We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great home base, 20 min walk to town”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Exmouth Escape Resort
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Exmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Great home base, 20 min walk to town”
Reviewed 17 June 2014

The place was spacious clean and very comfortable. It's not directly in town, but there's a safe paved sidewalk into town that takes about 20 minutes (perfect for a morning coffee run). We really appreciated it when the weather turned on us, so we had the house to lounge in instead of being cramped in a hotel room. Pool is freezing though. The BBQ was very handy. I'd stay here again especially with a group.
Whalers Restaurant is here now too - BYO though so plan ahead.

Room Tip: All looked the same. We were in 13, it was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RachelU178
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

357 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    227
    102
    15
    8
    5
See reviews for
145
107
10
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
171 reviews
104 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2014

Stayed here at the end of May as a base to do the swim with whale sharks at Ningaloo Reef and explore the area. Although the resort is located a little out of "town", it isn't a problem as you'll likely have a car to get around, and our package included the hire of a (almost new) car which was a plus for choosing here (as well as the fact they met us at the airport with the car when we arrived early on the friday morning). The house we stayed in faced the road, so there was some road noise, but it didn't really disturb sleeping and overall it was in excellent condition and really well fitted out with two bathrooms and three bedrooms. Free use of wifi or access to internet would have been good, but otherwise no complaints and having a restaurant on site (highly recommend) and a pool as well were great, as was a barbecue and outside seating area. Early birds will enjoy getting up to watch the sunrise, which in the clear air was spectacular each morning. Would certainly recommend for up to 6 people if you're visiting Exmouth for a few days.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nickworld08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
155 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2014

We were trying to find the most economical way of accommodating 3 people and hiring a car for 3 to 4 nights in Exmouth for our recent whale shark swim, Escape Resort ticked all the boxes for us. The villa was spacious, modern, well equipped and extremely comfortable, great bathrooms, the barbeque was also a definite plus. We were met with our car when we landed at Learmonth (additional fee), but this still worked out better than purchasing 3 return shuttle bus trips. The location is just a 3 min drive to the information centre & big prawn(!) and then another 2 min on to the shopping centre where you'll find a couple of well stocked IGAs, bakery etc. Walk across the road from the resort and keep walking and you hit Town Beach (about a 10 min walk), although the beaches on the other side, Turquoise Bay in particular, are far more enticing!

The staff were all very helpful and friendly and we really appreciated a later check out on our last day, so we could enjoy a final snorkel and then a hot shower. On the downside, it would have been great to have had complimentary WiFi. Also, with our bedroom window open, we were quite aware of our next door neighbour chatting on his phone at around 6am each morning.

Exmouth doesn't have a lot of restaurants, but we did try 'Whalers' one evening which is now situated within the resort and thought it was great. It helps that you only have a one minute walk there! It's BYO and well worth checking out. Blue lips for fish and chips at the shopping centre is also excellent! But otherwise we found the butchers stocked some great ribs and steaks and we utilised the barbeque at the villa. There's a fab looking pool here, but was a tad too chilly to swim!

We would definitely stay here again should we have the fortune to revisit Exmouth for another whale swim, and would highly recommend it to friends and family.

Room Tip: Villas 1 to 4 and 5 even are quite near the 'main' road, which although not the busiest road...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mejo09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2014

New clean and spacious. Have all you could need. Very plush after 9 nights at Yardi Creek Homestead. Has what locals call the best restaurant in town just relocated here. Will try it out tonight. Nice people, good facilities. Would stay again.

Room Tip: Individual bungalows great for families or friends travelling together. A couple of minute drive to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathryn710
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2014

Was booked here by the school who had flown me in to work with their school community so had no say in where I stayed. Could not have been happier. The rooms (apartments) are fabulous. 3 bedrooms, 2 bathrooms, large kitchen and lounge, laundry nook and aircon that worked well. Staff could not be more helpful and if its not too hot, the walk into town and back is a nice distance. The pool area is lovely as is Millie's, the restaurant overlooking the pool. Had an extremely high quality meal there and would not hesitate to recommend.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shazzamelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
34 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2014

We stayed at Exmouth Escape Resort for 3 nights in the April School holidays. It was an incredible villa with all the mod cons to make life very easy. The kids loved the ample space to spread out in the villa and the pools were a big hit! Exmouth itself wasn't our favourite town on the holiday (Coral Bay was a lot more lovely) but I could not fault this resort at all as it was everything we expected plus more.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lee008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 April 2014

My husband and I and another couple stayed for 4 days in April 2014. Our villa was fantastic & just what we needed. The accommodation was perfect, so comfortable, clean & we had everything we needed. The aircon was great! We swam in the fabulous pool every afternoon and it was a wonderful place to relax & cool down after a busy, active day. The staff were very friendly and helpful too. A wonderful place to stay

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Daph1951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Exmouth hotels
0.7 mi away
Mantarays Ningaloo Beach Resort
4.2 mi away
Sea Breeze Resort
Sea Breeze Resort
#1 of 6 in Exmouth
790 reviews
22.1 mi away
Sal Salis Ningaloo Reef
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Ningaloo Lodge
Ningaloo Lodge
#5 of 6 in Exmouth
149 reviews
1.2 mi away
Potshot Resort
Potshot Resort
#6 of 6 in Exmouth
237 reviews
0.6 mi away
RAC Exmouth Cape Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Exmouth Escape Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Exmouth Escape Resort

Property: Exmouth Escape Resort
Address: 2 Corner Welsh Street & Murat Road | PO Box 673, Exmouth, Western Australia 6707, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Western Australia > Exmouth
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Exmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Exmouth Escape Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Exmouth Escape Resort is your home away from home and the go to for Exmouth accommodation in Western Australia. The Resort offers modern self-contained accommodation and is situated 2km out of the town center of Exmouth, providing the ideal base to explore the unique Ningaloo Reef in the North-West of Western Australia. We are the newest Resort in Exmouth and provide a modern and luxurious Four Star Accommodation experience. With a variety of three different types of Villas and Apartments we can offer the right type of accommodation for a relaxed and enjoyable stay. The Resort's tropical gardens surround a large outdoor swimming pool with a children's wading pool. The Resort is complimented by Whalers Restaurant which is known for the best seafood in town. Exmouth Escape Resort is the perfect location to sit back and relax by the pool with family, friends or colleagues. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Exmouth Escape Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing