We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“I want my four bucks back!!!!!” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cape Naturaliste Lighthouse

Cape Naturaliste Lighthouse
Book In Advance
More Info
US$100.06*
and up
Margaret River Scenic Nature, Food and Wine Tour Including Gourmet Lunch
Ranked #2 of 43 things to do in Dunsborough
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Breathtaking panoramic views of the Indian Ocean, Cape Naturaliste, Leeuwin-Naturaliste National Park and the beautiful Geographe Bay coastline reward visitors to the top balcony of the Cape Naturaliste Lighthouse. Only 13 kilometres from Dunsborough, Cape Naturaliste Lighthouse, historic Tea Rooms and Maritime Museum reveal the fascinating maritime history of the Cape region.
South Perth, Australia
2 reviews
“I want my four bucks back!!!!!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2014

Ok so I didnt have time to do the tour but the sign said great photo op with access to the grounds... $4. Whats four dollars?! What a joke.... yeah you could walk up to lighthouse but could not even see the water.... no photo op.... i want my $4 back!!!!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank koolgirlfromoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeographeBay_Tourism, Attractions Manager at Cape Naturaliste Lighthouse, responded to this review, 2 May 2014
I am sorry that you did not feel that the base walk provided value for money. The $4 fee provides us with the essential funds needed to maintain the heritage and history of Cape Naturaliste Lighthouse, which is open all year round to the public. Currently visitors have the option of a $4 base walk fee, or a $14 fully guided tour inside the Lighthouse. We are currently in the process of developing this offering, and we are excited about introducing some improvements in the near future.

Kind regards,

Attractions Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

544 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    207
    204
    89
    31
    13
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
88 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“A great tour”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2014

A great little tour.Well worth it.Margaret was just the best. Overall a great part of the state.Go have a look.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Our_USA_trip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeographeBay_Tourism, Attractions Manager at Cape Naturaliste Lighthouse, responded to this review, 2 May 2014
I am glad to learn that you enjoyed the views from the top of the lighthouse and the tour. You are absolutely correct in your observation about our brilliant guide Margaret – she like the rest of the team have a genuine passion for keeping the history of the lighthouse alive for our visitors and sharing the awesome views! Thank you for taking the time to submit this great review.

Best wishes,
Attractions Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great excursion”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2014

A great 1 hour tour of the lighthouse. Our tour guide was very good and also very informative. Def worth a visit, try to plan for at least half a day as there are some nice walks surrounding.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank nicklion9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeographeBay_Tourism, Attractions Manager at Cape Naturaliste Lighthouse, responded to this review, 2 May 2014
It’s great to learn that you found our lighthouse tour interesting. We are lucky to have a team of passionate guides who do a wonderful job of keeping the history of the lighthouse alive. With a great network of walk trails around the lighthouse, it is very easy to spend the whole day here. We hope to welcome you back soon.

Best wishes,

Attractions Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Byron Bay, NSW
Level Contributor
175 reviews
50 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Walk to Sugarloaf”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2014

The lighthouse is really just the place to start. The walk to Sugarloaf Rock along the Cape track is the highlight of any visit here. Spectacular views over the bluest ocean in the world. We live on the East Coast where the coastal scenery is magnificent but this is something very special and we return to it whenever we are over in the west. The flora are very special - some of them unique to this area. The walk to Sugarloaf is an easy 20 minutes along an excellent track and boardwalk. Take a camera. If you go in Spring (Oct/Nov) look out for the rare and wonderful Tropicbird flying off the rock. We took the advice of previous Tripadvisors and gave the lighthouse tour a miss. It's a lighthouse...

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank DK9000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeographeBay_Tourism, Attractions Manager at Cape Naturaliste Lighthouse, responded to this review, 2 May 2014
I am pleased to learn that you enjoyed exploring the walk trails at the Lighthouse. The walk to Sugar Loaf is fantastic and the views of the Indian Ocean are just spectacular! The bords are truley amazing and I would also recommend a visit during winter to see the rugged coastline at its most dramatic, or during spring, when you will be able to see wildflowers in bloom and whales swimming past the Cape.

Kind regards,

Attractions Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
93 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“FLIES BUT A GREAT WALK”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2014

I didn't like the flies. I bought a fly net. The best 8 dollars ever spent!

But the walks were great and I'm glad we went. Go see the sea. But be ready for the flies!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mike G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeographeBay_Tourism, Attractions Manager at Cape Naturaliste Lighthouse, responded to this review, 11 April 2014
I am pleased to learn that you enjoyed exploring the walk trails at the Lighthouse. The views of the Indian Ocean are just spectacular! The New Year period is well known for flies so it was wise to wear a fly net for walking when you visited in December. If you would like to explore the walk trails further, I would recommend a visit during winter to see the rugged coastline at its most dramatic, or during spring, when you will be able to see wildflowers in bloom and whales swimming past the Cape.

Kind regards,

Attractions Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cape Naturaliste Lighthouse also viewed

Cape Naturaliste, Dunsborough
Dunsborough, Margaret River Region
 
Dunsborough, Margaret River Region
Yallingup, Margaret River Region
 

Been to Cape Naturaliste Lighthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing