We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent all around!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Woodstone Cottages

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Woodstone Cottages
Perth
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent all around!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2013

We stayed here last weekend and have been here 3 times before with friends & family. This last time was the best though as my wife and I got the weekend away alone as it was our anniversary! We enjoyed a nice bottle of red wine on arrival and relaxed. We've now stayed in all the cottages and they are beautiful and had everything we needed.

Management also helped us book onto a quaint little winery tour (Taste of the South) on Saturday that was not only great to get out and see more of the excellent wine region but also very informative. We will definitely be back again and again and will continue to bring as many friends & family here, we just love our little escape into the bush!

Room Tip: Grass Tree is perfect for couples and very private. Goanna is the largest one and great for families...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank James F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    20
    13
    1
    5
    1
See reviews for
14
12
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2013

We stayed at the Grasstree cottage for a couple of nights in late August. The main thing that attracted us to this property was its location, cabin like accommodation and most of all, the pot belly fire place. We were not advised however until after our arrival that the wood would not be supplied by the cottage, and we had to go back into town to purchase our own wood, which costs approximately $18 a bag in Dunsborough. We were also told by one of the staff members that an email was sent to me advising of this however I never received an email. We were also disappointed to find that the flat screen TV was not operational. Given the other cottages were vacant, we were unsure as to why we couldn’t have been moved to another cottage with a working television. When we contacted them about this we were advised that a storm had damaged the antennae’s on 3 of the properties, and they would try contacting someone to come out and fix them. (this was on Monday and Tuesday, not the weekend). As the other properties were vacant, out of curiosity we popped over to one of the two storey cottages and upon finding the door open, checked if the TV was working which it was. This cabin appeared clean and tidy so we were disappointed that they did not offer to upgrade us to this cabin which had a working TV. We asked if they could supply us with a radio from one of the other cabins which they did but not until 24 hours later. We requested a partial refund due to the inconvenience we experienced however this was refused. Very disappointed.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tiff150
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bethia N, Manager at Woodstone Cottages, responded to this review, 16 October 2013
Thank you for your feedback and as we discussed with you, we did not provide a partial refund because we cannot control the storms in the South West. We had the worst winter of storms, particularly in August when you stayed with us, that the South West has ever seen. We had called an antenna specialist who was not able to come to our property until the following week because they were so busy. We had also explained this to you.

You also were not moved to another cottage as they had not all been inspected or fully cleaned yet (floors not mopped, etc.) and the reception was problematic in those cottages too. The only cottage that had TV reception was our Kookaburra cottage but this cottage has not been renovated like the cottage you were in so it would not have been fair to move you to this cottage.

We also feel by cutting out the time and cost of supplying incidentals helps us to keep our costs low. You had paid a winter special rate of $175 per night, a total of $350 for two nights plus a bottle of Margaret River wine, which we believe is an extremely reasonable tariff for the Dunsborough area. Particularly for a well-appointed, fairly recently renovated, fully self-contained and furnished house that can sleep up to 5 people.

And finally, you had requested a radio on the evening you checked in and it was provided to you the next morning which you were not in your cottage so it was left at your door.

We are sorry you did not enjoy your experience with us but again we cannot control the weather and subsequent damages.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2013

We stayed at Woodstone over the long weekend in March. As mentioned by a previous reviewer, the cottages are well located, very close to Dunsborough but in a gorgeous bushland setting.

They are well built with a nice, modern kitchen and bathrooms, lovely open living areas and nice bedrooms. However, it almost feels as if someone built and furnished the cottages, then someone else took over as the effort level just drops off.

The airconditioning is definitely a problem as there is only one split system upstairs in the loft to do the whole house. The master bedroom is downstairs, down a hallway and around a corner so there was no airflow at all. The first night was unbearably stuffy! Also, it sounds like such a small thing but the pillows were absolutely terrible! They were old and thin and some had such clumpy stuffing that they were just pillow case in places... Between the pillows and the heat we got no sleep on the first night. By 1.30am we gave up and went upstairs to try the other bedroom only to find that the bed was not made up, the pillows were just as bad and there was rat poo on the bed. So back downstairs for a night spent tossing and turning.

When I called the owners the next day to ask if they had a fan and some more pillows (the ones in the cupboard were also bad), I was told no. The lady recommended that we move to the upstairs room. I explained that we had tried the night before but realised there was no bedding. I also told her about the rat poo which she said was just part of country life. She suggested we make up the bed upstairs ourselves using the downstairs bedding as she was at work... When I said forget it we'll just buy a fan and pillows ourselves she said "thats a good idea". No offer to pay for them. No apology either.

After taking time out of our tour of the wineries to go shopping, we realised that there was only the one double powerpoint in the room, next to the bed head. To be fair, when we called for an extension cord the man who called us back did offer to run one over if we needed it but we managed to move some furniture around and make do. He also said he'd reimburse us the $19 for the fan if we sent him the receipt but for $19 who can be bothered... We'll keep the fan and the pillows instead!

By the second night, the aircon (which we'd left on it's highest setting with all possible doors closed and blinds down) had managed to cool the place down a little so between that, our fan and new pillows we had a lovely sleep.

We did also have the issue with the hot water that others have mentioned (and been ignored) however ours only went from warm to cool, not scalding, so wasn't dangerous, just annoying.

Just a few little investments and this place could be lovely but we just weren't feeling as if the owners cared. There was a for sale sign out the front though so perhaps some new owners will come in and treat this place the way it deserves.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Haley M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eversley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2012

From Ian & Lyn. Dunsborough is a superb small town, and the gateway to the gorgeous coastline between capes Naturaliste & Leeuwin. We stayed for one week in November in "Goanna" at Woodstone Cottages, and this is beautifully sited (with 3 other cottages) outside the town; with views and walks to wooded land and a small lake. The cottage itself is very nice and the furnishings of high quality. However, a variety of issues make it overall poor value compared to other comparable properties we have rented in the region in past years. Visitors to the cottage will also note that many of the issues are regularly mentioned in the 'Visitors Book' (the regular comments are either NOT READ, or simply IGNORED by the owners!). The cottage was not particularly clean, inside and on the veranda, when we arrived and some of the cutlery and crockery was dirty (despite there being a dishwasher). The cottage was was cleaned mid-week, and this was very much better. There was plenty of good crockery and cutlery, but the cooking implements were moderate, with very poor pans, no colunder, cheese-grater or scissors etc etc. The iron was cracked and leaked water onto the flex, and was thus potentially dangerous. There was only the two of us staying, and our very comfy, well-equipped bedroom was downstairs, but we felt that upstairs (with one double and three single beds) the facilities were extremely poor .... no wardrobes and few drawers for example. There is a wood-burning stove, yet whilst we arrived in a period of quite cool nights, there was no wood, fire-lighters or axe! The air-con/heater is upstairs, so turning on to heat had no impact downstairs. Thank goodness the weather warmed up at night after a couple of days. However the gratest problem is also a DANGEROUS one, and we would not recommend taking young children to this cottage. The reason being (and stated many times in the 'Visitors Book') that the hot water is at times dangerously hot AND on occasions pulses from hot to cold in the shower. This is a lovely cottage in beautiful surroundings, but badly let down by the owners not addressing some major issues.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IanHill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2012

Excellent choice for a large family. Our house (called Goanna) had all the mod-cons like air con/heater, microwave, washing machine, dishwasher. It was very clean and spacious with a loft upstairs with 3 single beds (not so comfortable as cheap thin matress type), 1 bedroom with queen (very comfortable ensemble), downstairs another bedroom with queen (very comfortable ensemble). However, the showers were terrible with water going hot to cold and everything in between! We wanted to cook our dinners but found it quite hard as there was only 1 good saucepan that was useable. The rest were very scratched up non-stick pans that needed to be replaced! Saw some kangaroos in the morning in our quiet, bushy surroundings. So, if you don't mind hot/cold showers and don't plan on cooking much then I would recommend this place.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank PerthHolidayBuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
112 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2012

We stayed at Woodstone Cottages after seeing their special on cudo.com.au and booked almost immediately (we stayed 2 or 3 days after the cudo.com.au special finished). We stayed in Possum cottage with a party of 3 - 1 couple in the master bedroom and 1 single in the other bedroom (having a single bed, and a bunk bed that could sleep 3 to choose from!)

The stay was very relaxing, the cottages are a short drive out of Dunsborough in the woods, very quiet location. The cottage has everything you need, including a spacious shower (the tap took a little trail-and-error but we all got nice warm showers) fully stocked kitchen and lounge with flat-panel tv. Best thing was that the special came with 2 bottles of local wine (1 white and 1 red) so we could have a glass after driving down from Perth. Its great sitting out on the porch watching the local wildlife come out at sunset - we counted 18 kangaroos!!

The cottages are self-contained but supermarket is in Dunsborough to get everything you need. Wineries are close by and if you want to explore further Margaret river (and more wineries) are not far away.

One note: Woodstone cottages is "a work in process" which was not mentioned on cudo.com.au but was explained when we made the booking. There are 4 cottages now, and they are building another 7 (if I remember correctly). However we didn't notice anything (no building noise whatsoever), only if you walked around the property you could see some work was being done.

Room Tip: only stayed at the Possum cottage - great for families with up to 4 kids!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank leftyx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2012

Stayed in the Goanna for 6 nights in December 11, So quiet and wildlife all around also close to Dunsborough only 5 minute drive if that, close to all the wineries. The interior was immaculate and clean and the bed was like sleeping on a cloud will stay there again maybe in the winter with the fire going, the only thing it was hard to control the shower temperature so need to be careful with little ones

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PerthTakingflight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dunsborough
6.7 mi away
Pullman Bunker Bay Resort Margaret River Region
1.3 mi away
Windmills Break
Windmills Break
#2 of 2 in Yallingup
4.5 of 5 bubbles 307 reviews
2.2 mi away
Lanterns Retreat
Lanterns Retreat
#1 of 4 in Dunsborough
5.0 of 5 bubbles 341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Smiths Beach Resort
Smiths Beach Resort
#1 of 2 in Yallingup
4.5 of 5 bubbles 131 reviews
3.4 mi away
Bayshore Beachside Resort
Bayshore Beachside Resort
#3 of 20 in Dunsborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 197 reviews
1.9 mi away
Dunsborough Central Motel
Dunsborough Central Motel
#2 of 2 in Dunsborough
3.5 of 5 bubbles 186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Woodstone Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Woodstone Cottages

Property: Woodstone Cottages
Address: 27 Bronzewing Rd, Dunsborough, Western Australia 6281, Australia
Region: Australia > Western Australia > Margaret River Region > Dunsborough
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 20 Speciality Lodging in Dunsborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Woodstone Cottages 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Four secluded cottages nestled in the Dunsborough bush. Just a quick 3 minute drive to the Dunsborough shops and beaches. Also minutes away from Yallingup. A beautiful place to relax with the family or a special loved one. Lots of wildlife and walking trails on the property. Well behaved dogs are welcome too! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Woodstone Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing