We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“worth the climb”

Cape Naturaliste Lighthouse
Book In Advance
More Info
US$80.54*
and up
Margaret River Scenic Nature, Food and Wine Tour Including Gourmet Lunch
More Info
US$239.98*
and up
Margaret River and Geographe Bay Region Day Trip from Perth
Ranked #3 of 46 things to do in Dunsborough
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Breathtaking panoramic views of the Indian Ocean, Cape Naturaliste, Leeuwin-Naturaliste National Park and the beautiful Geographe Bay coastline reward visitors to the top balcony of the Cape Naturaliste Lighthouse. Only 13 kilometres from Dunsborough, Cape Naturaliste Lighthouse, historic Tea Rooms and Maritime Museum reveal the fascinating maritime history of the Cape region.
Reviewed 29 April 2014

it was worth climbing for the view of the ocean and surrounding sand dunes. The tour guide was very friendly.

Thank mobileaussie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeographeBay_Tourism, Attractions Manager at Cape Naturaliste Lighthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2014

Thank you for your wonderful review of your experience at the Lighthouse! The Lighthouse has just 59 steps to climb, so people of all ages can enjoy the stunning views of the coastline in this magical part or our country.
Our guides love to hear when someone has had a great tour so thank you.

Kind regards,

Attractions Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (599)
There are newer reviews for Cape Naturaliste Lighthouse
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

445 - 449 of 599 reviews

Reviewed 26 April 2014

A lot of the reviews for this lighthouse seem to indicate people didn't bother paying for the tour. They missed out!
We booked our 'Above and Below' tour which also included the Ngilgi Cave - and loved it. If you don't do the tour - I can see how you might be unimpressed. It is after all - just a stone structure on some pretty rugged coastline. The point of interest comes from the information you get from your tour.
Our tour guide was an absolute wealth of information, with historical and technical tidbits aplenty about life back in non-digital times, ship wrecks, survivors and a few ghost stories to boot. I'll happily admit to being a geek - and have been on plenty of lighthouse tours. This was the first one that told me that all Lighthouse signals are unique, for example - and that the fresnel lens is designed to emit a specific sequence that any sea faring vessel can interpret in the dark. If you've a curious mind, there's heaps here to keep you sated and you also get to go up into the lighthouse and see close up how it all works.
I would highly recommend the Above and Below tour - Ngilgi cave was also amazing.

1  Thank poppykettle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeographeBay_Tourism, Attractions Manager at Cape Naturaliste Lighthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2014

I am so pleased that you had such a wonderful experience at the Lighthouse and Ngilgi Cave by taking purchasing the very popular Above and Below Pass! The Lighthouse has just 59 steps to climb, so people of all ages can enjoy the stunning views of the coastline in this part of the Leeuwin-Naturaliste National Park. All our fantastic guides love what they do and they will all be very happy to receive your feedback on the tour. Thank you for taking the time to recommend the Lighthouse, I hope that the rest of your time in Dunsborough was just as enjoyable.

Kind regards,

Attractions Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2014 via mobile

This lighthouse is small and unimpressive by any standards, not worth going out of your way for and certainly not worth paying to visit. The only positive was a free jumping castle if you have kids which we don't. Not sure if that is a permanent feature or not.

2  Thank ElleJosephine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeographeBay_Tourism, Attractions Manager at Cape Naturaliste Lighthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2014

I am sorry to learn that you were unsatisfied by the options on offer at the Lighthouse. We offer a $4 base walk fee, which allows visitors to walk around the Lighthouse and enjoy the views, as well as a $14 fully guided tour, which teaches visitors about the fascinating history of the lighthouse and takes them to the top to enjoy spectacular views of the Indian Ocean. All fees contributed by visitors are most gratefully received, as they help us to continue the important work of maintaining the heritage of the lighthouse for future generations to enjoy.

The Bouncy Castle is on offer all year round, with weather permitting, so I am glad that you enjoyed that.

Best wishes,

Attractions Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2014

Ok so I didnt have time to do the tour but the sign said great photo op with access to the grounds... $4. Whats four dollars?! What a joke.... yeah you could walk up to lighthouse but could not even see the water.... no photo op.... i want my $4 back!!!!

Thank koolgirlfromoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeographeBay_Tourism, Attractions Manager at Cape Naturaliste Lighthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2014

I am sorry that you did not feel that the base walk provided value for money. The $4 fee provides us with the essential funds needed to maintain the heritage and history of Cape Naturaliste Lighthouse, which is open all year round to the public. Currently visitors have the option of a $4 base walk fee, or a $14 fully guided tour inside the Lighthouse. We are currently in the process of developing this offering, and we are excited about introducing some improvements in the near future.

Kind regards,

Attractions Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2014

A great little tour.Well worth it.Margaret was just the best. Overall a great part of the state.Go have a look.

Thank Our_USA_trip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeographeBay_Tourism, Attractions Manager at Cape Naturaliste Lighthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2014

I am glad to learn that you enjoyed the views from the top of the lighthouse and the tour. You are absolutely correct in your observation about our brilliant guide Margaret – she like the rest of the team have a genuine passion for keeping the history of the lighthouse alive for our visitors and sharing the awesome views! Thank you for taking the time to submit this great review.

Best wishes,
Attractions Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cape Naturaliste Lighthouse also viewed

Yallingup, Margaret River Region
Cape Naturaliste, Dunsborough
 
Dunsborough, Margaret River Region
Dunsborough, Margaret River Region
 

Been to Cape Naturaliste Lighthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing