We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Exmouth
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Ningaloo Lighthouse Caravan Park
Bunbury
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great place to stay”
Reviewed 19 September 2013

The caravan park is great I have now stayed in all of the accommodation options and they are all excellent. The staff are friendly and welcoming and this is a great spot to base yourself ready to explore the fantastic Ningaloo Reef and Cape range national parks.

Room Tip: Go for a look out Chalet the views are breath taking,.,.,
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Nickinwa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lighthouse1912, Manager at Ningaloo Lighthouse Caravan Park, responded to this review, 20 September 2013
Good to have you back again.
With different accommodation options from Cabins, Bungalows, Lighthouse and the Lookout Chalest with 180 degree views of the ocean, powered and un-powered sites there is always a spot within everyone's budget.
Being only 25 km from the Cape Range National Park and only 100 meters from the beach it is a great place to call home whilst visiting Exmouth.
With two boat ramps close by its easy to be one of the first out there.
You obviously enjoyed you stay and thanks for the photos, hope you can return next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    21
    57
    47
    34
    29
See reviews for
70
72
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2013

We stayed slap bang in the middle of the school holidays in July and so wasn't surprised to find the place jam packed. This was fine though as everyone was in a great holiday mood and it was great to be part of it. Was amazing to meet so many people from not only different parts of Australia, but different parts of the world as well!

Our non powered site was in a great spot on a higher level than the power sites. We had a great view and enjoyed a decent size site which made up for the longer walk to the toilet block. While the toilet block only had three showers and toilets for each sex in the main section, it's only expected that we had to wait on the rare occasion.

The park has a restaurant, fuel and gas re-fill. The staff are very helpful will local knowledge too.

It's a clean large park in an excellent location close to the beach and away from the town centre.

We'll be back.

Room Tip: A non powered site here is of a good size, cheaper than a powered site and in a better location. If...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Timmaayy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lighthouse1912, Manager at Ningaloo Lighthouse Caravan Park, responded to this review, 14 September 2013
Awesome news to hear you enjoyed what the region and the Lighthouse Caravan Park has to offer. We thank you for your honest comments.
July school holidays can be a little hectic with so large a volume of people visiting the area but you can always find a secluded beach to enjoy the sun. It’s amazing to find so many people from so many parts of the worlds all enjoying a different experience.
We are so fortunate to be the only Caravan Park virtually on the beach.
Hope to see you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2013

We booked over 12 months in advance for a site during the July school holidays and the caravan park was full to overflowing. The service at the reception area/shop was always polite and helpful and fuel was about 5c cheaper than in Exmouth town. The camping site was small but we had shade over the site and we were tucked away from the wind. There wasn't any space for the kids to play so they mainly played on the road in front of the site. The toilets and showers were basic and of the 4 showers only 2 worked well - you had to pick your time to go as there was often a cue. The main advantage of staying at Lighthouse is the access to the Ningaloo marine park which we used and loved - especially Turquoise Bay.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jack_twoandthree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lighthouse1912, Manager at Ningaloo Lighthouse Caravan Park, responded to this review, 10 September 2013
Thank you for your review. We are glad that you enjoyed what Exmouth and the Cape Range National park has to offer. Yes July School holidays are extremely busy for us and we have about 750 people on our park during this time. We are disappointed that you had an issue with the showers not operating correctly. Our office has a Maintenance log for these types of problems.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2013

We booked a powered site in advance and outside of school holidays. For the first time in a caravan park we didn't have anyone filling up our tent with cigarette smoke which for us made any other shortfalls about the place seem insignificant. My advice is to book as far in advance as you can. Also - let them know the size of your tent / trailer / caravan and whether you also will have a folding boat trailer etc. The location is great with being in between the national park and the town. The site was sloping at the back but it did work on our favour when it rained because the annexe was sloping away from the camper trailer which directed water away from the main tent. The toilets and showers were clean (it's unreasonable to expect them to be spotless in a place with dirt roads). We made sure we mopped the floor after we'd finished to keep it nice for the next person and everyone else was doing the same. There was plenty of shade and the road noise didn't bother us at all. The fuel was cheaper than the fuel in town. There was also a well lit fish cleaning table. If you're heading up there now take mozzie repellant as there has been a lot of rain and the mozzies are out in force. The other campers said it has not been like that in previous years.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kayakers2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lighthouse1912, Manager at Ningaloo Lighthouse Caravan Park, responded to this review, 10 September 2013
Thank you for your review. It is nice to be able to enjoy what we have around us. Yes the mozzie population was definitely on the increase this year due our large rainfall. Thankfully they are now gone. I’m happy that you had a positive experience with us and hope you will return.
We pride ourselves on having the shadiest caravan park in Exmouth and we guarantee the cheapest fuel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2013

We drove into the caravan park on July 16 intending to stay for 3 nights. What we were given was a site in the as yet unfinished overflow area. For our $45 we were privileged to have access to an uneven piece of red dirt devoid of any shade sitting on the top of a rise being buffeted by 20 - 30 knot winds. But lets not be too ungrateful as we had access along with at least 50 others to 3 combined toilet/ showers. It certainly was character building waiting in line for the shower/ toilet in the freezing cold. Luckily someone took pity on us and lent us a key to a distant toilet block for our busting children. You must have needed to be particularly special as they refused to give us a key to any other ammenities. Not being satisfied with subjecting us to caravan park hell they must have thought we had been too greedy with our use of the 3 showers as they either turned off or ran out of gas heating and forced us to have cold showers. Without doubt this was the most blatant piece of profiteering I have come across in a long time. Provide no facilities (no camp kitchen for us), no service and charge people for the privilege. Outside of our situation the Park was crowded and run down. As you can imagine we stayed the one night and left Exmouth ASAP. We would not spend another cent at the Lighhouse Caravan Park, we would not recommend it to anyone and feel ashamed as a Western Australian that they could subject visitors to our state in a similar manner.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Brady H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lighthouse1912, Manager at Ningaloo Lighthouse Caravan Park, responded to this review, 10 September 2013
Thank you for your review. It is extremely disappointing to us that you did not experience a positive stay with us. Yes June, July and August are extremely busy in Exmouth and for those traveling this region without a booking do find it difficult to find a place to stay and we have attempted to help by providing an area for those travelers that find themselves here without a booking prior to arriving.
Our overflow area was only completed three days prior to your stay and is fully compliant with our shires regulations in regards to the number of toilets and showers. We do have plans to include a camp kitchen and laundry at this area and increase the number of toilets as this is only stage 1 of this development.
I find it very difficult to believe you were refused a toilet block key to the main amenities and will follow up on this issue. Yes we did have an issue with the gas HWS as some kind person thought it was funny to turn of the power and gas to the system. We have ensured this cannot happen again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2013

I agree with the other reviewers.
This park is a disgrace to tourism.
We booked for 2 nights and were placed up the top on half finishes lots. Called the overflow area. No power and charged 33/night for the privilege. Hah.
The area held at least 12 caravans and numerous tents. Lots of families. Between us all we had 3 combined shower/toilets'.
One had to line up for ages to use either facility and if all 3 were being used as showers then bad luck. The next tier of holiday makers also used these facilities putting even a greater stress on the 3 amenities.We were refused a key to the other amenities down the bottom of the hill.
One family were allotted a spot on the edge of the rise and their tents were nearly blown away as they seemed to be sitting on a hill by themselves, all in the red dirt.
The remainder of the park was cramped and the road between sites hard to negotiate due to parked cars and big boats parked everywhere. The children were all over the narrow roads, which in itself was dangerous.
We have been on the road for 9 weeks and been through 5 states and this is by far the worst park we have stayed in.
Do yourself a favour and do not stay here, camping out on the cape is a much better alternative.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank blondnomad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lighthouse1912, Manager at Ningaloo Lighthouse Caravan Park, responded to this review, 10 September 2013
Thank you for your review. It is extremely disappointing to us that you did not experience a positive stay with us. Yes June, July and August are extremely busy in Exmouth and for those traveling this region without a booking do find it difficult to find a place to stay and we have attempted to help by providing an area for those travelers that find themselves here without a booking prior to arriving.
Our overflow area was only completed three days prior to your stay and is fully compliant with our shires regulations in regards to the number of toilets and showers. All our customers who found themselves staying in the newly created overflow area were told in advance and recommended that they view the area prior to paying for their stay.
We are sorry that Mother Nature decided that we were to have a bit of wind for a couple of days that made it difficult for some of our guests in tents but thankfully it didn’t last for long.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karratha, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2013

Wow, I was surprised how poor the facilities were. Stayed for 7 nights during this July 2013 School Holidays. Does the owner care about the place at all. Cars have to share a very narrow bridge with small kids, ridiculous. It would be so easy to add a pedestrian bridge. No fencing around the washing line, looks like an squatter camp. The sites are so small, not to mention the noisy road. I have stayed at a few caravan parks and must say this was the worst. Service at the front desk was not to bad, the only positive about the place and it close to the beach, but the noisy road makes it very unattractive to families looking for a peaceful and worry free holiday. You have to worry about the kids getting run over on the bridge all the time, waste of time and money.
I am going to try hard here for a positive....it has a small pool and a fish cleaning station, on the road off course 2 meters away. This is the main road to the National park cars constantly!!!! I can not think of any thing more SORRY Lighthouse.

Room Tip: Find another caravan park!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank karratha2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lighthouse1912, Manager at Ningaloo Lighthouse Caravan Park, responded to this review, 10 September 2013
Thank you for your review. It is extremely disappointing to us that your stay with us was not up to your standard. The majority of our caravan sites are 9 meters long and 5 meters wide. Our bridge is single lane only and pedestrians have right of way over this bridge.
We are happy you enjoyed the close access to the beach and the two pools provided complete with shade sails (the only ones in Exmouth to have shade sails) and hope you got the opportunity to utilize the fish cleaning facility.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Exmouth hotels
3.5 mi away
Sea Breeze Resort
Sea Breeze Resort
#1 of 6 in Exmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 747 reviews
1.6 mi away
Mantarays Ningaloo Beach Resort
0.9 mi away
Exmouth Escape Resort
Exmouth Escape Resort
#3 of 6 in Exmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Ningaloo Lodge
Ningaloo Lodge
#5 of 6 in Exmouth
3.5 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
22.2 mi away
Sal Salis Ningaloo Reef
0.6 mi away
RAC Exmouth Cape Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ningaloo Lighthouse Caravan Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ningaloo Lighthouse Caravan Park

Property: Ningaloo Lighthouse Caravan Park
Address: Lot 2 Yardie Creek Road, Exmouth, Western Australia, Australia
Region: Australia > Western Australia > Exmouth
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 8 Speciality Lodging in Exmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated just a 15 minute drive from the town of Exmouth on the tip of the North West Cape, nestled at the base of Vlaming Head Lighthouse. Protected by the Cape Range and just a stones throw from the world renowned Ningaloo Marine Park. Ningaloo Lighthouse Caravan Park is close to surf beach, boat launching facilities on the West Coast and our magnificent Cape Range National Park. You will truly feel the peace and tranquility of an outback, costal experiences whilst enjoying your stay with us. During your stay in Exmouth you can discover first hand the migration of the playful humpback whales, maybe have a snorkel with the majestic whale shark, witness nesting turtles along our shores, dive the deep blue depths of the world famous 'Navy Pier' or just take in a bit of fun filled sightseeing at the Cape Range National Park. We offer basic 'three star' accommodation to suit most budgets. From the 'Lookout Chalets to a Cabin' we can accommodate your needs. We have accommodation for everyones needs, some with wheel chair facilitates. Our Lookout are our most sort after accommodation types, nestled into the side of Cape Range, offering and ocean view. We have sites to accommodate all size caravans, tents, camper trailers, buses and fifth wheelers. Most sites are with concrete slabs. Due to our limited water supply we can not provide grass sites, however there are plenty of shady sites covered with crushed fines. Please come prepared with water as the water we offer is bore water and is around 3000 million parts salt. We have water tanks onsite for drinking and cooking with fresh water. The town centre of Exmouth offers water tank filling up facilities with the local scheme water. The friendly staff at the local tourist information centre can provide you with more details. We will endeavour to do our best to find the perfect spot for you to enjoy your stay with us. Facilities on the park include a swimming pool, toddler pool, tennis court, seasonal cafe, tackle store, fish cleaning facility, snorkel hire and sales, campers kitchens, laundries, fuel and gas barbecue areas for all our guests. Our small shop offers ice-creams, cool drinks, ice, bait, bread, milk and some basic necessities. We hope to see you here soon! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing