We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wonderful location and scenary”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Exmouth
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Ningaloo Lighthouse Caravan Park
Turin, Italy
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“wonderful location and scenary”
Reviewed 22 June 2011

we (two adults and two teenagers) spent four days in this wonderfully located caravan park. We stayed in one of the lookout chalets pierced on the top of a hill facing the Ocean. The self contained chalets are rather rustic and expensive compared to the service you get, but the scenary from the veranda is unfogettable. We admired humpback whales playing in the ocean and emus roaming around while having our breakfasts. Great!
The staff at the recption desk is very helpful and the caravan park is perfectly located for visiting the ninagaloo park.

Room Tip: the view from the lookout chalets is unbeatable
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rgnavi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

202 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    21
    61
    47
    39
    34
See reviews for
75
79
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2011

We booked here during the crazy Easter period and were just relieved to be able to get a spot. We had our campervan and were travelling Rockingham - Ningaloo - Rocky - Perth in 9 days! NOT advised! We knew it would be a tough ask but were desperate to snorkel at Ningaloo as recommended by others. The campsite is a good additional 20 mins drive north of Exmouth. Exmouth itself is just a road with some shops and lots of building work going on as far as we could see - NOT worth the additional drive except for the snorkelling/diving - book Coral Bay if you can. The weather was terrible when we got there and there was a distinct smell of sewage right across the area which just made it all feel a bit weird. So, note our experience is probably tarnished by this. When we eventally reached the campsite it was a welcome site, very chilled out atmosphere - busy due to Easter - lots of little kids making their own fun with ropes - something I haven't seen in a long time! Reception very helpful with recommendations on beaches for snorkelling and a little shop to hire additional kit we needed. Facilities are basic but adequate. Food in little cafe not great! We cooked the 2nd night - the special was chicken - no fresh fish avail - 10 metres from the beach and across from a bunch of guys gutting their catches!!! Folk had boats there for the incredible fishing! Oh well. It's also too far from town to eat there for dinner - the the drive would be too dangerous after dusk due to the amazing wildlife - mostly of the bouncing variety! We didn't see emus our whole trip - v disappointing - but hardly the hosts' fault! :) Site very convenient for Nat Park and amazing snorkelling nearby. We went to a very rocky beach -(v sharp rocks!) but fish AMAZING - even in dull, rainy weather. The beautiful white sands at the closer beach made for a much less hysterical entrance to the water but the fishies are obviously further out. I'd brave the rocks anytime. This is a great spot for whale sharks but the tours were booked out so book ahead if you can. All in all, a helpful bunch with basic facilities at the end of the earth! Buy your own food on the way! (wee shop has the basics only).

One note for the Mgmt - your responses to reviews here do not present a very friendly or professional face. Folks take these reviews very seriously (I use religiously!) so I'd recommend you are more graceful, less defensive, listen and act upon feedback. People take time and effort to review - it can only benefit you!). Cheers!

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank TravelEd73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2011

Miserable weather, alright front desk service. Basic cabin, partioned room with toilet- no shower.
Very clean. Good beds. No stove, but electric fry pan.
Ablutions block was usable and clean.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank blueskyreddirt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 May 2011

We booked 6 days in a Lookout Chalet, paid 1/2 up front. Upon arrival, we had decided to stay just 5 days to have an extra travel day back to Perth, the staff were very helpful, told us to just pay for the 5 nights and if we wanted the 6th to let them know later. Try to get the 'Groper' chalet on the end, we had endless views across the bush and ocean from the deck. Had BBQ dinners on the deck and watched the sunset, then drank wine under an incredible star-filled sky. Lots of room for the kids, they enjoyed the pool and spotting emus and kangaroos. It is a LONG walk to the beach from the chalets, we knew this, but dont book here if you want a 'beachside' holiday. Only complaint was regarding the cafe, on Monday morning we asked the office if we needed a reservation for dinner, they said easter was over so no need to book, just walk in. That night, the cafe was closed, the chalkboard indicating it was open "Tues-Sun", not sure why the office wouldnt have told us that! Next night we tried again, upon ordering we discovered it was 'cash-only', nearest ATM 17km away. Third night we finally ate there and it was great. If youre happy to self-cater(stores are 17km away, caravan shop is not well stocked) & enjoy spending the night on the verandah after kids in bed then a good spot to base yourself and explore Ningaloo reef and Cape Range Park.

Room Tip: ask for Groper Lookout chalet on the end
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jazzandruby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australind, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2011

would have to agree with the easter comment which continued way past easter we stayed early May (booked 6 months ago) the park was virtually empty when we arrived and it was awful the bins clearly need to be put elsewhere rather then straight in front of the ablusions. no soap in the toilets for anyone esp children to wash hands and don't think the showers etc were ever cleaned just locked for an hour we would def never stay there again a dust bowl to top it all off! warned anyone that was heading to exmouthor in exmouth that we chatted to without accomodation not to stay there. have since come to coral bay to far cleaner ablusions and facilities. was still no milk etc by ealry arvo. would never return but would be a great business for someone to turn around so much that could be done as is a great location

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
5 Thank djbutt2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2011

We (family of four) just recently stayed in a hilltop chalet for a few days. Yes, the accomodation facilities are a bit dated but the kitchen is well equipped and the splendid terrace BBQ facility and the view across the lighthouse and the bay are fantatstic. It is not cheap but then again this is a great location at pretty much the end of the world...

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GuiseppeBergmann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lighthouse1912, Front Office Manager at Ningaloo Lighthouse Caravan Park, responded to this review, 30 April 2011
Glad you enjoyed your stay...the view is pretty exceptional from up there.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2011

This site was hyped up by lonely planet which created an expectation reality gap for us that caused disappointment. We were camping so I can't speak for the cabins however let's just say I was glad I was camping. There are 4-5 cabins perched on a hill which will have good views but we weren't close to those. The beach, surfers beach, was annoying as it is rocky. Not good for swimming or surfing got that matter. Got back to the site up find the pool had closed at 6. The BBQ area (one for a potential 170 sites) was filthy and smelly. The kitchen pokey with cobwebs. I would recommend either camping in cape range national park or camping in exmouth. This place needs new management.

  • Stayed March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OxfordBergamot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lighthouse1912, Front Office Manager at Ningaloo Lighthouse Caravan Park, responded to this review, 30 April 2011
Sorry about the beaches not being to your liking but we are in the vicinity of both great swimming beaches, surf beaches and boat launches, you can normally find something close by - we even point you in the right direction when asked.

The BBQ areas/ kitchen are cleaned daily in the morning so if it was filthy as you say it was the culprit was probably a fellow camper. We do expect user to clean it down when finished, however this does not always happen. By the way we do have other BBQ areas but in summer we only have a small section of the park open as we only have a few campers each night.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Exmouth hotels
3.5 mi away
Sea Breeze Resort
Sea Breeze Resort
#1 of 6 in Exmouth
774 reviews
1.6 mi away
Mantarays Ningaloo Beach Resort
0.9 mi away
Exmouth Escape Resort
Exmouth Escape Resort
#3 of 6 in Exmouth
351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Ningaloo Lodge
Ningaloo Lodge
#5 of 6 in Exmouth
148 reviews
22.2 mi away
Sal Salis Ningaloo Reef
0.6 mi away
RAC Exmouth Cape Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ningaloo Lighthouse Caravan Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ningaloo Lighthouse Caravan Park

Property: Ningaloo Lighthouse Caravan Park
Address: Lot 2 Yardie Creek Road, Exmouth, Western Australia, Australia
Region: Australia > Western Australia > Exmouth
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 9 Speciality Lodging in Exmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated just a 15 minute drive from the town of Exmouth on the tip of the North West Cape, nestled at the base of Vlaming Head Lighthouse. Protected by the Cape Range and just a stones throw from the world renowned Ningaloo Marine Park. Ningaloo Lighthouse Caravan Park is close to surf beach, boat launching facilities on the West Coast and our magnificent Cape Range National Park. You will truly feel the peace and tranquility of an outback, costal experiences whilst enjoying your stay with us. During your stay in Exmouth you can discover first hand the migration of the playful humpback whales, maybe have a snorkel with the majestic whale shark, witness nesting turtles along our shores, dive the deep blue depths of the world famous 'Navy Pier' or just take in a bit of fun filled sightseeing at the Cape Range National Park. We offer basic 'three star' accommodation to suit most budgets. From the 'Lookout Chalets to a Cabin' we can accommodate your needs. We have accommodation for everyones needs, some with wheel chair facilitates. Our Lookout are our most sort after accommodation types, nestled into the side of Cape Range, offering and ocean view. We have sites to accommodate all size caravans, tents, camper trailers, buses and fifth wheelers. Most sites are with concrete slabs. Due to our limited water supply we can not provide grass sites, however there are plenty of shady sites covered with crushed fines. Please come prepared with water as the water we offer is bore water and is around 3000 million parts salt. We have water tanks onsite for drinking and cooking with fresh water. The town centre of Exmouth offers water tank filling up facilities with the local scheme water. The friendly staff at the local tourist information centre can provide you with more details. We will endeavour to do our best to find the perfect spot for you to enjoy your stay with us. Facilities on the park include a swimming pool, toddler pool, tennis court, seasonal cafe, tackle store, fish cleaning facility, snorkel hire and sales, campers kitchens, laundries, fuel and gas barbecue areas for all our guests. Our small shop offers ice-creams, cool drinks, ice, bait, bread, milk and some basic necessities. We hope to see you here soon! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing