We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Disappointing”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Exmouth
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Ningaloo Lighthouse Caravan Park
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very Disappointing”
Reviewed 30 April 2014

We booked a site for the April School holidays and were so disappointed with the whole caravan park if there were sites available in another caravan park we would have moved. But then we wouldn't have been able to get a refund! The other reviews sum up everything about this park! Our site was opposite the main ablution block so with that came the sewerage smells at all hours and the staff unblocking the drains. The bins all lined up full to overflowing and instead of emptying them a staff member would jump in the bins. This did not fix the awful smell. Camp kitchen if you could call it that in this day and age was poor. Blocked toilets, overflowing urinal and leaking showers. No play equipment for kids. We weren't going to let this park spoil our holiday as Exmouth is fantastic so we spent all day away from the park. The owners need to spend some of the millions of tourist dollars they make and do a total overhaul of this park. We will not be recommending this park to anyone.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank Pertheaster2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lighthouse1912, Manager at Ningaloo Lighthouse Caravan Park, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
We are very disappointed to find you did not enjoy your stay with us.
It is a real shame that you did not bring your concerns to us as we would have made every opportunity to to rectify these issues for you.
Our maintenance log does not have any of the blockages and smell problems you mention.
If you had only bought theses concerns to us at the time they happened, we would have gladly returned your money as it is not our aim to have an unhappy customer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

208 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    22
    63
    48
    39
    36
See reviews for
77
82
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014

This caravan park offers basic accommodation situated between the town and the national park. This location means trips to the attractions within the national park are shorter. The accommodation was small and cosy but dated. The toilet did not flush with enough power, meaning we often needed to tip buckets of water down to toilet to clear the bowl. The hot water ran out very quickly and we were given small electric shocks every time we touched the shower head. Luckily, the air conditioning worked well and kept the chalet cool. The kitchen and cutlery were sufficient for cooking meals. The accommodation had no housekeeping service. The beds were very comfortable. Checkout was 10 am, but when we arrived at 4 pm, the room was not ready. The park was full although very quiet and the fuel available at the park was the cheapest in and around Exmouth. OK overall, but needs a little money spent on renovations.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DD A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lighthouse1912, Manager at Ningaloo Lighthouse Caravan Park, responded to this review, 4 May 2014
Thank you for your review of our park.
I'm sorry that there were issues with your unit. Immediately upon reading your review I have checked our maintenance log and can not find any reports of your concerns.
Your maintenance concerns would have been immediately rectified if reported through our office.
If possible could you please contact us directly and inform us in which unit you stayed so these issues can be attended to as a matter of urgency.
Our chalets are serviced on a weekly basis not daily, and we do profess to have fuel cheaper than town.
Glad to know that you still enjoyed what the area has to offer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 April 2014

We were greeted by a very friendly gentlemen called Darren who made us feel welcome with information about the area and points to watch out for. The site was perfect near toilets and kitchen with shady trees and level ground. Facilities such as toilets, etc were maintained every day with excellent cleaners. It was also a good base for the beautiful beaches along Yardie creek road and Yardie Creek itself. It was not far to travel to the shops at Exmouth and the Cape Range Canyons. Altogether a wonderful experience.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patricia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lighthouse1912, Manager at Ningaloo Lighthouse Caravan Park, responded to this review, 4 May 2014
Thank you , Its nice to be told that we giving you the service that we attempt to.
All our staff are dedicated to helping you experience what our park and more importantly the World Heritage listed area and surrounding region has to offer visitors.
Your review about the experience regarding your stay and our facilities is appreciated. We hope you can return again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geraldton, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014

A group of friends and I spent a few days here on our first camping trip - the facilities and location were great. Our site didn't have much shade from 9am to 2:30pm but we didn't have a shade hut like most other campers. The bathrooms were maintained every day, the kitchen and cooking facilities copped a lot of use but everyone in the camp didn't have a problem cleaning them before leaving.
The park is located not far from great attractions, the pool was great and the onsite shop well stocked of essentials and ice.
There was a really good mix of campers and we didn't have a problem whilst we stayed.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ShaunBax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lighthouse1912, Manager at Ningaloo Lighthouse Caravan Park, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
Glad you and your friends enjoyed our facilities and the Exmouth experience whilst you were here.
It takes a huge effort from everyone to keep the facilities clean and tidy with so many people here on site.
Whilst our shop is little we do try and stock everything you may need or forget to bring with you. April is still warm for some campers so shade can be a premium but we have lots of trees and ice is definitely a requirement to keep you beer cold.
Being only 25 km from the Cape Range National park we are close to what this incredible region has to offer. Hope to see you again next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Byron Bay, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
166 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2014

We spent a few days here exploring the reef. Sites we good under shady trees. No connected water but water available for free at the conveniences. Just fill up a container and fill your tank. Facilities were good with lots of fishing type people. We used it as a base to explore the reef and check out Exmouth (loved the town)

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RobertKaren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lighthouse1912, Manager at Ningaloo Lighthouse Caravan Park, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
Thank you for your positive review of us and our facility's. Water is one of our most precious resources here in the North West and in particular here on the caravan park. We are not connected to the towns scheme water and must produce all our own drinking water from desalination. The water at each camp site is clean artesian water brought up from underground. Whilst this water is clean is does contain some levels of salt and is not suitable for drinking.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2014

Well we are now home in Perth after spending a week at the lookout chalets and the exmouth lighthouse caravan park.
From the get go they were very nice, polite and funny. We arrived on a 43C day and they had our A/C turned on and fans ready for us. I found that a nice little sign of a good week ahead.
The veiws from here are breathtaking not to mention the wildlife up on the hill. Loved the Red Kangaroos that greeted us each time we arrived to out accomodation. Some frendly gechos and small monitor lizards.
We also we lucky enough to have the whole hill to ourselves as we booked in offpeak! Bonus!
Overalll a great experience and we will be back again next trip forsure as these views are the BEST in Exxy!!!!!
Thanks guys! had a ball!!!!!!

Room Tip: We had lookout "G" far end but i asume they are all the same and all good
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marc R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lighthouse1912, Manager at Ningaloo Lighthouse Caravan Park, responded to this review, 6 March 2014
Thank you for your review of us.
It certainly sounds like you enjoyed what our beautiful area has to offer including flora and fauna.
Yes 43 degrees can be uncomfortable and walking into a cool air conditioned unit after traveling all day is all part of our welcome. Glad you found it that way to.
The views are to die for from all of the Lookout chalets and are popular for that alone.

I'm sure that your return trip will be as enjoyable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2014

We stayed in one of the Lighthouse chalets on the ridge below the Vlamingh Lighthouse and it was more than adequate. The accommodation is basic but fully functional. Clean drinking water is available in a tank by the chalet, the air conditioners and fans work and the beds are made up with clean linen. I would happily recommend this accommodation for those wanting to stay outside of Exmouth town, and in reasonable proximity to the Cape Range National Park. The shop on site stocked just about anything that you could want and had fuel (unleaded) a few cents a litre cheaper than the large chain service station in town.

Room Tip: Lighthouse Chalet D is far away from the service roads and at the end of the group.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank meganubbin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lighthouse1912, Manager at Ningaloo Lighthouse Caravan Park, responded to this review, 6 March 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review us. We appreciate your comments on the style of our accommodation.
Being a little out of town (15 minutes) our little shop ties to stock any of the staples you may have missed packing or need to top up with during your stay.
We ensure our fuel is cheaper than town and are glad you enjoyed your stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Exmouth hotels
3.5 mi away
Sea Breeze Resort
Sea Breeze Resort
#1 of 6 in Exmouth
791 reviews
1.6 mi away
Mantarays Ningaloo Beach Resort
0.2 mi away
Ningaloo Lodge
Ningaloo Lodge
#5 of 6 in Exmouth
150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Exmouth Escape Resort
Exmouth Escape Resort
#3 of 6 in Exmouth
357 reviews
22.2 mi away
Sal Salis Ningaloo Reef
0.6 mi away
RAC Exmouth Cape Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ningaloo Lighthouse Caravan Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ningaloo Lighthouse Caravan Park

Property: Ningaloo Lighthouse Caravan Park
Address: Lot 2 Yardie Creek Road, Exmouth, Western Australia, Australia
Region: Australia > Western Australia > Exmouth
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 9 Speciality Lodging in Exmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated just a 15 minute drive from the town of Exmouth on the tip of the North West Cape, nestled at the base of Vlaming Head Lighthouse. Protected by the Cape Range and just a stones throw from the world renowned Ningaloo Marine Park. Ningaloo Lighthouse Caravan Park is close to surf beach, boat launching facilities on the West Coast and our magnificent Cape Range National Park. You will truly feel the peace and tranquility of an outback, costal experiences whilst enjoying your stay with us. During your stay in Exmouth you can discover first hand the migration of the playful humpback whales, maybe have a snorkel with the majestic whale shark, witness nesting turtles along our shores, dive the deep blue depths of the world famous 'Navy Pier' or just take in a bit of fun filled sightseeing at the Cape Range National Park. We offer basic 'three star' accommodation to suit most budgets. From the 'Lookout Chalets to a Cabin' we can accommodate your needs. We have accommodation for everyones needs, some with wheel chair facilitates. Our Lookout are our most sort after accommodation types, nestled into the side of Cape Range, offering and ocean view. We have sites to accommodate all size caravans, tents, camper trailers, buses and fifth wheelers. Most sites are with concrete slabs. Due to our limited water supply we can not provide grass sites, however there are plenty of shady sites covered with crushed fines. Please come prepared with water as the water we offer is bore water and is around 3000 million parts salt. We have water tanks onsite for drinking and cooking with fresh water. The town centre of Exmouth offers water tank filling up facilities with the local scheme water. The friendly staff at the local tourist information centre can provide you with more details. We will endeavour to do our best to find the perfect spot for you to enjoy your stay with us. Facilities on the park include a swimming pool, toddler pool, tennis court, seasonal cafe, tackle store, fish cleaning facility, snorkel hire and sales, campers kitchens, laundries, fuel and gas barbecue areas for all our guests. Our small shop offers ice-creams, cool drinks, ice, bait, bread, milk and some basic necessities. We hope to see you here soon! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing