We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely setting, apathetic service”

Wise Vineyard Restaurant
Ranked #4 of 55 Restaurants in Dunsborough
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Bunbury, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Lovely setting, apathetic service”
Reviewed 3 April 2014

Lovely spot and I can imagine it is very popular for weddings. We were disappointed at the cellar door service. Not bad per say but just really bleugh. Nice wines but we didn't feel inspired to hang around long.

The chap who served us ( at around 4 o'clock) kind of had that vibe of we are closing in ten minutes even though they open till 5.
We were staying in the area and had thought to check the place out for lunch one day but really I doubt I'd go back there.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank BlaneyMundy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

359 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    198
    102
    36
    18
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Beautiful Food, service and Views”
Reviewed 31 March 2014 via mobile

The view is to die for... Amazing (ask to be seated on deck or next to window). Relaxed, classy atmosphere. Service outstanding, fast and friendly. Food and wine was great. We has prawns, risotto, chorizo pasta and oysters. Could not fault this place.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Anna186338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Western Australia, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
88 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Poor food”
Reviewed 28 March 2014

We went to Bunker Bay recently and had lunch at this restaurant on our way down.

Service on the whole was good - friendly staff and timely service. However, food at this place was a big disappointment.

Entrée
1) Potato Gnocchi : good & tasty;
2) White bait : terrible, overcooked & rubbery.

Mains :
1) Twice cooked pork belly : terrible, too much fat and mostly not edible.
2) Softshell crab : 1 small crab on the plate, incredibly small - must be the last crab left in the packet.

One of the main courses on the Daily Special Menu was no longer available when we tried to order. It was just after 1:00 pm.

We could not bear to stay for dessert or coffee.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank travelmaker4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Wine & Dine in Style”
Reviewed 24 March 2014

It had been a couple of years since our visit to this winery & restaurant. We had a table by the window which provided a fantastic view of the garden below & the not too distant ocean. Our tastes buds must have matured as the wine was so good, we purchased a take home pack.
The restaurant staff was excellent & had a good knowledge of the menu items. To start we shared lovely smoked trout croquettes & the sour dough bread with local olive oil. For mains my wife had the marron with risotto & I had the lamb rump. Our cutlery often clashed as the food was so good, both of us were sampling each other's food. They had been prepared, presented & served as good as, if not better than some 5 star city restaurants. Our whole wine & dining experience was well worth the distance we travelled.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bob M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
315 reviews
160 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Top class!”
Reviewed 10 March 2014 via mobile

We stumbled across this gem of a restaurant and thoroughly enjoyed our time there. We dined for lunch on the deck overlooking the grassed area and grape vines looking out to the sea on the horizon. The whale and eagle sculptures plus visiting birds added to the vista. We chose several dishes to share and without exception they were all superb - original concepts, bursting full of flavour and perfectly executed. The service we received from Maria was attentive with just the right combination of personable and professional. We would thoroughly recommend this restaurant and will be back when in the area again.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Janice L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Wise Vineyard Restaurant also viewed

Dunsborough, Margaret River Region
Dunsborough, Margaret River Region
 
Dunsborough, Margaret River Region
Cape Naturaliste, Dunsborough
 
Dunsborough, Margaret River Region
Yallingup, Margaret River Region
 

Been to Wise Vineyard Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing