We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Crowded but pleasant stay”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Exmouth
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Ningaloo Lighthouse Caravan Park
Level Contributor
61 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Crowded but pleasant stay”
Reviewed 7 May 2014

My husband and I stayed in this caravan park for a total of 4 nights in August 2013 at the end of a 7 month "around oz whirlwind".

We originally only booked for 2 nights in an unpowered camp site. When we reached our site, we saw one close by that we liked the look of better, so we approached the office and asked to swap. Even thought they already had somebody on there for the night, they still swapped us around with no worries. When we decided to extend our stay, they once again moved things around to make this happen for us. The customer service in this circumstance was terrific.

It was extremely crowded in the caravan park with not many sites available, but being August and one of their busiest times (especially for grey nomads) this did not surprise us and we were quite pleased to be away from most people in the non-powered section, despite the long walk to the bathrooms!

The amenities were a little on the unclean side, but once again, the park was extremely crowded so there is not much you can do about that. I would just try and get in there early for my shower to beat the crowds!

The location of the caravan park is terrific. Whilst it is not right in town near the restaurants etc, it is right on the lighthouse which offers awesome views over the ocean and many an opportunity to spot whales. It is also right next to the Ningaloo Reef where we did our whale shark dive and cruise which is hands down the best thing I have ever done.

Overall (whilst I am not a fan of crowds), the caravan park catered very well for its capacity and we had a really memorable time. Wouldn't hesitate to go back

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kristal G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lighthouse1912, Manager at Ningaloo Lighthouse Caravan Park, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to place a review of your stay with us.

Thank you for pointing out how helpful and friendly our staff are with making your stay with us enjoyable and accommodating your needs. We do try to please everybody ,unfortunately this does not always occur, giving us room to improve.
It is disappointing to hear than your amenities were not always up to standard, they are cleaned daily and checked regularly during the day. We will endeavor to place a greater focus in this area during our busy times.
Once again thank you and may you return to this beautiful place in Australia.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    21
    58
    47
    34
    30
See reviews for
70
74
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nelson
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2014

We camped here for 4 nights over the Easter/Anzac holiday break. The camping ground was absolutely packed, but the facilities coped well and the staff are very friendly. The toilets and showers could have been cleaner but I guess they were seriously under the pump during this period. Good bang for buck. If you are doing the whale shark tour you can get picked up at the gate, but you will need to organise yourself so that you go into Exmouth the day before to get fitted and pay.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Ocean View camp sites. The trees are too big to offer such views, but it is a good...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kpa38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lighthouse1912, Manager at Ningaloo Lighthouse Caravan Park, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Thank you, we appreciate your review of us.
Easter is our second busiest time of the year and it can get crowed with so many people visiting the World Heritage listed coast line and the Ningaloo reef.
Sorry about the trees blocking your view of the ocean but no trees no shade.

Yes the whale shark tours pick up and drop off right at our office door. I'm sorry you thought that you needed to go to town to pay for your tour as our tour office can conduct all you tour bookings on site, including payment.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2014

We booked a site for the April School holidays and were so disappointed with the whole caravan park if there were sites available in another caravan park we would have moved. But then we wouldn't have been able to get a refund! The other reviews sum up everything about this park! Our site was opposite the main ablution block so with that came the sewerage smells at all hours and the staff unblocking the drains. The bins all lined up full to overflowing and instead of emptying them a staff member would jump in the bins. This did not fix the awful smell. Camp kitchen if you could call it that in this day and age was poor. Blocked toilets, overflowing urinal and leaking showers. No play equipment for kids. We weren't going to let this park spoil our holiday as Exmouth is fantastic so we spent all day away from the park. The owners need to spend some of the millions of tourist dollars they make and do a total overhaul of this park. We will not be recommending this park to anyone.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank Pertheaster2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lighthouse1912, Manager at Ningaloo Lighthouse Caravan Park, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
We are very disappointed to find you did not enjoy your stay with us.
It is a real shame that you did not bring your concerns to us as we would have made every opportunity to to rectify these issues for you.
Our maintenance log does not have any of the blockages and smell problems you mention.
If you had only bought theses concerns to us at the time they happened, we would have gladly returned your money as it is not our aim to have an unhappy customer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014

This caravan park offers basic accommodation situated between the town and the national park. This location means trips to the attractions within the national park are shorter. The accommodation was small and cosy but dated. The toilet did not flush with enough power, meaning we often needed to tip buckets of water down to toilet to clear the bowl. The hot water ran out very quickly and we were given small electric shocks every time we touched the shower head. Luckily, the air conditioning worked well and kept the chalet cool. The kitchen and cutlery were sufficient for cooking meals. The accommodation had no housekeeping service. The beds were very comfortable. Checkout was 10 am, but when we arrived at 4 pm, the room was not ready. The park was full although very quiet and the fuel available at the park was the cheapest in and around Exmouth. OK overall, but needs a little money spent on renovations.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DD A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lighthouse1912, Manager at Ningaloo Lighthouse Caravan Park, responded to this review, 4 May 2014
Thank you for your review of our park.
I'm sorry that there were issues with your unit. Immediately upon reading your review I have checked our maintenance log and can not find any reports of your concerns.
Your maintenance concerns would have been immediately rectified if reported through our office.
If possible could you please contact us directly and inform us in which unit you stayed so these issues can be attended to as a matter of urgency.
Our chalets are serviced on a weekly basis not daily, and we do profess to have fuel cheaper than town.
Glad to know that you still enjoyed what the area has to offer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 April 2014

We were greeted by a very friendly gentlemen called Darren who made us feel welcome with information about the area and points to watch out for. The site was perfect near toilets and kitchen with shady trees and level ground. Facilities such as toilets, etc were maintained every day with excellent cleaners. It was also a good base for the beautiful beaches along Yardie creek road and Yardie Creek itself. It was not far to travel to the shops at Exmouth and the Cape Range Canyons. Altogether a wonderful experience.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patricia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lighthouse1912, Manager at Ningaloo Lighthouse Caravan Park, responded to this review, 4 May 2014
Thank you , Its nice to be told that we giving you the service that we attempt to.
All our staff are dedicated to helping you experience what our park and more importantly the World Heritage listed area and surrounding region has to offer visitors.
Your review about the experience regarding your stay and our facilities is appreciated. We hope you can return again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geraldton, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014

A group of friends and I spent a few days here on our first camping trip - the facilities and location were great. Our site didn't have much shade from 9am to 2:30pm but we didn't have a shade hut like most other campers. The bathrooms were maintained every day, the kitchen and cooking facilities copped a lot of use but everyone in the camp didn't have a problem cleaning them before leaving.
The park is located not far from great attractions, the pool was great and the onsite shop well stocked of essentials and ice.
There was a really good mix of campers and we didn't have a problem whilst we stayed.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ShaunBax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lighthouse1912, Manager at Ningaloo Lighthouse Caravan Park, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
Glad you and your friends enjoyed our facilities and the Exmouth experience whilst you were here.
It takes a huge effort from everyone to keep the facilities clean and tidy with so many people here on site.
Whilst our shop is little we do try and stock everything you may need or forget to bring with you. April is still warm for some campers so shade can be a premium but we have lots of trees and ice is definitely a requirement to keep you beer cold.
Being only 25 km from the Cape Range National park we are close to what this incredible region has to offer. Hope to see you again next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Byron Bay, Australia
Level Contributor
162 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2014

We spent a few days here exploring the reef. Sites we good under shady trees. No connected water but water available for free at the conveniences. Just fill up a container and fill your tank. Facilities were good with lots of fishing type people. We used it as a base to explore the reef and check out Exmouth (loved the town)

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RobertKaren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lighthouse1912, Manager at Ningaloo Lighthouse Caravan Park, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
Thank you for your positive review of us and our facility's. Water is one of our most precious resources here in the North West and in particular here on the caravan park. We are not connected to the towns scheme water and must produce all our own drinking water from desalination. The water at each camp site is clean artesian water brought up from underground. Whilst this water is clean is does contain some levels of salt and is not suitable for drinking.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Exmouth hotels
3.5 mi away
Sea Breeze Resort
Sea Breeze Resort
#2 of 6 in Exmouth
763 reviews
1.6 mi away
Mantarays Ningaloo Beach Resort
0.9 mi away
Exmouth Escape Resort
Exmouth Escape Resort
#3 of 6 in Exmouth
339 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Ningaloo Lodge
Ningaloo Lodge
#5 of 6 in Exmouth
142 reviews
22.2 mi away
Sal Salis Ningaloo Reef
0.6 mi away
RAC Exmouth Cape Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ningaloo Lighthouse Caravan Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ningaloo Lighthouse Caravan Park

Property: Ningaloo Lighthouse Caravan Park
Address: Lot 2 Yardie Creek Road, Exmouth, Western Australia, Australia
Region: Australia > Western Australia > Exmouth
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 9 Speciality Lodging in Exmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated just a 15 minute drive from the town of Exmouth on the tip of the North West Cape, nestled at the base of Vlaming Head Lighthouse. Protected by the Cape Range and just a stones throw from the world renowned Ningaloo Marine Park. Ningaloo Lighthouse Caravan Park is close to surf beach, boat launching facilities on the West Coast and our magnificent Cape Range National Park. You will truly feel the peace and tranquility of an outback, costal experiences whilst enjoying your stay with us. During your stay in Exmouth you can discover first hand the migration of the playful humpback whales, maybe have a snorkel with the majestic whale shark, witness nesting turtles along our shores, dive the deep blue depths of the world famous 'Navy Pier' or just take in a bit of fun filled sightseeing at the Cape Range National Park. We offer basic 'three star' accommodation to suit most budgets. From the 'Lookout Chalets to a Cabin' we can accommodate your needs. We have accommodation for everyones needs, some with wheel chair facilitates. Our Lookout are our most sort after accommodation types, nestled into the side of Cape Range, offering and ocean view. We have sites to accommodate all size caravans, tents, camper trailers, buses and fifth wheelers. Most sites are with concrete slabs. Due to our limited water supply we can not provide grass sites, however there are plenty of shady sites covered with crushed fines. Please come prepared with water as the water we offer is bore water and is around 3000 million parts salt. We have water tanks onsite for drinking and cooking with fresh water. The town centre of Exmouth offers water tank filling up facilities with the local scheme water. The friendly staff at the local tourist information centre can provide you with more details. We will endeavour to do our best to find the perfect spot for you to enjoy your stay with us. Facilities on the park include a swimming pool, toddler pool, tennis court, seasonal cafe, tackle store, fish cleaning facility, snorkel hire and sales, campers kitchens, laundries, fuel and gas barbecue areas for all our guests. Our small shop offers ice-creams, cool drinks, ice, bait, bread, milk and some basic necessities. We hope to see you here soon! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing