We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, fantastic holiday”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Exmouth
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Yardie Homestead Caravan Park
Perth, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great location, fantastic holiday”
Reviewed 20 April 2014

We were a group of 5 families,staying in the 3 shearers sheds as well as a camp site and bungalow.
The location is brilliant, easy access to all the best snorkelling sites. We celebrated 2 birthdays, the staff at the cafe made a cake and even though we were dripping with sweat had a wonderful meal and a birthday that will be long remembered. This was our third visit and will definitely not be the last!!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fiona a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    32
    60
    18
    4
    14
See reviews for
38
53
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Hamburg, Germany
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2014

We spent a whole week at Yardie Homestead and absolutely loved it. As it was low season, we almost had the whole campground to ourselves. Les and Maree were absolutely lovely hosts and we loved staying with them. From our site, we had a wonderful view of all the kangaroos and emus behind the fence and together with the galahs and corellas, Yardie Homestead had a magical atmosphere. The amenities were very good as well and our son loved the pool.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CEHLanger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fremantle, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2013

Went on a fishing trip and the location is ideal due to the closeness of tantabiddi boat ramp. If you weren't fishing it's still close to some great parts of ningaloo. Also the resident butcher bird has a soothing song for you each morning.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank jarmon79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carnarvon, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2013

We just stayed for 4 nights at the Homestead in one of the cabins (#3) and very extremely happy with our stay. The cabin was well equipped, the staff were friendly and helpful. The location of the park is great if you are planning trips to the national park.

Room Tip: Avoid parking cars under the palm trees where the cockatoos sleep unless you want a new pock-a-dot p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 24Nic81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katanning, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2013

We enjoyed two weeks of camping with our 3.5 yr old and 18 mth old. The caravan park is a 'base' rather than a destination in its own right. Without having the hassle of lining up at the rangers office each day for a camp in the national park this is the closest you can camp with some conveniences. The main ablution block is of an excellent standard and well maintained. There is a baby bath cubicle which had good room to wash, dry and dress a younger child than ours. The playground is basic but our children met up with other children and very soon all the surrounding bush was a cubby-house and the equipment was more or less redundant. The camp kitchen has all the basic amenities and a descent size to sit several large groups (great for when we got 150 mm of rain!). The cafe seemed well presented and inviting (we didn't eat given our kids would have destroyed the evening for others!) and as best I could tell clean. Basic menu which about 15 people were enjoying the night we popped in. The front office was efficient and pleasant. They were very patient with our kids as they would come and fetch balls and bats or just ride their plastic bikes in for a chat. We enjoyed the beaches and the adventure of the location but it certainly was harder work due to the nature of having to drive everywhere. I think this caravan park is well suited to the long-termer fisher men but not an ideal location for a long family holiday such as what we took. My parents stayed in a 'posh' cabin - basic but comfortable and clean. Suit a traveling family of 4 easily (one room queen, one room bunk beds). Come with a view of exploring the region not for the caravan park and you'll have a fabulous time.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KidsCanCamp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2013

I have trawled through the reviews, the good and the bad and truth be told there is something to be said for most of them. It all comes down to expectation and perception, if you visit with high expectations you will be disappointed, if you visit with an open mind it will meet your needs very nicely.

We went as a family and chose 'Yardie' simply because of it's proximity to the Cape Range National Park. It's a 5 minute drive from 'Yardie' or 30 minutes from Town so if you are planning on spending a lot of time in the Park it's a 'no brainer'.

So to the Homestead itself, it's basic, some of the amenities leave a little to be desired but in the main they are clean and adequate. There are many long term occupants and an enormous volume of 'annual' returnees as well as a fair smattering of new visitors. There was always hot water and the facilities are mixed, the newer shower block is great, the older 'peak period' block is a little 'rustic' shall we say. That said there was always hot water, toilet paper and a washing machine to be had if required. The staff won't win any awards for polite friendly service but nor do they come close to the 'Basil Fawlty' approach to customer service as some reviews imply. They are busy all the time and like most of us working is just 'Groundhog Day' and I would not expect anything more from them to be honest, not rude just to the point and efficient (is more required?).

The 'vibe' on site is very laid back and friendly, lots of fishermen (and boats), lots of kids and if you want to engage there is always someone to have a chat (and a beer) with. It's a testament to the place that so many residents/visitors return year after year, what it suggests is that so long as you are not looking for Sal Salis (or similar) it will probably do for you. Would I want to live there? Hell no. Would I happily return for another two week vacation? Yes, in a heartbeat.

Holidays (I believe) are what you make them, I have stayed in much nicer parks than this and not enjoyed them anywhere near as much, why? The whole area has so much to offer and the Homestead is somewhere to eat, sleep and shower, as such it met our needs perfectly and we will be returning!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank ChrisBergkamp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2013

We had booked at Yardie hoping to find a peaceful camping spot close to the park with some comforts. However, we arrived during school holidays. Having booked as a couple, I would have hoped that the owners would have given us a site not next to the playground as we do not have children. No, no other site available even when requested. Children were allowed to run rampant day and night, especially at night, with them screaming, yelling and running through our campsite while we were eating dinner. People were allowed to play loud music for the entire camp to hear. Only two people could have a shower at the same time; if someone else tried, then two showers had NO water supply, not even cold. Camp kitchen was dirty and underequipped. When we wandered around the grounds to see what was there, we were rudely asked what we were doing and could they HELP us find something?! It was NOT an attempt at being helpful. This was the ONLY poor experience of our entire 3 week trip. Read my other reviews, I am not a spolied negative nelly. This park just really fell short of being good or even adequate for our needs.
This is definitely a campground that caters almost exclusively to their seasonal campers with little regard to casual vacationers.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank InnGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Exmouth hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Exmouth hotels
7.5 mi away
Sea Breeze Resort
Sea Breeze Resort
#1 of 6 in Exmouth
779 reviews
9.2 mi away
Mantarays Ningaloo Beach Resort
20.5 mi away
Sal Salis Ningaloo Reef
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 mi away
Ningaloo Lodge
Ningaloo Lodge
#5 of 6 in Exmouth
148 reviews
8.5 mi away
Exmouth Escape Resort
Exmouth Escape Resort
#3 of 6 in Exmouth
352 reviews
8.2 mi away
RAC Exmouth Cape Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yardie Homestead Caravan Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yardie Homestead Caravan Park

Property: Yardie Homestead Caravan Park
Address: Yardie Creek Rd, Exmouth, Western Australia 6707, Australia
Region: Australia > Western Australia > Exmouth
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 Speciality Lodging in Exmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 15

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing