cottages feel as comfortable as possible, so you can spend your time enjoying the beach and the gorgeous surrounds of Dunsborough. We would love to have you back, so next time you stay with us be sure to quote the word 'Tripadvisor' and we will give you a complimentary packet of local Yallingup Roasting Coffee on arrival.
Thanks again,
John and Margaret
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2013 via mobile

Just spent two nights at this wonderful place and couldn't fault it. It was extremely clean and spacious, quiet and right next to the beach. I wish we could have stayed longer. The beds were very comfortable and I had a great sleep which I find hard when travelling. You had everything you needed in the apartment and a great outdoor area to top it all off. Also the lovely couple who look after the place were very friendly and have great customer service skills. I would highly recommend this place and would love to come back for a longer stay.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aussietravellers15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DBCMANAGERS, Manager at Dunsborough Beach Cottages, responded to this review, 22 September 2013
Hello Aussietravellers15,
Many thanks for taking the time to review our property on Tripadvisor and we are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We pride ourselves on giving our guests great service, so thank you for your kind words. We would love to have you back, so next time you stay with us be sure to quote the word 'Tripadvisor' and we will give you a complimentary packet of local Yallingup Roasting Coffee on arrival.
Thanks again,
John and Margaret
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2013

This is the 3rd time we have stayed at these cottages, albeit 3 different villas. I must say villa number 2 which were in this time around is looking a little shabby, the plumbing is in need of some attention ( water backing up, fixtures look shabby ) and not sure where the carpet came from (1950's). Also would have thought foxtel, internet would have been catered for by now. Location is great just think the villas require some upgrading to meet the standards of the ever increasing local competition. Will probably try somewhere else next time around as there are plenty of options.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sharpey3072
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DBCMANAGERS, Manager at Dunsborough Beach Cottages, responded to this review, 22 September 2013
Hello Sharpey3072,
Many thanks for taking the time to review our property on Tripadvisor and it's great to hear this was your third trip to Dunsborough Beach Cottages.

Over the last 6 months we have embarked on some renovations throughout the whole complex, however Villa Number 2 (which is where you stayed last time) has had quite a few upgrades since you stayed. These include -
- Re painting of both the inside and outside of the cottage
- New blinds were installed
- A new TV cabinet and new lamps in all bedrooms
- New carpets throughout
- The plumbing has been fixed and taps were replaced

In regards to your comment about Foxtel, the owners have decided not to install it at this stage as we now have access to 20 digital channels and most guests are quite happy with the range of TV programs these offer.

We do have (and did have this when you were here) Tomizone wi-fi service, however we are looking into an upgrade to make internet access even easier for our guests.

We are also delighted to let you know that we have recently been approved for our 4 star AAA rating, which we are really proud of.

We do hope that you come back and stay with us again and would like to offer you a complimentary packet of local Yallingup Roasting Coffee on your next arrival.

All the best and hope to see you soon.
John and Margaret
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dunsborough
6.1 mi away
Pullman Bunker Bay Resort Margaret River Region
2.4 mi away
Bayshore Beachside Resort
Bayshore Beachside Resort
#1 of 20 in Dunsborough
216 reviews
0.5 mi away
Dunsborough Central Motel
Dunsborough Central Motel
#2 of 2 in Dunsborough
196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Ramada Resort Dunsborough
Ramada Resort Dunsborough
#3 of 20 in Dunsborough
400 reviews
6.4 mi away
Smiths Beach Resort
Smiths Beach Resort
#1 of 2 in Yallingup
148 reviews
0.4 mi away
Bay Village Resort & Spa Dunsborough
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dunsborough Beach Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dunsborough Beach Cottages

Property: Dunsborough Beach Cottages
Address: 95 Gifford Rd, Dunsborough, Western Australia 6281, Australia
Region: Australia > Western Australia > Margaret River Region > Dunsborough
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 20 Speciality Lodging in Dunsborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Dunsborough Beach Cottages 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Dunsborough Beach Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing